Does This Choice Support The Life I Want?

23 57
Article #66 May 2, 2022

Have you ever asked yourself if your choice is supporting the life you desire? We occasionally make decisions that we later come to regret. Do you ever wonder if you chose the other path, you would not be in that position in your life, whether happy or sad? You have different possibilities: you can either do something good or something bad.

We sometimes make decisions without considering the consequences. It is a time when critical thinking is required. Not in the sense that you must think critically before making every decision, but you must think before making any decisions. Not everything can turn out well, especially when it comes to something important. Because of my lack of critical thinking, I always end up regretting decisions in my life. I did not think before making a decision because I am more mature now than when I was younger and made reckless decisions.

Does This Choice Support The Life I Want?

I came across this question on the internet, specifically on Facebook. I'd like to respond to this and share it here because I have a lot of time today while watching Vincenzo; did you watch this series? It's a good Kdrama series that you should watch as well.

At times, I believe that I have chosen something that is beneficial to me right now, but there are times when I regret my decision. I regret not attending college and continuing my education, but I also do not regret moving to the city to work for myself. The life I desire is to have a small business that will support me in my daily expenses. My decision to not attend college is entirely my own, and while I have the desire to do so, I have chosen not to do so.

Story time...

When I graduated from Senior High School in April 2019, my friends and I decided to spend the night at a friend's house and go swimming the next day. I told my sister and mother about it, but only my mother agreed. Because I am living with my sister at the time, her decision is also required. My mother is working in Manila at the time. I told them nicely about our sleepover, and I recall our previous conversation with my sister about how I could go to a sleepover when I finished senior high that time, so I am confident that they will let me go out that time.

My sister refused to let me go, but I persisted because I believed my mother's decision was valid, so I could go. That was one of the most unforgettable nights and days of my life. My friends and I are both overjoyed. People are correct when they say that when you are overjoyed, something unexpected will happen, and this is not desirable. Even though my sister is messaging me and saying hurtful things to me that night, she does not expect me to ignore her and decline to follow her. When I got home, I noticed my belongings in the sack. Yes, it's in the sack. Everything I had on that house, and when I chatted with her, she told me to leave her house. As a result, I did.

I have the option of not leaving the house and apologizing to her, but my pride refuses. I respond to her and tell her nasty things as well. We fought over the text, and it was our first fight because I am not the type of person who disrespects my older siblings, but I did that time.

Even when I tell myself that I don't have a choice where to go in the city, I remember that in the past, I did. I just have a lot of pride and don't know how to be gracious in defeat. My graduation was on April 5, and our sleepover was on April 7 and 8. I return home on April 8th and leave the house at the same time. I slept at a friend's house while planning a trip to the city. I moved to the city on April 12 and found work there.

We make decisions in life that either make us unlucky or fortunate. Please be certain in your decisions in life because regret is always at the end. We should always consider the consequences of our decisions before making them. I know it's easy to say "think before you decide," and I believe in the adage "don't make decisions when you're happy or sad because those emotions are fleeting and you may come to regret it the next day or time."

Thank you for reading!

Sponsors of joydigitalsolutions
empty
empty
empty

Thank you dear sponsors especially to sis @Carewind for renewal of sponsorship. Godbless you po!

12
$ 1.64
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Lhes
+ 3
Sponsors of joydigitalsolutions
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Happy graduation to you.. I hope whatever decision you'll take, it will not lead to regrets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear friend, in whatever decision we take, we should be careful not to regret our decisions... Am happy your sister protected you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe there was a valid reason why your sister refused you to go with your friends. She is protecting you against evil things that might happen. Especially that you're in her house, it is her obligation if bad things will happen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That time po kasi nagbibiruan pa kami na di niya ako papayagan, nagkataon din na problemado niya kaya nirefuse niyang payagan ako pero tumkas ako. Parang feeling niya natapakan yung ego niya kaya lalong nagburst yung galit niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh, typical teenager, hehe. hope you and you're Ate are okay now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. Opo okay na po kami.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kumusta na kayo ng sister mo sis? Pero nag sleepover ka lang naman sis with your friends basta safe lang kayo at matino mga kasama mo walang problem yun. Nagulat ako sa sister mo sis ba't umabot sa time na pinalayas ka. Minsan kasi pag di na natin mocontrol emotions natin kahit di natin gusto gagawin natin. Okay na ba kayo now sis?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis okay naman na kami now. Minsan tinatawanan nalang namin. Haha. Pero kasi nag usap na kami noon kaya talagang confident ako pero ayon nga nagpakaselfish lang siya that time. Haha. Dati pa man din kasi ako nag e sleep over pero puro takas kaya siguro napuno na siya. Matitino naman kami lahat, talagang ineenjoy lang namin ang school life. Hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti sis akala ko di parin kayo okay ng sis mo. Hehe siguro nadala na yun sa galit yung sis mo sis kaya nagawa niya yun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis, di niya kasi inexpect na magagawa ko sakanya yon. Hehe. Natapakan ego niya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe oo sis minsan may mga ganyan talaga sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But how's you and your sister now? I mean, you just finish school and a little get together with friend is not that bad naman diba. But. Ah I don't know. Basta ako kapag magdedecide titimbangin muna ang lahat. Like when I was just in College ang daming beses ko ng gustong maglayas but I didn't do it coz I thought kapah ginawa ko un, yong chance na makapag tapos ako is baka di mangyari. And I did the right thing na hindi ko sinunodnang gusto ko noon. I regret nothing. But still I'll still a tambay until today so parang yong natapos ko di rin nagagamitm hahaha. Ay awan baga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay na po kami ng sister ko na yon sis. Away kapatid lang. Usapan na din kasi namin non na paggraduate eh pwede na mag sleep over pero ang gaga paasa. Hahaha. Diko naman pinagsisihan yung pag sleepover ko non.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In every decisions we make in life, it always has two effects in it, some are unavoidable but others are controllable, but what matters most is acceptance no matter what the outcome will be. In this way, we can avoid some regrets.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis agree ako dyan. If in case naman na hindi maganda yung outcome, we use that to get lesson and sa susunod ay alam na natin kasi natuto na tayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tama sis, kaya yung mga risk taker, go lang ng go, dahil kaya nila ma accept yung failures and make it as a learning experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No matter what happens, let's just stand for our decision

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung failed man decision natin, gawin nating lesson yun to make a better decision soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truee! there's always a room for improvement

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The value of decision can not be overemphasized. A little error in a decision could blow down someone's path to greatness. I could feel it when you exchanged words with your sister. You were wrong at that point but your eyes were covered with pride. I don't if you and your sister have made peace by now...pls do make peace with her

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We're all right now, Kacy. It's only that she broke our agreement, which means I broke her choice as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The truth about decisions is that, no matter when you make them, there is always a repacution

$ 0.00
1 year ago