For the Love of Brazo De Mercedez

8 13
Avatar for jojoroxasb
3 years ago

When I was a child, my Mom would usually take me with her to do grocery shopping. I help her carry all the goods that she buys going back home. But before we go home, we always drop by a branch of one of the popular local bakeshops that we have here in our country. First, we dine in and afterwards, we buy a whole roll of Brazo de Mercedes as "pasalubong" to my sisters. By then, I have grown to love the dessert.

Decades passed and still, it is still one of my favorite cakes. And it's still being sold by the same bakeshop that we usually dine before. I'm not sure about the price back then, but the price right now is somehow appropriate. It will just cost around 300 pesos or roughly 7-8 US dollars.

I love is so much that I tried baking it. But unfortunately, the white layer of thick egg white was so thin that it collapsed because of the weight of the inner core, which was made of egg yolks and milk. But it tastes good. Just like the one that we bought.

It only happened once, and never happened again. If there are times that I crave for it, I will just go to the bakeshop or just have it delivered to my doorstep.

I love cakes. But baking is not my cup of tea.

4
$ 0.00

Comments

When we were little, my sisters and I always asked our papa to bring this as a pasalubong everynight. We don't know its name before, so we told him(papa) to bring us bread that looks like cake and with so many sugar sprinkled on it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. But know you wouldn't see anymore sugar sprinkled if you buy a roll. And the one they have back then was heavier. Today's cakes are 50% air.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article! Stay with subscribing,i've done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Done.

$ 0.00
3 years ago