My Canadian Dream

5 22
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago

"Quitters never win; Winners never quit.'

A few years ago, when I was just busy searching online different job postings, I came about an article written by a Filipino. The article is about his journey of working in Canada. The article contains how long he had applied online to various websites, how long before he got an interview, how long he has waited for his papers to be processed, and how long before he was able to go to Canada. It was a long journey and process, but everything was worth it once he was there, according to him. And reading his journey inspired and motivated me to follow his footstep.

I really don't have any plans on going outside the country, but because of different stories that I have read and personal experiences of people whom I know, it made me think that it might be a good decision to give it a try.

I first tried applying in Thailand to be an English teacher since Filipino teachers are indemand then. I was able to apply in a private school and was hired. However, circumstances did not allow me to continue. So, I decided that Thailand might not be the place for me.

I then tried applying to Hongkong and worked as a DH. This decision was part of my Canadian dream since my aunt who worked as a DH in Canada was able to cross-country from Hongkong to Canada. I was able to find an employer who I was able to personally communicate with. When I thought everything was working out well, that's when the problem came about. My husband was not in favor of my decision.

Going back with the article that I have read, I checked various website as well where I can apply directly in Canada. That when I came about sk.jobbank.gc.ca. The site contains plenty of job postings, especially for nanny positions. I started applying there, and I was lucky enough to find an employer and set an interview. Everything was going smoothly not until the employer asked me about driving a car and having a driver's license, which has NO as an answer. After that, I never heard from that employer again. So, I continued looking for other employers. I was able to get a couple more interviews, but when everything is going smoothly, the question about driving a car and having a driver's license always ruin everything.

I am almost on the verge of giving up, since its been a year now since I tried applying but with no luck. However, a certain line from one of my mentors while I was still working as a call center agent always keeo me going. He said, "if you give up now, you wouldn't know what will happen next. So never give up, no one succeeded the first try, not even on the second try. Just focus on your goal, and you will somehow get ther."

I may not be there yet, but I know, somehow, someday, this dream of mine will come true. And I believe in the power of my dreams.

How about you? What dream do you have that feels like its almost impossible to achieve? Let me hear about yours in the comments section. 😉😉

1
$ 0.79
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of jekai_88
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jekai_88
3 years ago

Comments

To be a Millionaire 😂, I know it's impossible but who wouldn't want that right 😂. Anyway, don't just give up on you're dreams just do what's in front of you first then when opportunity comes grab it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Napanuod mo na po Hello, Love, Goodbye? From HK to Canada. Hahaha! 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi pa pero according to some spoilers na kapitbahay namin na nakapanood na when it was showing,it was the same goal and dreams ng mga nasa HK na pinay, ang magcross-country papuntang Canada :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww. Yes po. Hihi! Si Kathryn kasi bida dun, naisingit ko lang. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not a fan of filipino movies kasi hahaha but they said it's good so baka ill try to watch it 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago