Introducing SmartScan: a smartBCH explorer - flipstarter

2 661
Avatar for jaydizzz
3 years ago

Hello read.cash!

Many of you may be aware, we have some exciting new development in the Bitcoin Cash ecosystem: Smart contracts are coming via the upcoming smartBCH sidechain!

For those who are not, smartBCH will make it possible to do everything that is also possible on the ethereum blockchain. Ethereum is great product, which lets you do awesome (smart) things with cryptocurrency. But it shares the same issue that BTC has, the extreme fees and scaling issues. It is very expensive to do anything on Ethereum right now.

Combined with low fees on Bitcoin Cash, smartBCH aims to bring the best of both worlds together. This will allow for a lot of new and amazing development on BCH!

Here on read.cash there are some great articles that go more into depth of what smartBCH is and how it will work. Satoshi's Angels recently did an interview with the lead developer, Wang Kui, going more into depth:

https://read.cash/@SatoshisAngels/recapwhat-is-smartbch-how-will-it-change-the-overall-fundamentals-of-bch-6357d8d1

Now on to my flipstarter I'd like to share with you. Any blockchain needs a good explorer so everyone can see and track anything that happens on said blockchain. Most of you are probably aware of https://explorer.bitcoin.com, which is an explorer for BCH. It allows you to see what happens on every block, address or transaction.

As smartBCH is a new sidechain, it will also need a new explorer. Smart Contracts are much more complex than BCH transactions, and can contain a lot more information and data. This makes it important to have a good explorer, so everyone is able to check the state of the blockchain at any time. Did my transaction go through? Did some event fire on a contract I have deployed? Did my token swap succeed? A few examples of the events that should be visible to anyone that is going to use smartBCH.

This is why I have taken on the task to build the very first smartBCH explorer. I will build this explorer from scratch, leaving me with the opportunity to tailor it exactly to smartBCH.

Building a useful explorer is no small task, so I have decided to run a flipstarter which will allow me to dedicate the time and effort to complete this project.

You can find a lot more details about my plan and the application that I'm building on the flipstarter page. I will start small so I can deliver basic functionality as quickly as possible and stay in line with the ambitious roadmap of the smartBCH team.

I started this flipstarter 2 days ago, and it has already been funded for 90%. The quick and positive response from the entire community and contributors is very motivating! I already consider this flipstarter as a huge success, and working hard to deliver as soon as possible.

I need a little bit of support to get me to the finish line. Come and take a look if you are interested:
http://flipstarter.smartscanner.cash/

You can also find a working demo here which already connects to a smartBCH test node!

Thank you very much for your time, please let me know if you have any questions!

To all my contributors so far - thank you very much! I'm looking forward to our shared smart future!

15
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @OverCover
$ 0.05 from @MicroReylatos
Avatar for jaydizzz
3 years ago

Comments

Wow that is good to know an explorer to smart contracts, well explorer.bitcoin.com works fine for transactions and tokens, so I guess we will need now an explorer for the future developments that are coming to BCH. You see to me it seems like little by little BCH will do the things the ETH is doing but without the high fees that eth and btc both have. Now here is my question, so if BCH is going to do most of the things that ETH does, can I ask you a simple question?

What is going to be the next uniswap but for BCH? Detoken?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago