Pets and all that jazz

16 27
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

It is now August 1. Wow, how time flies so fast! We just celebrated Saoirse's 1st birthday and now she's almost 1 year and a month older. But I'm not gonna talk about motherhood and babies this time.

This week's writing prompt is all about pets. This is an easy one but it did bring sadness. I love animals especially cats, dogs, and pigs. I am sorry if I have to tell you about my tragic experiences. I might break your hearts but I have to pour mine out.

We used to have a dog named "Queenie". She was an 'aspin' but she was a cute puppy. She would wait for us from school and wag her tail whenever we arrive. She always made my day. I fell in love with her. I already mentioned that my parents separated so we have to leave our house, including her. I wasn't really hurt about the separation but the thought of leaving a dog. How could we abandon a loyal and faithful dog? My 13-year-old soul dreaded day by day about Queenie. Then I heard that she would go to the nearby beach to catch some fish for food and eventually got adopted by a security guard working at Granex. I was relieved. All I ever wanted was for her to find someone who would love and take care of her.

Before Queenie, I remember that we had a cat named "Miming". She was a 'puspin'. I could no longer describe her physically but this sad scene remained in my photographic memory until now.

She was giving birth but her kittens died. She got depressed and she died. There were some tears in her eyes when we checked her lifeless body. We all cried. I think it was my first heartbreak.

And then while we had Queenie we also had a pig named "Dikdik". She was a huge local pig, I really don't know if she has a breed. She gave us almost a dozen piglets. I would cry every time the piglets were bought or given away. It also broke my heart when my Papa sold her after his separation from Mama.

I stopped having pets after those incidents but I did take care of our cat Snow and dog Sky when I lived with my Aunt Joy in Sampaloc. I remember how Snow shouted in my ear with her loud meow to tell me she was hungry. She would tiptoe walking on the floor and she didn't know how to lie down. She was Sky's best friend. I no longer know what happened to them since I left Manila.

Meet Zac, my friends!

Bam and Zac

Bam and I moved in with my partner and his family last 2017. We met Zac, the golden retriever.

This dog was a fierce guard dog but loyal and friendly to us, especially to Bam.

My father-in-law would take him for a walk every morning. He'll have a basket in his nose every time Dad would buy from the store. He'll then carry the items on the way home.

Zac loves playing with balls. This picture was taken while he was playing with the 4-year-old Bam.

This little cutie's name is Chichi

Bam and Chichi

When Bam was in kindergarten, we were given a puppy named "Chichi". I believe she was Zac's daughter.

Bam loves her like a sibling. She would excitedly come home from school and looks for Chichi to play with her.

Chichi was sweet and naughty. She loves playing with balls as well as biting slippers.

Itsy is the best pet of all

Bam

Itsy is the best pet of all. She loves catching mosquitoes and other flies for her meals.

I never thought that we would have her because we were prohibited to take care of such a huge spider.

I am just kidding. I don't like spiders. We have this local spider called "Tapaytapay" in the province. It scared the hell out of me.

We lost our dogs altogether

One day, Zac was behaving strangely. He would dig the soil and just lie down there for hours. Then I saw him panting. I knew he wasn't feeling well. I was no longer surprised when Dad said he died, then Chichi became sick and died too. We were all saddened by the incident. We were thinking that their deaths were caused by the rats but we found out that most dogs in our neighborhood died. They thought that there was some kind of disease that only affected the canines.

It took a while before Dad was able to get a new dog again. I know he was affected by Zac's untimely death. We now have Charlie and Cheeky. I don't have their pics, sorry. Perhaps when I have a new smartphone.

Enough of this sad story.

I recall when I was a kid. I was afraid to go to an aunt's house because they have turkeys, ducks, and geese. I would run fast whenever I pass by because I was chased by them before. I still can imagine the pain in my butt.

****************************************************************

This is my entry for the weekly writing prompt by @JonicaBradley

Thanks for your time in reading my story. I can't wait for you to share yours!

To my visitors and co-authors, welcome to my page. Your feedback, upvotes, likes, comments, subscriptions, and tips are greatly appreciated.

Shoutout to my 3 lovely sponsors: Thank you for believing in me and for your generosity.

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

Have a great weekend everyone!

Cheers!





5
$ 5.55
$ 4.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.05 from @Nyctofiles
+ 4
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

What is 'aspin' and 'puspin'? I love pigs, too. They are so loyal, smart, and friendly like dogs. We had 2 pigs we raised for food, Lizzy and Dotty. They had a really good life, here. They played in the pond and loved playing in the snow.

I have had spiders as pets. It's super weird when they crawl on you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Aspin" is "Asong Pinoy" or Local dog and "Puspin" is Pusang Pinoy or local cat.. I'm sorry for the terminology. I really don't like spiders because I can't imagine them crawling on me..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No worries. I guessed it was something like that but wanted to be sure. When we were in S.E. Asia (laos) there were many local stray (we call them strays because they just wandered from house to house) cats and dogs. We named one of the dogs Benji. He was so cute!

There was a kitten at a temple that so wanted to be petted. It had leprosy. I didn't know at the time it was leprosy and thought it might be ringworm a contagious fungal infection. So we didn't pet it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never encountered a kitten with leprosy, it must be having a hard time. Did you pet Benji?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Petted and fed and played with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice! Benji was a lucky pet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If there is a spider as big as that, I would take it for a pet lol! I hope it will scare people enough to just leave me alone lol!

We used to call our dogs Jango for male and Cindy for female. Whenever they die, the next male and female inherit the name. We kept this tradition but somewhere along the road, we dropped it when we passed on the responsibility of naming dogs to my niblings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I know it would be fun :) It's sad to lose pets perhaps that's why you had that tradition to remind you of the orig Jango and Cindy. But glad you've moved on.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If I will have another dog, I will call it Jango again :D I've learned to love that name.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jango is a nice name :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was thinking, where the hell is the spider? hahaha! Your dad-in-laws Zac and Chichi looks like my niece's dog and puppy, even the colors!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The spider is our favorite, just kidding. I think light brown dogs are cuter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have some great pets, and they all look cute and gorgeous! that big spider tho 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sadly they died except for Itsy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately that is what happens with their shorten life spans compared to us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago