I'm an empath

32 34
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

I was reading some of the articles and having fun commenting on some of them last night when I received a notification about this week's writing prompt. Then I read about Ms. Jonica Bradley's story about labels focusing on the shapes, names, and whatnot. My head throbbed. And then I've read some of the entries today.

Are these guys valedictorians or something? It's like I'm on an essay contest! The terminologies, the depths, the emotions, they're all fresh and raw! This is a challenge and I don't know if I can beat them, nonetheless join them.

So here's my share.

As you've seen in the title, I label myself as an empath. But what is an empath? According to Google:

An empath (chiefly in science fiction)- is a person with the paranormal ability to apprehend the mental or emotional state of another individual.

(Definition from Oxford Languages)

One thing is not true here: it is not chiefly based on science fiction because I am a true manifestation of such a label.

The discovery

I used to hate crowds before, especially when I go to the mall. There are times that I only do window shopping for a few items but I'd go home so tired and feeling so heavy. Sometimes I'd eavesdrop on other people's conversations and I'd silently say "That guy is lying to you", or "I wish he's telling the truth", "He/she is just playing with your emotions".

There were times that I'd just feel sick and have body pains or suddenly just feel sad. Then I'll find out my housemate is really sick or someone is having emotional distress. I wasn't aware that I was an empath before and the other perks of awakening, until my good friend Johnny introduced me to it.

So I've read articles about empaths, joined groups, and watched Youtube videos. I then slowly learned how to adjust and managed my emotions.

My abilities

Source: Canva.com

-If we'll meet the first time, I'd feel it if you're happy or if you're carrying a burden. Your emotions are as clear as a sound to me. You'll tell me your life story: your dreams, your aspirations, your heartaches. And you will say "I'm sorry I don't know why I'm telling you this"..It's okay, I'm used to it.

-I can easily spot your weaknesses. Since I feel your emotions, I can either use them to bring you up or put you down. It's a dangerous ability and I've tried this several times. I can influence your decisions and can make you change your mind, without you knowing it. But I know the laws of karma so I'm not taking advantage of this ability.

When I was a kid because I remember my aunt saying "You can't go out unless you're with Glaiza". Then my cousins would fight over who's gonna sit with me. Oh, Glaiza. What have you done?

-I'll know if something/someone is going to fail or succeed. Jas told me before to learn to take care of Saoirse alone because he'll be working and would be very tired after work, blah blah blah. I already knew he's not going to make it. Instead of telling him that I have a hunch, he'll fail, I got mad at him resulting in a big fight. We didn't talk for days. Perhaps I should learn positive scripting.

But, I'll take care of you as a friend. You can count on me whenever you need my shoulder, ears, knees, and toes. There's enough suffering in this world, and I'm going to do my best to lessen or alleviate it. You won't have to pretend when you're with me. Show your true self, bare your soul and you'll be just fine.

If you're having issues about which career to choose, just talk to me. I'd love to see your potential and then you can assess whether I am right or wrong. I am resourceful and I can help you out with searching for a job until you're settled.

If you're a stranger and you wanted someone to pour your heart out, I'm here. We don't have to know each other personally. I love helping people. Just message me and I'll be happy to respond.

Photo source: Canva.com

I trust I already have shared my experiences with pets. The reason why I don't want to have a pet anymore is that I feel their suffering before they die. It's too much to handle.

Photo source: Canva.com

I have a green thumb and I love gardening. I easily fall in love with flowers and plants but it saddens me whenever they die because of too much heat or water. I used to have a garden but the flowers were from the USA, they didn't thrive when summer arrived here in the Philippines. That's why I love Baguio, the diversity of the plants are just so crazily amazing. I wish I can live there and have my big garden. Then I can just forget the rest of the world.

I am a simple but complicated person. Simple because little things can make me easily happy. I appreciate small gestures and I don't feel bad whenever I am not "In" on what's the fad. I am happy and comfortable with what I have and what I am. But I am complicated, because if I know you're intelligent, then I'll have high expectations from you. I shouldn't have to tell you everything to do your work or your chores. You should also be able to grasp what I meant by using short statements or just a few words.

***************************************************************

You will know me better after reading this, but please don't judge me. Being an empath isn't easy but know that I care, I love and I nurture people and other creatures.

I still can't move on with this week's writing prompt "Labels" by @JonicaBradley  but this is a great challenge. I believe it will hone my writing skills.

***************************************************************

Thank you for your time friends! If you're new to my page, welcome! And I appreciate a comment, like, a subscription, and a tip.

Shout out to my 5 generous and lovely sponsors! THANKS FOR YOUR GENEROSITY AND YOUR FRIENDSHIP!

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

Have a great week!

Cheers!

12
$ 6.77
$ 5.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JonicaBradley
$ 0.10 from @LucyStephanie
+ 6
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Aha! So you are an emotional empath! Hey why are you sharing the secret? Charot hahaha. Have you also gotten rid of the narcissists or manipulators in your life? Have you experienced having them as friends? 🤔 Took me a while to get rid of them a decade ago. That's when I learned about that label. You're lucky you have a friend who told you about it. I just found out on my own. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I was able to remove those toxic people :) But sometimes para parin nila akong magnet hehe..How did you find out you're an empath?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forgot na, just stumbled upon an article online 'ata tapos ay oo nga ganun ako, ganyan ako. Ayun na. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan mahirap no? Especially pag may mga problema yung tao kasi nafifeel mo sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako pati mga kapitbahay ko nakakairita. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yun lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being an empath can be super hard and tiring as well, right? It's like walking a really really fine line between self care and caring for everybody and everything. YOu sound like a really lovely person. Nice post on 'label' prompt!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I totally agree. I meditate from time to time to release the negative energy. I am just happy being here and I am glad I make some people happy too. Thanks for the compliment about my article :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is often said that the empath has such a high degree of empathy that they can literally feel what others feel, and therefore intuitively knows a lot of longing, sensitivity, tastes and even thought patterns of the people around them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, before the pandemic broke out in China I already felt deep sadness and other unexplainable emotions. I just knew something big was coming. I feel the sorrows of those who lost their loved ones. I still do until now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You complicate the situation a little. Empathy; Putting yourself in the other person's shoes. I think I used a little shortcut :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What did you experience after taking that shortcut?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Empaths are fairly common, I think. Some people call it instinct. A rose be any other name and so forth.

Empathy, I believe, is less common. Thanks for joining the prompt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my pleasure to join the prompt, thank you po for your generosity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being an empath is tough. My partner is one - bringing home sometimes the burden of friends that is hard to express to them and rather cry it out at home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that you both are aware po. It's really a challenge in addressing one's emotions at sometimes pag may nagkakasakit nafifeel din ng empath yun symptoms.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello dahling, does that mean I really need to buy lottery tickets you told me in the other comment section? Kidding!

Nice to meet you beautiful empath.❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I guess so po :) If you are already lucky in those raffles, you got a big chance in winning the lottery. Kasi you manifest things easily :) Nice to meet you din po beautiful soul :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha that's a good thought, lemme dream of some numbers tonight😂 I actually just won $5 in another platform lol!

Good evening dahling❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What? OMG pwede po bang iprayover mo ako? Kung malapit lang ako sa inyo magpapapahid ako sa noo para maambunan ako ng swerte ...Congrats!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sis naman, pinatawa mo ako masyado. Thank you though, nabinat yung wrinkles ko lol. Blessings to us🥂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

BLessings to us and I am glad I made you laugh. Hay umiiyak ang aking bebe need to go offline na po. Cheers!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand you perfectly. I'm also an empath. The problem is when we end feeling other people's problems as ours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree but I learned how to manage it through the years. I have a good friend who gives me advice on how to deal with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to know that you've learned to handle it. I also strive at it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, with the help of a good friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am an empath myself. I absorb other people’s emotions way too much and I feel everything, sometimes to an extreme.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I know how it feels po :) Learn how to shield yourself. May mga articles po online about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

onga sis eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya mo yan :) Try ko search later about shielding and share ko sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am good, sis thank you. I was like this since birth hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have to learn to make a space against other people's emotions, that is called shielding. I mean protect your aura.

$ 0.00
2 years ago