I went gaga over Thalia

11 13
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Yo, my awesome friends! It's raining cats and dogs while I am writing this article and I am loving the scene in our bedroom: all my loves are in deep slumber.

Before I continue with my story for today, I just want to say, "Thank you, muchas gracias, daghang salamat, maraming salamat" over and over again to these awesome people:

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

Ariadna Sodi y Miranda A.K.A Thalia is one of my most favorite music artists/singers of all time. It all started when I was 12 years old upon discovering the Mexican soap opera, "Marimar". I believe it was aired in RPN 9. It became so famous that led to Thalia visiting the country. President Ramos was the incumbent president at that time.

My Ate Girlie sent me 2 posters from Manila after begging her multiple times. It was one of the happiest moments of my teenage life.

We didn't have TV so I had to go to the neighborhood to watch and sadly, most of our neighbors were "Kapamilya". I only had few allies: Ate Virgil and Icai.

The crazy things I did for Thalia

Credits to Wikipedia
  • Well, firstly, I shaved my eyebrows to imitate hers. Imagine me doing that at 12! Plucking the hairs was so painful but I was determined to look like my idol. Lol.

  • Then, I saved some money from my allowance so I could buy her tape. It was 1996 so I don't know if CD was already available. I bought a fake cassette tape from the "tiangge" or the local market. Then Ate Virgil and I would go to our neighbors to borrow their"sing along" and sang our hearts out. We sang and danced like Thalia. The songs were Marimar, Maria la del Barrio, Maria Mercedes, Amandote, Gracias Adios, and Piel Morena.

  • It was December 1996 when our class went caroling to different communities. Marimar was already over but it was succeeded by Maria la del Barrio. I would make excuses not to finish the caroling and went home earlier than my classmates. One time, I was busted by my cousin and classmate "Baby" because she saw me coming out from our neighbor's house after the soap opera. She sarcastically said, "You have to go home early huh, is that what you called emergency?". I was embarrassed for what I did. But still, it didn't stop me from loving Thalia.

  • And then when I was in first-year high school, I sent a letter to Thalia. I was in Calamba, Misamis Occidental that time. There was no TV but just a local radio. I wasn't allowed to watch TV in our neighborhood. I missed my idol very much so I desperately sent her a letter using the copyright details of the show as the address. And I was so heartbroken when the letter was returned to me.

A little background about my favorite singer

Credits to Wikipedia

Just to give you some juicy details on who she is:

Date of birth: August 26, 1971

Place of birth: Mexico City

Spouse: Tommy Motola

Music genre: Latin pop

Some of Thalia's Achievements:

2013-Hollywood Walk of Fame

2011- One of the "Most powerful and iconic women in Latin music" by Terra Networks

2020-One of the "Greatest Latin Artists of All Time" by Billboard

I can still remember some of Thalia's songs by heart and one of my favorites is "Entre el mar y una estrella". It means, "Between the Sea and a Star" in English.

Te Amo Con Todo Mi Corazon, Thalia. Awww...

***************************************************************

You, my friend, do you know her? Or do you have a favorite Latin singer? What were the crazy things you did for your favorite singer?

And yeah, since it's cold and raining, I'm gonna leave you this quote, "The way I see it, if you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain."-Dolly Parton

Visitors, friends, co-authors, thank you for your time and effort in visiting my page. I always value your suggestions, feedback, comments, and your generosity.

Please do visit and ready my sponsors' columns as well and be inspired by their wit and creativity.

Have a great weekend!

Cheers!

-Images were from Wikipedia.Org as well the personal details and achievements

-The rest of the contents is mine

5
$ 3.29
$ 3.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 2
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Hehe, you did a post about Thalia ;) Of course, I love Latin singers. And I like a lot. But to name a few. I like Luis Miguel, Gloria Estefan, Ana Gabriel, Alejandro Fernández, and some songs of Shakira. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Cool, I like Gloria Estefan and Shakira too :) I just remembered the crazy stuff I did because I liked her a lot hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nagyon ko lang nalaman ang complete name nya haha! Thalia lang talag alam ko. Okay din un Nandito Ako na version nya.

Di kasi ako nagsstick sa isang artist/band kaya wala ako masabi na ginawa ko for them :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes po I liked her version :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pinakinggan ko ulit kagabi hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah parang Thalia fan din kayo ayaw nyo lang aminin :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't really listen to Latin songs so I didn't know her. But I can relate to those crazy teenage years spent being a super fan of some artists lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That was really fun, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It sure was lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hahahay na miss ko cia bigla, fave na fave q yan noon panoorin talagang inaabangan hahahha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes sis hahah nakakamiss :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago