I once had royal blood, online boyfriend

20 19
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

September 13, 2o21

I hope Kiko had already left the Philippines. I haven't watched the news yet and I'm praying that it hasn't devastated the North.

How are you holding up on this rainy weekend my friends? It's Sunday and school's gonna start tomorrow. Here come the headaches and the dramas again.

I think most of you know I came from a broken family. I also observed that some Filipino men do not know household chores. Well, some of those who grew up in the province were taught by their parents but the majority weren't. That turned me off. And the thought of having manipulative parents-in-law discouraged me from having a Filipino boyfriend. I did have a boyfriend when I was 15 but none after that.

I wanted to have a foreign partner because:

  • They are more independent from their parents

  • They know the household chores

  • They are open-minded

  • I will have cute babies

  • Most foreign parents won't meddle with their children's relationships

I already shared that I was a working student in college. Everyone in our group was from financially challenged families so we were looking for ways to "ahon" not only ourselves but the whole clan. Just kidding, just the family.

Most of us would go to the Internet room to chat. The most famous Internet dating app at that time was Yahoo Messenger. Mind you, even our instructors did it so.

"CTC?", a user says to start a conversation.

"ASL please", the other one replies.

My first online boyfriend

I've met Mr. Bruce when I was 19. (Kind of forgotten which Yahoo Chat room it was, perhaps it was California because that's where my grandma lives lol.)

Chaz was 35 and I was 19. I actually didn't care about the age gap, I liked older men. His hair was dark brown, he's got red lips, and the most beautiful pair of eyes. His eye color changes depending on the light. I could stare at them forever. His handsomeness was a combination of Sean Connery and George Clooney. He was well-built and stood 5'11 I think.

He was the general manager of Hyatt Hotel in LA and was a boy scout. He came from a royal bloodline. His great-great-great grandad was the Scottish King Robert Bruce. That fact didn't intimidate me, I liked him even more. His authoritative figure challenged me.

He served his community by volunteering in the boy scout and I loved him for that. One time, he went to Disney in Orland and brought me some Mickey mouse stickers.

The competition

Since the majority in the working student group wanted to have an "Afam" or foreigner, there was a competition on who will marry the soonest. And who's boyfriend is the wealthiest.

Some of the former student assistants visited the school with their husbands. So the pressure of finding a chatmate got tougher.

Then an instructor's foreign bf visited her here in the Philippines. My officemates' boyfriend then arrived and they got married during his first visit. She stopped working as a student assistant right there and then. Everyone envied her because she's now "ahon" from difficulty. People would clap and say "Isang kababayan na naman natin ang nakaahon na naman sa kahirapan". It means, "Another countryman has gotten out of poverty".

My stubbornness

I was jealous that my colleagues' foreigners already met their families, gotten married, or engaged while nothing is happening to my love life.

I asked Chaz, "When are you going to visit me?".

"I will go there in Manila and conduct some seminars. That way, I can save on the plane ticket". He answered.

"This man's so "kuripot" means frugal, I told myself.

"What am I going to do when you're working?", I asked again.

"Shopping, sleeping, and just do whatever you like", he replied.

"I want you to come here in Iligan to see my family!", I stubbornly added.

I didn't realize that he was afraid because of the chaos in Mindanao. He was too embarrassed to admit it. Then the fights started. The relationship went on and off.

He didn't mention going to the Philippines anymore but it was okay with me. I wanted to be ready when we meet by finishing college first. I wanted to succeed by using my own diploma.

Then we talked about our wedding. We'll have blue and silver as the motif. I was excited browsing for my gown on the Internet. We had a fight about my allowance. I wanted more because I was envious of my officemate. He told me that he's still supporting his ex-wife even they're divorced. I was hurt. I didn't understand. I was selfish.

Our relationship got sour as time went by. Then one day, I saw his profile on Friendster and he had a Filipina friend. I got so mad. I contacted the girl and asked if they were together but she denied my allegations. Chaz did the same thing.

Our relationship ended without any formalities. I was just thankful for him because he supported me until my third year in college by sending monthly allowances.

I tried searching for him on the Internet after a few years but to no avail. I'm just curious. I wanted to check if he's already married. I've moved on although I didn't "ahon".

Was there something that I could have done better? Should have I given him a benefit of the doubt? Was I immature? Kindly share your opinion by commenting below.

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

These are my lovely sponsors, my friends. You definitely won't regret checking their profiles and reading their content. Trust me.

TO MY LOVELY SPONSORS: THANK YOU AND I HONOR YOU, AS ALWAYS!

**All images were from Unsplash.com

**The rest of the content is mine

6
$ 4.19
$ 3.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 4
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

Nasayangan ako Sis, pero parang kulang din siya sa paninindigan. Kasi dapat kung love ka talaga niya inayos nya ang lahat, sa tingin ko naman matured na siya sa ganyang edad. Pero against lang din talaga ako sa mga Pinoy na ginagamit ang foreigners para maka-ahon:D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Siguro sis napagod na sya sa akin. Yeah dapat magsikap tayo para umunland at wag iasa sa iba ang pag-ahon hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha nag yahoo chat ka din pala before.. pero sayang oh well sabi nga nila pag meant to be meant to be.. what's important is you learned

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis, Yahoo Chat was life before ehe aside sa MRIC..and lessons learned.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know what to tell you because I've never been in a situation like this to have a relationship online. But what you have to think is that you weren't meant to be.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, my friend as much as it hurt me before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't dare to give my opinion, but these relationships via internet don't convince me. Many people play with the innocence or the need of other people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree, there are men who take advantage of innocent young women as well. It doesn't apply to everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sayang. Baka talaga you were not meant to be, sis, or you could be young at that time. I mean when it comes to relationships baka di ka pa nun masyadong matured. I am guessing.

Ako naman, I have never thought na American ang mapapangasawa ko kasi I never wanted one, and I am a very mean lady lol. Pero yun ang tadhana ni God and I am grateful naman. I also don't like that "ahon" thing. When I met my husband, I was already working and earning my own money. And not all foreigners are mayaman.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah we were not meant to be sis. Alam mo naman sa ibang probinsya sis, pag nakahanap ka ng foreigner eh nakajackpot ka na. Yun ang naging dating para sa amin which was sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

stereotype sa pinas lalo pag sa province. very sad talaga, sis ang mindset ng iba. sana machange natin yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis tama. Kaya nga ako dati kahit gusto ko sana patulan yung pagbisita nya ng maaga pero gusto ko kasi magtapos muna hanggang naghiwalay na lang kami.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang naman. Planado na ang kasal eh tapos sabay ganun. Nag end. Nalang ๐Ÿ˜Œ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Immature pa ako masyado :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm that was interesting sis :) Perhaps I was too naive to think that fellow Filipinas are NOT into foreign guys for 'ahon' thing.

I don't know what to say honestly. Maybe you were just not meant to be :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe depende siguro sis sa background ng Filipina pero sa mahihirap na lugar it's the way to get out of poverty. Yeah we were not meant to be "(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo siguro sis. I remember being courted by a foreign guy nung unang time ko napunta overseas. I was so scared then and he even asked to marry me then and there๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, well I guess he was mesmerized by your beauty and knew that you were a good catch :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, I think not sis :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm sinabi mo eh ikaw bahala

$ 0.00
2 years ago