Getting to know you more challenge: When I was a kid

13 38
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

I listed some of the topics that I wanted to write about but since one of my sponsors came up with a challenge on her 1st anniversary here in Read Cash so I decided to join. I wish this entry can still make it as I only have limited time. So let me stop watching Netflix and delay folding our clothes.

Unfortunately, I don't have a picture of myself when I was a kid. The only pic I remember was during my baptism and we lost it. Some of my childhood pictures were taken by my relatives I didn't have the capacity to ask for a copy before.

When I was a kid I learned how to swim

I can clearly remember the saltiness of the water and the hype I felt upon jumping in the water.

When I was either 5 or 6, my elder sister and their gang would go to the beach for fun. Since they didn't have a ball, they would carry me and throw me from the barge to the sea. Then they would jump after me and get me from the water. Who won't learn how to swim in this scenario? My instincts told me to kick and push myself up so I could breathe. My young mind said I had to survive.

When I was a kid my grandma told me I was evil

Growing up during the Spanish era, we all know that asking too many questions is forbidden. I was discussing the Bible about history, about our religion, and asked a lot and my grandma can't answer all of them so she called me "evil". We didn't get along very well, and I hope she has forgiven me as I've forgiven her.

When I was a kid my playmates taught me how to steal

I didn't grow up a thief but it still makes me laugh whenever I remember stealing for the first time.

One day, my playmates and I went to a garden surrounded by barbed wires. I was 7 or 8. I didn't know that we're going to steal. Luckily we were able to get in and they told me to pick some fruits but I was too busy getting just the tamarind. I didn't realize that they were already escaping because the owner found us out. I saw them running away from me and they shouted "Get out! Get out!", so I hurriedly tried to go through the barbed wires. I was stuck because I was wearing balloon shorts. Then felt something in my butt, it was the landowner patting my butt with his stick. So their family tagged me as a "thief". Whenever I walk my way to school, his grandchildren would wait for me and shout "Kawatan!", which is "thief" in English.

When I was a kid I skipped school a lot

Yes, if there is a valedictorian for absenteeism, that would be me. I didn't like going to school. I hated waking up early. I didn't have shoes.

I was in grade three when I saw the principal at the gate checking if the learners are wearing their shoes. I didn't have school shoes at that time so I was scared and went back home. I only loved climbing the guava tree, eating the fruit, and sleeping until its afternoon. Sometimes I would go to my aunt's house and watch TV.

When I was a kid I won in Science quiz bee

I only realized my academic potential when I was in grade five but still, I loved skipping school. I was in grade six when my classmates and I as a team won the Science quiz bee competition. We were hailed as the champion. I didn't know that I could do well in school. I became popular.

When I was a kid I'd go to the beach during summer

Photo owned by my Aunt Emma

We had a gang called "Kuratong" during our teenage years. We would stay late at night and go home at dawn. We play the guitar, we would tease a German Shepherd and run, we would stone some fruits or wait for the mangoes to drop. What I love the most was going to the beach every 10:00 am until 3:00 pm. My cousins would wake me up using our secret code. My elder sisters would get mad at me for not fixing the bed so I could go to the beach right away. If you'll check the picture, that skinny and dark brown kid was me.

When I was a kid I ate toothpaste as viand

I was in third grade. I went home during our lunch break. As usual, no one was around. My dad was having fun somewhere else or at work and my mom was in a vessel to Manila for work. My elder sisters were both at school. I checked the "kalderos", we only got cooked rice. I checked the pans, there was no "ulam". To my hunger and desperation, I ate the toothpaste with the rice. It was the yuckiest thing I've ever tasted. I didn't tell a soul until I was in my 30's.

When I was a kid I wanted to become a swimmer

Since my friends and I spend our summer on the beach, I was inspired to become a swimmer. I became an athlete in grade five. It was a district meet, so we were all in the sea for the competition. The weather was so bad that everyone's having a hard time swimming. I remember doing a backstroke, I didn't follow the line so I swam to the deeper part of the water. When I realized I was swimming alone, I stopped and saw that someone was farther than me. We were both out of the way. We lost but it's okay, it was a very funny moment.

And then I wanted to become a gymnast

I got over my obsession with becoming a swimmer when I knew about Bea Lucero. She was so good at gymnastics. I loved watching her Milo commercial so I learned how to drink Milo because of her. One day, I was helping my sister carry my mother's groceries when I slipped and hurt my arm so badly. That's when I found out that I couldn't be a gymnast, my arms aren't "normal" or straight like the others.

When I was a kid I wanted to become a karate kid

I watched a lot of "Once Upon a Time in China". I think there were like 8 series or titles that starred Jet Li. I could watch it over and over again. I learned some fighting techniques which I used when I was 13 lol.

I finally finished this article in between breastfeeding lol. I am also done folding our clothes, just a few minutes and I will be done watching "Designated Survivor". I did have fun reminiscing my childhood memories while writing this article. I also tell my eldest Bam about my funny experiences and she'd heartily laugh.

Once again, Happy 1st Anniversary to my sponsor @bmjc98 and I hope @bheng620 will write an article as well if she hasn't yet.

I apologize I don't have any personal childhood pics that I can share anymore.

****************************************************************

To my visitors, welcome to my page, and thank you for your time reading my stories. I appreciate a comment, subscription, upvotes, and tips.

To my ever generous and kind sponsors: THANK YOU AS ALWAYS! I appreciate you "beautiful souls".

Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty

I am happy to be here, I found my tribe.

Have a great week, cheers!

****My childhood pic was from my Aunt Emma

Lead image from Unsplash

6
$ 3.49
$ 3.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 1
Sponsors of jasglaybam
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for jasglaybam
2 years ago

Comments

It's my first time to read about toothpaste as viand. Lol at karate kid. We've watched a lot of those films too and recreated it some of the scenes in our own way. Sira mga upuan dahil sa amin haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAH. Cheers sa last mo! I had dreamed to be a martial artist too. I wanted to become like Jet Li or Jackie Chan. BAck then, yan yung mga sikat e. Pero hindi ako pde e kaya waley. Kaya kung magkakaanak man ako, gusto ko siyang matoto ng karate. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din gusto ko matuto sila kasi iba na panahon ngayon :D Thank you sa pa sabog sa anniversary!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Loved this. Your childhood self sounds mischievous, energetic and wild - I'm sure Grandma only had 'evil' to sum you up when you were being you! I'm sure she has forgotten it as I'm sure she threw the word away like a balloon rather than a rock. What a shame there isn't many pictures of you as a child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a pic as a baby but was lost I did some pics when I was 10 or something just got lost too, it was a wild childhood lol. I was out of the house most of the time, skipping meals and shower :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naman dahil nakahabol ka pa sa challenge sis. Ako di na siguro. Sayang. Next time na lang talaga. Hehehe. Ginawa ko ding pagkain ang toothpaste. 😆😆

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha yucky ang lasa di ba sis? sana nga makahabol pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aha! Mga salaring playmates na yarn!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe bad influence po di ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uhhmmmmm 🙄🤔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They were actually like the poorest in our place, whenever my Lola needed help to harvest the fruits they'll do it. I think it's their way of surviving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel your sentiments, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually had great childhood memories with them. They taught me a lot of things about life at such an early age and they were helpful and generous in their own ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago