Things to Ask Myself Before Saying Yes

7 75
Avatar for janatyler
2 years ago

I was 19 when I started my own business. I was so hungry for success that I needed to attend all kinds of events, conferences, trainings. I thought every idea I could think of was awesome.

That worked too. As soon as I graduated from university, I started my own business and I have been working successfully for 6 years. I think I have used all the opportunities that come my way as effectively as possible.

But in 2019, I felt that my old energy was gone. The people around me were also tiring my already tired mind with their own business ideas.

At the end of 2019, I realized that saying "yes" to everything tired me out. I felt that “tiredness” was not a good sign when I had more to do. At 26, I started slowing down when I should have been fast. I've realized that going slow in what I need to be fast and successful will yield better results.

For this reason, I started to be more selective in the work I spend my energy and time on. I realized that I needed to use my energy properly in other areas, just like delegating the accounting work to the accountant.

“Yes!” in the works and initiatives I will do now. Before I said that, I started to think more carefully. In other words, I started to be more selective in what I would spend my time and energy on.

You should try this yourself too, asking yourself some questions before you "jump" into every possible opportunity that comes your way.

1. What Purpose Does It Serve?

In the actions you will take, in the conferences you will attend, “What purpose does this serve? In what way will that feed me?” you should think. Will you learn anything? Will it add meaning to your life? Most importantly, will I enjoy this job?

If you ask yourself these questions and give negative answers, you can skip that job, the activity (whatever it is). So, before you say "yes" to something, it is extremely important to weigh how you will benefit from that job.

2. Why Am I Afraid to Say “No”?

The main reason for accepting things you don't want to do anyway is that you don't usually know how to say "no". Worry about hurting the other person is the main reason for not being able to say "no". But accepting work that you don't want to do, or that you do mediocre work in, is worse than saying no.

For this reason, do not force the work that does not come from your heart and reject the offer-request within the framework of courtesy rules.

3. On What Other Subjects Can I Use My Time?

I started public speaking at the age of 20. It was one of my favorite things in life, but the constant travel, air travel and all the other hard work was just for an hour of conversation. I was going to 30-40 different talks a year, I felt compelled to answer hundreds of e-mails every day.

This process has contributed a lot to me in learning new things, gaining experience and making a name. I was doing this for free.

But then I realized that I put all my energy and time into this work. After that, I learned to evaluate my time. During this time, I looked for alternatives that I could do. First of all, I realized that I had to take advantage of what I gave my time for, both materially and morally.

4. Can I Pass This Job To Someone Else?

As a self-employed entrepreneur, I did not have the money to hire a staff for the first 2 years. So I was trying to do everything myself. When things started to work out, I hired someone to help me with my business.

We can say this: You cannot handle everything alone. There are many people who are more knowledgeable and successful than you in many subjects.

In this respect, leaving the work that needs to be done as an entrepreneur to the competent person saves you both time and energy.

5. What Is Draining My Energy?

One of the things that drains a person's energy is constantly thinking about what others are doing. In other words, worrying about things you can't control exhausts the human mind terribly.

Remember this: Others being successful, making a lot of money; It does not constitute an obstacle to your success and earnings. You should focus on your own business.

6. How Can I Be More Vigorous and Energetic?

This whole enlightenment process has been quite interesting. I found a wanted dog owner online. After adopting that dog, I became more socialized.

Instead of sitting at home and answering e-mails, I took my dog ​​and went for a walk. When I wandered outside and came home, I realized that I felt very energetic.

In other words, socializing, taking a vacation, having fun is not a waste of time. If you want to focus on your work, to be more energetic during the day, to work better, you must know how to take a break, distract yourself and have fun.

For example, driving a car is also very good for me. My friends understand that I am driving from the WhatsApp messages I send to them with crazy ideas.

In other words, you should take time for yourself and refresh your mind. Everyone has their own way of relaxing. Spending more time on the things you love to do will definitely make your time more valuable.

Identify the things that drain your energy. Pass some of your work to the experts of that business, make a plus-minus evaluation in your actions in terms of time-energy-money. Thus, you can make progress more easily in the areas of productivity, mental health, energy and success.

14
$ 11.92
$ 11.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @beastion
+ 3
Avatar for janatyler
2 years ago

Comments

What should I ask myself before saying yes? Does this align with my values? ... What does my gut say? ... What's my intention for saying yes (or no) to this? ... What's the opportunity here? ... Is this a 9 or 10? ... What would I do if I knew that no one would be disappointed either way?

What are good questions to ask yes or no? Do you believe in ghosts? Have you ever seen a UFO? Can cats jump six times their length? Do you like chocolate milkshakes? Were you in the swamp yesterday? Did you see Bigfoot? Can you see the moon? Do you know how to swim?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This article will surely helps those who like to apply for a job. Like me. And I am glad I read this article of yours. Thank you for sharing this. Now, I've got idea of what to do and think before applying to a job. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very detailed and useful, some things should be put into consideration before any jobs are accepted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Thanks for this! I kinda felt that too and your article helped me understand what I was feeling for months now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad I could help you. I'm so glad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the reminder and further enlightenment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the reminder and further enlightenment.

I thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago