Unexpected Joy (Trip to Buguias)

12 47

I was invited by my friend from Buguias, Benguet to deliver a talk for an important event in sign language. Since I was invited months before the event, there's not that much excitement in me. The date became closer and I wanted to back out but I don't want to disappoint my friend so I pursued. The day I'm about to travel, he told me he'll fetch me from Baguio but I suggested La Trinidad instead. However, the person he tasked to fetch brought me to UV Express van terminal, paid the driver, and left me alone in the travel.

I was very worried. The driver hardly respond whenever I ask him, as if he doesn't speak Tagalog. It's a long winding travel of the scary Halsema Highway. I felt like I'm going to die because the driver is driving too fast, and it sways me left and right. I prayed to God and asked forgiveness for everything if I'm going to die. Lol!

I messaged my friend where will I stop, whether it will be the town proper but he gave a vague response. I'm unsure if I'll push through or not. So much worries traveling to a place that I never been for the second time (the first time is easier). I asked my friend again where will I go, he just said to tell the driver "carrot". Of course I know carrots but I don't know what he means for "carrot". So I told the driver "carrot" but I'm still skeptical he understood me so I repeated. I sighed with relief after he said "okay". Lol!

It was more than 2 hours of travel from La Trinidad, Benguet up to the my destination, Natubleng, Buguias, Benguet. I'm the only passenger at that time, and it got me even scarier. Finally, the driver stopped and told me "carrot". My friend has been messaging me. When I got off the van, I can't see my friend. It's very dark considering it's just 6:30pm. It rained and I stepped in an area with accumulated water, and my foot soaked wet. My friend and his wife saw me, and they asked me questions, and all I said I'm fine. I'm just speechless for the long and scary trip.


We had our dinner immediately once we got to their house, and head to bed afterwards. They asked me what time I'm going to sleep. I said 10PM, though I usually sleep at 11PM at that time. While they sleep at 9PM, while their neighbors sleep at 8PM. I haven't seen the place since it's very dark so I'm unable to see the houses there. It seems very quiet. Because of the deafening silence, my every move can be heard while in my room. So I played some music in a low volume. I fell asleep probably 11PM because I'm trying to adjust with the thick blanket which is very heavy. It's like a carpet actually. The temperature at that time is around 10 degrees centigrade, and that's considerably cold for someone who lives in a tropical country.


I had a good sleep but I woke up early. The rays of the sun peeking on the window. Since I love sunrise, I decided to take a view, and I was surprised on what I saw!

It must be a very high place. The sea of clouds, and the sun peeking is a magnificent view! I stayed there for some minutes before going to the kitchen.

I had a conversation with my friend's wife while she prepares the breakfast. I looked at the window, and the clouds start to disappear, and I was amazed on what I saw!

I was very happy on what I saw. That's the view that I saw from the window. My friend told me to go to the balcony, and walked around outside.

I walked around outside and saw a lot of terraces. Many of those are sculpted manually, while others through backhoe.

Those looked like giant stairs in the mountain. Mostly being planted there are vegetables including lettuce, cabbage, potatoes, and carrots.

The neighborhood. Some of the houses are in every terrace. Perhaps that's the land they own. Besides, they have their own farms too.

That's the Mt. Pulag, the highest mountain in Luzon, and the second in the Philippines. It can be viewed right where I stayed. However, it was covered by the sea of clouds.

I tried to capture the next day with hopes that it isn't covered by clouds, but it still is. The sea of clouds is still lovely though.

The succulents in the balcony with the clouds and the beautiful view in the background.


I enjoyed that morning because of the beautiful view. I don't have to go around the town to look for better views. In fact, this place is the most beautiful that I saw in Natubleng, Buguias.


Thank you for reading, and huge thanks to my sponsors below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 1.17
$ 0.90 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @EllenMos
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 1
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Those are awesome views to wake up to!! Wah if you were not stressed the night you arrived, and if the stars were out then, what a night view also!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's actually raining when I got there along with 10 degrees temperature. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is such a nice place and very relaxing huhuhu. I wanna go there. And the sunriseee omg 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I won't get bored alone in the house with such view. Malamig pa!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

marakep ditan ed nakar yo. komon, makaonla kami met ditan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lanti. Diman labat ed tinuluyan mi tan. Sarag to met onla diman. Hospitable ira.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're lucky to visit places that are like paradise. My friend who works overseas, when he got the chance to come home, it was when there's no covid yet, he told me he went up to Mountain climbing to Mt. Pulag. He said, that at the top you will see the breathtaking view. I even saw pictures and it really is. The way to the top is a struggle but it really is worthy according to him. How I wish he could take me there. I also love adventures and mountain climbing is just a piece of cake for me hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I can hike through Mt. Pulag. Di ko kakayanin yung pag-akyat. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro what I will do is 10% lakad and 90% gapang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. May asthma din kasi ako. Maganda dyan sa pinuntahan ko, flattened sya dahil sa terraces.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow dear you trip is really amazing,you are visiting it and i have noticed that you are enjoying a lot in this trip,my last year i have visited naran or kagan in pakistan this is outstanding beauty of God's nature

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are lots of beautiful places which are truly God's creations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago