Resilience from Disasters

21 28

Our country, the Philippines, is prone to different disasters. In fact, I witnessed some of the worst disasters whether a killer earthquake, destructive typhoons, and frequent floods. When faced with such disasters, inner strength is very important, or else your mental health will be at risk.


We experienced one of the worst earthquake in the Philippines back in early 1990s. However, I am very young then, and I was not aware what's happening at that time. We're watching TV, and then everything is trembling. My brothers, sister, and cousins are crying. I am just clueless what's happening, then I learned and heard the word earthquake for the first time. My memories are not ver clear but I remember we don't have electricity and running water for quite a long time.

Image from Unsplash

There are commemoration in social media regarding the strong earthquake, and I got to see the massive destruction from our province, even in Metro Manila, Baguio City, Cabanatuan City, and other provinces.


Aside from earthquakes, we experienced strong typhoons. In 1998, that's the oddest typhoon we experienced. The eye of the typhoon crossed our province without a warning. I think the mayor of Dagupan City is angry at that time because of the wrong forecast. Roofs flown, trees are uprooted, and knee-deep floods. Of course, I'm still young at that time so it isn't as deep compared to my height now. Electric poles also bowed down, thus there's no power for almost a month, and we'd lived in darkness during the period.

Ten years later, sometime in 2008, another strong typhoon struck our province. For the second time, we didn't expect the typhoon because of unclear forecast. We've had strong rains but strong winds started late afternoon. It's almost as strong as the one in 1998, but the situation is better because we haven't had floods, and the power service was restored in two weeks.


This same season in 2018, we experienced the worst year of floods. Yes, since 1998, we experienced a number of floods but at least once in a year. In 2018, we were flooded four times.

This is how it looked like in our living room.

That picture isn't at its deepest. I even came to a point when I have to transfer some of our things in a higher place.

The flood just started here. It went deeper the next day.

We cannot do anything more with our plants. We have to save the more important things in the house. Good thing the garage is higher. Our entire village is submerged at that time.

The flood is getting deeper here.

I am very worried at that time. My brother isn't at home, unaware of what's happening. My cousin moves very slow to help in saving some of belongings. I felt like I'm going to collapse with worries the flood will go deeper.

This was the third time. How I wish our house is as high as that one.

The flood here was the fourth time.

Dagupan City has experienced the worst floods that year too. I'm unable to capture the time with deepest level but some of my friends that time walked in the streets with water level at their waist.

Floods are recurring. We're about to go to Tarlac City at this time. It was early morning at Perez Boulevard.

Floods depends on the elevation of the road. So far, this area was quite high, but most roads are almost submerged.

On a different day when we're going somewhere.

At the intersection of A.B. Fernandez Avenue, Arellano Street, and M.H. Del Pilar Street. I can't find any dry ground so I removed my shoes to walk on the flood. I have no idea that Dagupan is flooded at that time.

I walked around without any footwear to find a ride. I can't find a way to go back home. I'm unable to catch up that bus.

While at the front of SM City, I found an area with higher elevation

I found a tricycle ride but the water is splashing on me. Good thing I have alcohol to disinfect. Floodwaters are too bad that it can cause leptospirosis.


In times of distress like disasters, we need resilience. Filipinos are known for resilience, and forces of nature can never be controlled. However, damages and its effects can be minimized.


Thank you for reading, and huge thanks to my sponsors below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 2.90
$ 2.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 3
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I love how resilient Filipinos are.., Have been to Dagupan City and was amazed with the Public Alert and Response Monitoring System.., the city was able to identify what they needed and has invested on preparedness and rescue operation needs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far, they're better than our town. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did I not read it properly..., i thought you're from Dagupan 🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from Lingayen (the capital town of Pangasinan) though I used to go to Dagupan a number of times a week.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owh.., I have been to Lingayen once and had a funny story in that place 🤣.., it's where we went around and looked for a supermart and we we're informed that there is "Sebways" just around, we tried asking for directions going to that place and found Save wise instead 🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Save wise is very close to our house. The house just behind the building. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owh...., I really can't forget how we laughed at each other that we are looking for Save wise and not "sebways" as pronounced 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We definitely need resilience to cope with natural disasters. I hope you don't get more floods like that. And if it were to happen, be more prepared to face it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true Coqui. Actually, a typhoon is coming, and it's expected to bring rains.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay safe there! I hope it won't be too harmful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully. Signal or category was already raised.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Landslide/mudslide naman ang disaster dto sa kabundukan..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Baguio po ba kayo? Oo nga po. Madalas po dyan. Yung iba binabaha pa ata.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo taga Baguio ako, meron ding parts na binabaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot nlang pag buong Baguio binaha 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sir. Nababalitaan ko rin po. Or iba na talaga panahon ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we can't question the resiliency of the Filipino people...but i do hope there's action to the drainage problem and garbage management in the country

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. We should all do our part. The government and citizens. Problema puro pulitika.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga eh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat pala jan naka elevate ang mga bahay or lahat sa second story. Mukhang mas madalas pa ang baha ngayon.

Naalala ko yan lindol na yan. Grabe nun ang bigat sa feeling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naabotan nyo rin pala sir yung lindol. Opo sir. Matataas na bahay ng kapitbahay. Pero yung iba, lubog talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago