Laugh With My Father

2 17

I admit I am closer with my mother compared to my father. It is common to many families especially if an individual had a strong emotional attachment and spent more time with their mom. My father used to be so strict but of course we did have a laugh with him. It might be uncommon yet those moments are special.


One Sunday I am in a town in La Union, my father sent me a message to have dinner in their house. I don't have a good feeling though because after a week, he'll undergo surgery. As much as I don't want to go, I still went there for dinner.

What I expected really happened. He called me along with my two siblings, not including the others, to his room. Then he started talking about his upcoming surgery, and opened up the possibilities. Just in case the surgery won't be successful, he gave us some advise, what to do when he's gone, and asked for forgiveness because of his being too strict.

As if I'm not listening, my head is blank that I don't know how to react. My two brothers are crying, and told my dad that he will survive the surgery. I had some tears but minimal, though deep inside I'm crying.

My father told us that 80% is an assured possibility that he will survive the surgery as the doctor said but 20% that it won't be successful can't be disregarded. As the level of emotions start to wane, everyone wiped their eyes and left the room.


I am positive that God will save my father from any complications. I've been praying that He will listen to my prayers. That whole week, I'm still positive and I set aside my worries. I heard my father also called on my other siblings but one of my brothers declined to go because he doesn't want to hear anything that sounds like farewell.

The last Sunday before his surgery came. My father looked out for me at the computer shop. He might've forgot I don't usually go there every Sunday because I'll attend our meetings in sign language. We had our dinner at their house again, but they prepared for the things he will need in the hospital.


Monday came, my brother whom I share the house with has prepared to leave. He will be assisting my eldest brother and father in the hospital in Manila. Yes, it's quite far from our province usually around 4-5 hours of travel. I'm unable to see my father because I'll be taking care of our computer shop, and also the other business that I am taking care of.

My father's schedule for the surgery would be Wednesday. They still have plenty of time to prepare while in his hospital room. I felt bad because my other brother who's with them used to assist me in the computer shop but our father needs him more.

The surgery is quite complicated as surgeons in our province declined, and suggested to have it done in Manila. There's a mass which has built up in my father's pancreas that needs to be removed or else, it will turn to cancer. My father wanted it to be removed badly because he doesn't wants us to suffer in taking care of him like how we did when my mother had cancer.


Wednesday came, and if I'm not wrong, his surgery would be in the afternoon. Despite I'm not home to attend to our business, I'm texting my brother for updates. Finally, the surgery was done, and was declared successful despite the need to be observed in the recovery room.

Usually, patients should be observed around 24 hours while others may stay at the recovery room longer for intensive care.

The next day, I texted my brother again for an update. He told me that our father was already transferred to the ordinary room to recover. I felt like it is a good news because it means my father is recovering well. I'm excited to see him again in the weekend.

I'm positive that I can laugh with my father AGAIN.


Thank you for reading, and huge thanks to my sponsors below:

Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 2.35
$ 2.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @ThisisGrace21
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Your story is really touching but I’m so happy that your father made it. I’m happy for the successful surgery. I’m happy that you’re happy. Have a wonderful day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Too bad my father didn't really make it

$ 0.00
2 years ago