Jamming With Alanis

7 25
Avatar for iyanpol12
1 year ago
Topics: Music

I'm a fan of music, and I miss the music from the 1990s. Yeah, I consider the music of my generation as the best just like others prefer the music of their time. I used to listen to pop, R&B, hip-hop, and rock music.

Back in 1990s, rock music was dominated by men as they're the ones serving as the vocalist of most bands. However, we also heard bands led by female artists such as The Cranberries (led by the late Dolores O'Riordan), Garbage (Shirley Manson as the frontwoman), No Doubt (Gwen Stefani as the vocalist), and others. Some female singers who rocked the music scene are also solo artists just like Fiona Apple, Sheryl Crow, and of course, Alanis Morisette.

Talking about Alanis Morisette, she's actually one of my favorite artists in the 1990s. The way she sings became an identity for her, and once you hear it, you know it's Alanis Morisette. Her distinct voice, beautiful melodies of her songs, and great songwriting. Those are the things that made Alanis Morisette popular during mid-1990s through her first international album "Jagged Little Pill". That album became one of the memorable records of all time, and also one of the biggest selling album with more than 30 million copies sold.


You Oughta Know

This track is one of the angry heartbreak songs of all time, and yeah, the lyrics are really angry. It gave Alanis her first ever Billboard top 10 hit, and even Beyonce performed this song after "If I Were a Boy" in Grammy Awards.

Hand in My Pocket

Just an easy listening song, and it never sounded corny. Lyrics may seem simple but it does make sense. Vocals are beautiful as well. Its music video in black and white might have been a thing in the 1990s despite most TVs are already colored, but it's good. I love the part when she played harmonica.

Ironic

I remember there are multiple Alanises in its music video. It's pretty simple. She got inside the card, drove it, until she reached her destination. Aside from the memorable music video, this song is also great which became her biggest hit ever. However, the use of the word "ironic" and its meaning on the song became a subject of debate back in mid-1990s.

You Learn

Another great rocking song from Alanis, and I remember its music video by which she was knocked out from boxing at the last part. Lol! When Alanis Morisette came to the Philippines, I think this is one of the songs she performed. "You Learn" is very popular here despite charting moderately in other countries.

Head Over Feet

A soft and melodic lovely song from Alanis, and actually one of the last singles released from "Jagged Little Pill". At that time, pop music is taking over the music scene. The music video is also very simple, and Alanis served as its co-director.

All I Really Want

This is my least favorite among her released single, and it quite hurts my ear. Well, it is also the opening track of the album. It's also the least popular among her singles from the album.


Too bad, Alanis Morisette didn't match her fame on her subsequent releases. "Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie" is a great album, but it didn't match the singles from "Jagged". My favorite song from Alanis after "Jagged Little Pill" is "Uninvited". That song was part of the soundtrack of "City of Angels", and its dark undertone perfectly matched her vocals. She has that voice perfect for dark sounded songs just like Amy Lee of Evanescence.

Alanis Morisette became an influence to fellow Canadian Avril Lavigne. I even thought Avril is Alanis' successor though her sound is quite young. Alanis has the maturity, and she's got the great showmanship with her attitude.


4
$ 0.95
$ 0.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.01 from @Grecy095
Sponsors of iyanpol12
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for iyanpol12
1 year ago
Topics: Music

Comments

Good evening, I loved the video and the song. I also discovered this singer and her unique voice.thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She indeed has a great voice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love 80' 90' music is the golden season

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Music then are timeless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My favorite too! I'm a fan of her songs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

During my 1st Yr in hs, I remember I sang Head over feet from Alanis and she was my favorite back then. She is one of the legends of rock

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes Grecy. Kumbaga sya ang Avril of the 1990s or Avril is the Alanis of 2000s. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago