Rain Drops

5 33

*************RAINDROPS*****************

The phone rang. It was Boma, my fiancée; I accepted the call but as I picked up my mobile to respond, I sighted a police checkpoint ahead. Immediately, I dropped the phone on my seat, between my legs and picked it up immediately I drove past the checkpoint; she had ended the call. I did not want the officers to penalize or detain me for making calls while driving, reason I did what I did, but I knew I was in for some real trouble with Boma, my “MADAM” as I fondly called her. I parked at the nearest fast-food restaurant and instantly returned her call. “Babe, what happened; the small airtime I had, you used it up without even saying a word. Where are you going to?” she kept on expressing her apprehensions until I responded, “I’m so sorry booboo”, I explained to her why I acted the way I did but omitted the question about my destination. “So where were you heading to?” she asked again. “errm, errm, you remember Mirabel right?” I started, “yea, the girl who asked you to leave me for her”, her reply made me chuckle a bit; I was not expecting anything less from her though. “Yea, she is seriously ill. She called me and requested I got some drugs for her, stressing that she could not reach out to her friends and I was her last hope. She also mentioned that she is alone at home. “Hmmm, last I checked, she has not called you or even reached out for weeks, how come all of a sudden, you are her last hope?, anyway, she better be really sick; this should better not be one of her ways of trying to get you on her bed”, she said. Boma is a very smart girl, in fact, the smartest I know. She is also very intelligent; apart from her beauty, her intelligence was what caught my attention on our first date, so I told myself, “I need this kind of brain for my kids”. I did not delay before putting a ring on her finger and in a few months, we will be tying the knot. Boma is my perfect match. I do not want her having second thoughts about me, I will not give anyone the chance to mess this up for me, not even Mirabel. Boma could be right after all, it could be one of Mirabel’s schemes to put us asunder, so I just have to be careful, not get too close and most of, become emotionally involved while I am there. “Don’t try anything stupid, just drop the drugs for her and come back immediately, okay?” she added, “Ok love, I will call you when I get to her place, take care of your beautiful self for me; see you soon” I replied. The call ended after we exchanged the “words”. I resumed the journey, checked the time and it was exactly 45 minutes past 3.00pm. I had to rush down so I could return on time before the traffic on the Lekki-Ajah road starts. Again, I had a call but this time it was Mirabel, she requested that I get her food, as she had nothing to eat all day. I drove in to the Lekki shopping mall and got her fried rice and chicken at the fast-food restaurant. Few minutes later, I arrived her apartment, a luxury one-bedroom flat. Mirabel is one girl that thinks she is incomplete without a man in her life. Her high taste of men has led to several failed relationships as most of the men always told her what she wanted to hear, to get inside her and even defraud her of her money. After every dramatic break up, I was always the shoulder she cried. I always thought I never fitted into her picture of a “perfect” man, until I started dating Boma. Boma found out about her because of her endless text messages as well as the content of each. I love being open to Boma, so when she asked, I communicated everything pertaining to Mirabel to her in details. Mirabel works at a telecommunication firm, from her luxury apartment and official car, you could tell she is doing well. She is a beautiful woman in her own way, and I have no idea why those men did what they did to her. She always had this aura of innocence around her, so I doubt a person like herself would want to lie about being sick just to get down with me. I knocked at the door and heard a soft voice telling me to come in. Obviously, she left the door unlocked. I went into the parlor, no one was there, but the TV set was on. Someone was definitely watching it, I thought. Mirabel was too sick to watch so who was watching the TV, who answered the door while I was knocking? If Mirabel is in her bedroom, why did she sound so audible regardless of the sound coming from the TV set? She was definitely not alone. I walked into her room and saw Mirabel lying on the bed, looking very sick, more than I thought and bending over her was Tricia, a friend of hers that I met the day I bumped into Mirabel at the club. “Hi….errrrm Patrick, welcome” Tricia said as she was covering up Mirabel with the blanket. “Hey” was all I could voice. The state of Mirabel’s health distracted me. “Why not let us take you to the hospital?” I asked. “No! No! There will be no need for that, I already called my pharmacist whose prescriptions are the drugs I asked you to buy for me”, she said softly. Tricia whispered to Mirabel who smiled in return. She left the room immediately, saying she would be back. I knew she was gone for good at the sound of the entrance door and that of the gate. Mirabel looked pale, her fair complexion made her appear whitish. The intoxicating feminine scent of the room gave me the indication that whatever this was about, it was not going to end well. I knew I was in a serious mess. “I thought you said you were home alone” I asked, “Oh Tricia walked in not too long ago, I couldn’t ask you to go back because you were already on your way and I didn’t want the drugs to waste” she answered. “So why did she leave, seeing your health condition… “She came to get something from the house, I told her not to bother staying, that you were coming over and that you will look after me”. This is serious; I was supposed to drop the drug and the food, then leave. Now she just added that I had to take care of her. It did not feel right at all, Boma’s words started making sense to me, but I promised her that I would not try anything stupid and I was committed to keeping that promise. I went into the kitchen, got a plate, and served her the food I bought, as she requested. I also fed her as she appeared too weak to do so herself. I forgot to call Boma as I promised. I quickly took out my phone to dial her number immediately I remembered. I informed her that I had gotten to Mirabel’s place and she in turn asked how she was faring; I told her Mirabel was seriously sick. She then told me what sounded like a whisper; “drop the drugs and leave immediately… okay, I will”, I replied and we dialogued a bit about the whereabouts of my credit card. The call soon ended, it was a very brief session. “Did you tell your girlfriend you were coming to see me?” she asked, “actually she is now my wife-to-be, and yes I told her on my way down here”. I could see the shock in her eyes as I said the words “wife-to-be” so I immediately chipped in, “yes we are engaged”. I was confused because I thought I saw tears coming out of her eyes when she said “ so you left me just like that for her after all we have been through” “B**tch we were never together in the first place” I thought. “Mimi, we were never together…..” “After all we have been through” again she cuts in. I kept mute for some time and said “Mirabel, nothing happened between us. Do not make it look like we had a thing going on when we both know it never happened. Remember you said I did not fit into the picture of your ideal man, so do not make this hard for us. Just eat your food, take your drugs and let me be on my way, my ideal woman is waiting for me at home”. She was quiet for some time and then she asked, “When will you be leaving?” “As soon as you finish taking your drugs,” I answered. My phone rang and stopped just before I could pick it up from the bed. I knew it was Boma as I had a special ringtone “Dinero by Jlo and Cardi B” for her contact. I called her back immediately; she was not happy at the fact that I was still at Mirabel’s apartment at the time of the call. I had to explain to her that I had to make sure she ate and took her drugs before I left and she ended the call abruptly. “Does it mean you won’t be spending the night?” she asked. I paused for a while to think of how best to address the question confidently and compellingly without hurting her feelings. “I can’t possibly do that, I cannot spend the night with you, it’s Friday and Boma will be coming over to my house for the weekend, where will I tell her I spent the night?” “It baffles me why you had to tell her you were coming here in the first place. Why is she calling and disturbing you every minute, is she not aware that I was the one that made her stand a chance with you, if I wanted to move very fast, by now we could have been married, then we would see who she will be disturbing”. I did not say a word to respond to what she had said. “Help me up, I want to go have my bath”. “Won’t you take your drugs first before doing that?” I asked. ”I will take my drugs after my bath”, she responded. I held her gently out of the bed until she was standing upright, putting on her nightgown. I walked her slowly into the bathroom and into her bathtub and left immediately to the parlor. Two minutes later, I heard a loud scream from the direction of her room. I rushed in to check; lo and behold, she was standing at the entrance of the bathroom, fully naked. She had a body that could seduce any man. The curves and shapes were in the right places. As I walked towards her, my favorite ringtone went off again, I returned immediately to the parlor where I kept the phone, “babe I am not happy you are still there up till now, you said you were only going to drop the drugs, all these extracurricular activities you are doing there is uncalled for.” She ended the call, without giving me an opportunity to explain. I knew she was mad this time and needed to wrap up things with the drama queen and depart. I went back into the room where she was still standing naked. “She is calling you again, is that how she is, doesn’t she know I am not feeling fine…..” she burst into tears again, “Not again” I thought to myself. I held her hand and led her back to bed, but on getting there, she pushed me down the bed and before I knew it, she was on me, bending over me. I did not know which got me so confused, the fact that she had that much energy to push me to her bed, the fact that she lied about her being sick and acted well or the fact that the Mirabel I knew was very decent and committed in church. Her “holier than thou” attitude had chased some men I knew from her. Could she really be doing this? She brought her face closer and kissed me passionately. I pushed her away immediately, got out of the bed and headed out of the room, “come back here Patrick, Patrick do not leave me here alone !” she screamed as I left. As I walked into the parlor, my phone rang again. I picked the call and before Boma could speak, I responded, “booboo, I am on my way, I am driving now,” “OK”, she responded. She added that she wanted to ask me what I loved for dinner, so she could get the necessary ingredients from the market before leaving for my apartment. Boma is a good cook, the best I know after my mother died. Her cooking reminds me a lot of my mother and since we started dating, I cannot remember when last I ate out, even when she wants to leave town, she ensures that she fills up the refrigerator with all kinds of delicacies, enough to choose from. She does this with passion because cooking was her hobby. This was one of the many reasons I needed her as my wife. I told her I would be okay with any meal she enjoys. She ended the call and I moved into my car, ready to leave the complex. As I was about leaving the gate, I saw Mirabel from my mirror. She was completely dressed and stood at the entrance of her door watching me as I left. As I watched, the thought of what had ensued between us played again, I shook my head in disappointment, and thought, “Booboo was right after all”. I drove out of the gate, which was already opened by the gateman, and in no time, I was at the expressway, heading back home to meet my love…

#LoveWhatIDo .....i will be posting another story,Thanks

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Cool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kudos Bro, I love the response

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love your story, waiting for the next part

$ 0.00
3 years ago