Someone's trying to hack my Facebook account

0 20
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

Someone sent me a message asking for help on Instagram. He was someone from the same university who is younger than me. I thought this was legit. He was asking for my number where I can receive a Facebook code.

So I gave out my Philippine mobile number. Suddenly, my FB account automatically logged out. I realized that I gave him a code for password reset. Damn, I received an email that somebody tried to open my account from a different country using an iPhone 11.

In our exchange of messages on Instagram, he said that the code is not working so he wants it to do on IG instead. I stopped responding and reported his IG. Not sure if this account was hacked. I wanted to send him a message on FB but I think it's a waste of time.

I am not sure if I should confront this guy. Like, hey your IG account was hacked and was trying to hack my FB account. His last update on his IG was last year of February.

Our last messaging on FB was so long time ago and my last message to him was never seen. But I remember that his last update on FB was about his car during the typhoon Odette.

At first, I felt suspicious why this guy is sending me a message on IG. But I was trying to be nice thinking I can help. It was really strange that I even told him I don't have money. I know he is kind of an English speaker so I tried if he can speak Cebuano and he did.

There's a lot of hacking and scamming issues happening around. Some people even shared their Pin code or OTP code of their bank account. So they ended up losing their money on their bank account.

Good thing that I was aware already that I was right with my suspicion. Also, it is my fault why I responded to him and why I gave out my number and the code for password reset.

Lesson learned: I should have been a snob and do not entertain messages like this next time even though it looks like a friend was messaging you.

3
$ 0.79
$ 0.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
$ 0.01 from @jasglaybam
+ 1
Sponsors of itravelRox
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itravelRox
2 years ago

Comments