Student Leadership: Fulfillment > Stress

10 69
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

I'm not really feeling well tonight but I can't just sleep. I'm having a hard time sleeping so instead of spending all my energy trying to sleep here I am. Writing an article.

Just a warning, this article is just another article of me being a student. And in this case, it's about my life about being a student leader which I think, I have already mentioned before.


Back to this article, I know that you know how to read its title, right?

I don't know if you'll be wondering about it but here's the reason did I chose to use a mathematical expression instead of using just the word greater than.

I am not so productive these past few days. I don't get so much sleep at night for it's really hard for me to sleep early and that results to me, having not enough energy in the morning. That when I try to do my school works, that's the moment when i'll be sleepy so what I will do is to just sleep and give myself a rest since i'm really lacking of sleep.

Another reason is that I am so stress with school, with responsibilities and all that. Actually, last semester, we had an election on who will be the block president or the class beadle and I was re-elected. I am the block president since first year and until now.

On our first year, student leadership wasn't that hard for it is easy to relay information coming from our professors to my block mates in a face to face manner. I'll just have to corner them after class, not letting anyone go outside the classroom, then i'll announce what I should say and it's done. The dissemination of information was very easy and effective back then, unlike now.

Today, I am spending so much time answering all of my block mates concerns about the class, the subject, the requirements, and sometimes, they are sharing to me even the issues that should be resolve by themselves like how they forgot their email password. It was really stressful to answer all their queries.

I spend almost all my day just to give them my response one by one. Everyday, there are at least 10 messages left in my messenger account and I need to reply to those as I wake up. And all their follow up questions when they didn't get something is just taking too much of my time.

In a face to face class, those queries are easy to resolve for they just have to ask me personally, in front of the class, i'll answer and it's done. All of those that have the same question or have a related question will not ask me again about it so I don't have to repeat myself. While now, almost all of the messages are related questions and i'm getting tired of saying the same answer again and again.

I must say that communication has been hard in this time of pandemic. The responsibility is just too much that I thought I couldn't handle it at first.

Going back on my reason about my title, it's like that because as I was saying, being the student leader at this time has been so hard. I thought of quitting actually but I decided to think it through first because that's a big decision.

So what I did is to weigh down the pros and cons of being the class president. As to what my title says, I ended up with the result that the fulfillment I get in leading the class is greater than the stress that I am getting with it.

Generated from Cooltext

To cut the story short, I chose leadership.

Above, I sighted some things that makes this path that I chose stressful. So in this part, i'll sight the things that gives me fulfillment. The things that makes me hold on to the responsibility and the things that is keeping me from quitting hastily.

  • I'm fit for the position

I don't know but for some reason, ever since I was in elementary, I am always being elected as the class president. Even to some clubs in high school, I was the president. That makes me think that I am fit for this position. My classmates trusted me and saw something in me that is why they are always electing me.

  • I have a voice in here

I am the youngest in the family, and usually, if you are young, you don't have the voice. You can't voice out your opinion because that may seem disrespectful to those that are older. And this leadership thing is my voice. I just feel like in the classroom, I have the voice and the authority. My opinions matter and they are heard and respected.

  • Appreciation

I might vent out a lot on my noise.cash account how annoyed I am on answering my classmates concerns but I am really flattered on how they appreciate me as their leader. I can feel their respect towards me and I just love it how they don't forget about thanking me after they help them. They are really grateful and I am too. Sometimes, what I am doing for them is just so simple. They'll ask and i'll answer. It was really not a big thing for me but their appreciation about it makes it seem so big and I love them for that.

  • It pushes me to go on

It pushes me to go on, with life, with studies, with everything.

The thing about this leadership is that it comes with a responsibility. I am not the most hardworking person. The truth is i'm lazy most of the time but since I have the responsibility, at least I am keeping myself to just be lazy, sleep, rest until I want and just forget the world, or the requirements perhaps.

What i'm trying to say is that I am forced to be responsible. Not in a bad way though 'cause it's giving me good outcomes. I have a block to carry on my shoulder. They are more than 60 people and I can't let them down. If I sleep so much who will make the announcement? Who will remind them to review because we have a quiz on Friday?

This is like hitting two birds with one stone. I am pushing them and always reminding them about the things that we need to do and as I do that, I myself is also being reminded about our tasks.

With this leadership, my lazy self rarely wins with my responsible self. I can't slack off with this kind of responsibility and for me, it's good. I have to keep up and I am keeping up.


What I stated in here is not enough. I still have more than enough reasons on why I chose leadership. Yes, I am stress. Most of the time. Actually it's everyday. But it's okay. I can handle it and I am handling it well. I love our block section and it's a pride in my part to see all of us being united, pushing each other towards reaching our dreams.

MKTG 2-1, you guys rock!


All the reasons that I stated above, from the stress down to the fulfillment is all personal. I am talking about my personal experiences and not all student leader out there think like me or have the same reason as mine.

But anyway, it's nice to share my experiences in here. I was able to release some stress through writing this.

Thank you so much for reading this. This is not very informative but I hope you got to take some lessons through my personal experience.

Adios!

=)

9
$ 3.06
$ 2.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @carisdaneym2
$ 0.11 from @Macronald
+ 2
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Comments

Masasabi kong isa kang mahusay na magaaral malayo ang mararating mo sa mga articke ko nakikitaan kita ng katalinuhan at deserve mo lhat yan Pagbutihin mo at makakamit mo lahat ng naisin mo sa buhay! Sana all nalang active talaga habang nagaarala ako kasi nuon haha wala pala absnet pa😅

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Salamat talaga lodicakesss presidentationismistic🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

josko hahahaha stress bhie!!!! lalo kay ano

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kay M hahahahaha hanggang 4th year siya pa den😩😳😣😣😣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

pati sa kaklase na asawa ni eva

$ 0.00
3 years ago

bhie ramdam ko yan nung high school HAHAHAAHAHAHHA kaya nga ngayong college in-promise ko talaga sa sarili ko na ayaw ko na at hindi na pwede kasi alam ko mas mabigat na yung responsibilidad e :>>> and that's mainly the reason kung bakit din ako sa iba at malayong university nag aral ng college, para zero profile ako, I mean wala silang background sa akin, walang expectation ganon, unlike sa dating university na pinag aaralan ko before na pag leader, ako agad ganern HAHAHAHAAHAHAHHAHA and I'm super happy naman to my lowkey college life now hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahhaha stress bhie! anyways, masaya naman ako sa ginagawa ko pero mas madalas gigil chour hahahha. since elementary gawain ko na'to kaloka. saka bhie, zero profile din me, transferee, e ayon feeling ata nila matino ako gawa nung eyeglasses kaya naelect nalang basta josmeyo hahahha pero ayan bhie sige enjoy ka sa lowkey college life mo. pakabait ka basta sa president niyo hahahhaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hey. I saw you in noise. I'm just new here btw.😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yow, I just saw your noise. This article is 100% relatable since I am also a class president 😆. From annoying inquiries to non-sense questions, I need to answer them patiently hahaha. So proud of you because you choose to be a leader even though it is not an easy task (given that we are in pandemic and online mode of education, we are always mentally drained). Keep it up and continue lead them :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for dropping by! Finally, someone who can relate haha. And seriously, our position really requires us to be patient. Thank you, really. And i'm proud of you too 'cause we have the same job. I know how challenging it is and you seem to be nailing it. :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago