just a little walk from the past till now

23 44
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Ever since I was a kid, even before I went to school, my sister will always ask my mom to bring me to their house so that I could spend my vacation there. And I always approve of it because I love to stay with them, they have lots of foods. Haha

Until I got older, that became the situation. All my summer vacations were spent with my sister's family. That's why most of my childhood were spent with them. Ate and Kuya became like my parents.

I really did enjoy staying with them but as I was getting older, Kuya is becoming stricter and stricter.

I must say that he's quite a disciplinarian, we've got so many house rules, and he's starting to give me tasks at home from cleaning, to washing dishes, cooking rice, and all those basic household chores.

As a kid, of course I feel like I was being punished. All I want is to play back then, but I have things to do. And honestly, I started to be scared with him because I was always being scolded from time to time.

He's also strict when it comes to food, ever since a kid I don't really like vegetables but with him, I only have two choices. It's either I got the veggies myself or he's the one who'll put so many veggies on my plate.

As I remember it, it's funny how I can imagine myself always wanting to cry everytime he's making me eat those veggies. But me, being the scared cat was always fighting the urge not to cry and not to vomit the food because I know what will happen next if I do that.

I really have a lot of memories with my brother in law on my younger years.

Honestly, i'm a bit spoiled with my family because i'm the youngest child. My mom spoils me, and even all my siblings spoils me. Maybe I was a spoiled kid partly because my dad died when I was still young and my family just want to give me all the love they can give me.

But me being the spoiled kid won't work with my brother in law eh. With him, I have to do this and that. Back then, I don't really appreciate him.

It was just these days that I started appreciating all of the things that he's done for me since I was young.

As I was looking back, I can see that he truly cares about me. Honestly, he's one of my father figure growing up.

This memory suddenly pops up in my mind earlier, there was this time at night, where we were watching a movie on a portable DVD, when I started to feel such a massive headache and I feel so cold. I didn't even know that I was sick back then and i'm even scared to tell them that i'm hurting. Few minutes later, maybe they noticed that i'm a bit shaking so that's the time when they know that i'm sick.

Brother, even late at night hurried up to the nearest drug store to buy medicine for me. There's also this time when I have a cough. They are busy managing the store back then while me on the other hand were left at home. What he does back then, he's going home twice a day so that he could make me drink my medicine. He does that until my cough was gone.


Photo from Pinterest

Until my teenage years I still spend my vacation with them. On these years, more tasks were given to me. These are also the years when I started helping on their business.

I go with them at the store during these years unlike when I was still so young that I was just left at home.

These years were also the years that the gap between me and my brother in law become larger and larger. I've grown distant with him because I fear him.

When I look into him back then, I only see him as someone who's always asking me to do things, who's always scolding me and the one whom I fear the most.

I was so scared to made a mistake back then. Every task he's making me do seems to be so hard because I am obeying out of fear.

There are also the years which I think he treats me the hardest.

But then, these are also the years when I felt him reaching out everytime he'll try to call me bunso (it's how they called the youngest child in Filipino).

There is nothing much that happened on my teenage years with them aside that it's the time where I had such a hard time the most. Maybe because I am too young and stubborn to understand the real purpose on why he's doing it to me.

On these years, I totally felt like everything was a punishment.


Photo from Pinterest

It was when before I study for Senior High School when I permanently moved in with them.

When I have tough times before, those times doubled this time since I was with them everyday of my life unlike before that it's only for 2 months.

It was honestly so hard when you are living with another's family. I mean, they are family, but living with my mom was just so different since I was nurtured the most when i'm with her.

There are times when I just wanted to go out of their custody and just go home to my mom. Things get tougher, but as days, weeks, months and years passed by, I've come to my senses and I just realized how his way of disciplining me have so much contribution on what kind of a person I am right now.


If not for him maybe i'm still that spoiled kid who doesn't know to do a thing.

Right now, our relationship is getting tighter. I can now stand being with him and just having a normal conversation with him.

I now obey him out of respect, not out of fear.

I feel like he's also adjusting and he's also making an effort for us to be closer.

He's not the sweetest but he just have his own style of showing how he cares.

I appreciate all the pat in the head as his way of saying sorry whenever he's gone overboard on scolding me.

I appreciate all the times when he's asking me for what pasalubong (souvenir) I want whenever they are going somewhere.

I appreciate him asking me what I want on my birthdays. I appreciate how he bought foods to celebrate my graduation.

I started appreciating all the big and small things that he;s doing for me now that my mind is mature enough to understand and not to get clouded by emotions.

He still scolds me sometimes but I don't get offended anymore. I don't feel being punished anymore, specially when I know that i'm the one at fault.

What I appreciate the most from him is that he also cares for my whole family, actually even our whole clan. All of the members of our family loves and adores him. I remember all the Christmas celebrations where we go home to our hometown and he's got gifts ready for all of my siblings, brothers and sisters in law, nieces and nephews, even to my cousins, and to my aunt and uncles.

He really cares even to all of my relatives.


It's fun reminiscing all my memories with my brother in law. He's not perfect I know, but he's a big part of my life and i'll always be thankful for him.

Anyway, i'm just writing this one because I made a mistake earlier, I know i'm at fault and I admit that, so I was really expecting all his scoldings once he got home but then, I really wanna cry when he didn't get mad at me.

At that moment I don't know but memories just came down rushing that's why I wrote it down.


So I guess, I have to end it already. I've got a lot of realizations today. But still, I won't make him read this because I might die out of embarrassment. Lol

I must say, our relationship isn't perfect but we have this special kind of bond. I am just so grateful to have him as a family.


I hope you enjoyed this little walk with me to my past until now.

Till next time. =)

11
$ 1.86
$ 1.00 from @lagrapefruit
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
+ 5
Sponsors of immaryandmerry
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for immaryandmerry
3 years ago

Comments

concerned talaga sya kaya ganun makadiscipline..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes nga din po. he always say din naman dati na para sainyo din yan paglaki niyo. and I can see that now. it was tough pero if not for that I wouldn't be like this naman e

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry, but I agree, spoiled talaga youngest among the siblings, same with our youngest, hehe! Anyway, i admire your kuya though hindi sya expressive pero he have soft spots and he knows how to show it indirectly. Awww.. I hope you are feeling better now..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes po. we're good. actually kaya ko nga yan nasulat kasi mas nagtaka ako at di ako napagalitan hahaha. I can say na magkasundo naman na kami ngayon, lalo sa kdrama hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ngayon lang ako nkakilala lalaki mahilig sa kdrama. Akala ko lahat mobile legends lang pinagkakaabalahan hahah!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahahahah my brothers were fond of kdrama. mga kamarathon ko yun hahaha. eto naman bayaw ko, mas adik pa sakin. 3 days lang tapos na niya 1 series hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hala grabe adik nga! Hindi kaya ng powers ko yan, ako usually 2 weeks cguro πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

lakas ng impluwensya ko sa brothers saka brothers in law ko hahaha. ako nga ginugulo pag wala sila mapanood, ako kasi tagadownload haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah! Hala sila lahat puro mahilig sa kdrama? Okay yan para marathon kaung lahat ng iisang series lang. Dito kc iba2x hilig namin, ako at ung youngest namin ang mahilig sa kdrama

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha. same same kami hilig e. kakatuwa nga mga kuya ko, di basher sa kdrama. mga naaapreciate pa pag gwapo or maganda bida hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least mediyo closed oa nga kayo ng bayaw mo ako kasi sa asawa ni ate ko ilang ako parang kapag kame naiwan sa bahay walang imikan kumbaga haha pati naman itong kapatid ng asawa ko na lalake para siya npapaso haha kumbaga kapag nasa salas ako umaalis siy kapag wala na ako dun pumunta na siya ait ganoon siguro talaga baka someday maging close din kaming kahat sana, and kudos to your bayaw kasi nakikita ko na napakabuti niyang taoπŸ‘

$ 0.02
3 years ago

ako naman i'm close with all my brothers and sisters in law. tight kasi talaga bond ng fam namin. tapos itong si kuya wala namang layasan sa isang place hahahaha. may times din na magkasama kami sa byahe so syempre usap usap ganon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maganda na nga Pag ganyan yung kumbaga walang ilangan sa isat isa hehe, huhu kaloka di na naman ako makapagpost sa noise nagakit na naman si admin hay naku tambay muna ako dito haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ganyan din ako sa mommy ko ee, ang dami ko ng beses na gustonh lumayas ang bumalik sa pinang galingan ko ba haha.

Parang sya na ang nagpaka tatay sau no. Ganyan naman kasi talaga ang ibang tatay strikto, am sure ganyan din sya ss mga anak nya. Pero pag nasanany ka nang lalo nyang pinapagalitan oag may nagawa ka nakaka panibago pag walang ganon ee. Nakasanayan na kasi kaya nag eexpect ako ganyan ako sa mommy ko ahaha. Okay naba kayo ngayon? Umiimik naman sya sau I mean?

$ 0.02
3 years ago

true hahaha. napapagalitan pa din naman ako pero di na ganoon sa dati. hahahaha. aynako kaya nga ako naiinis kasi ang tamad tamad ng mga anak huhu, di pinapag urong tapos ako non lagi pinapaghugas ng plato. ayon dishwasher pa din ako hanggang ngayon.

and yes medyo nag uuusap na kami. I mean, nag uusap naman kami before pero more like utos niya lang yun hahahah. goods naman kami mabait nako e chour hahaha. pag may gusto ko sabihin nasasabi ko naman na, dati kasi pinapadaan ko lahat kay ate at ayoko siya kausapin directly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wag na kasi matigas ang ulo. Matigas din naman ata ulo mo ee. Kaparehas sila ni mommy nong bata oa ako. Pero ngayon okay naman na. Nakaka sagot na nga alo sa kanya dati bahay buntot ko ee aguyy.

Pero bat ba kasi jan ka naga stay why sa parents nyo? Kahit pa ga nasanay na. Diba mas better pa rin if dun ka sa kay nanay mo?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hala mabait kaya ako. chour hahaha. tamad kasi ako kaya gg siya dati hahaha. pero pag inutusan naman sumusunod saka syempre takot nga ko dati so di talaga ko nasagot pero sumasama loob. ngayon goods na, di naman nako gaano napapagalitan haha.

ang ayon nung before kasi ako magsenior high malapit na manganak si ate so nalipat ako sakanila hahaha saka si mama kinuha kasi nung pinsan ko sa Japan. balik balik siya every 3 months e diko pa kaya sarili ko that time, tas ngayon college malapit kasi bahay nila sa university kaya sakanila talaga ko nakatira

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Guys are not that expressive when it comes to their emotions eh kaya it seems like they're always mad. πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
3 years ago

yup. hahaha. his voice is so loud din kasi and he speaks so fast so it adds up. and maybe i'm just not used to it coz all my brothers treats me so gently. but anyway, it's nice din na naexperience ko yun. I really learned a lot. Kung sa mga kapatid ko lang siguro baka wala akong kaalam alam gawin kasi they won't even make me do anything na ayaw ko gawin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. Hehe. At least, naka experience kana nag tough love. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

super tough! hhahahahhaa magkasundo naman kami sa kdrama, tagadownload niya ako e hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's always nice to remember the past even if sometimes we wished it never happened. The scars we have right now reminds us that past is real and it will linger in our hearts and mind forever.

My mother was the disciplinarian in our family and you wouldn't like it when she disciplines a child. However if not for her strict rules perhaps this time I am not here writing on this platform making friends with people like you and in some part of the world.

You are so brave in writing this. Great work.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

It was indeed nice. But this time, I am thankful. No more bitterness or whatsoever. And hey, thank you for dropping by. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago