Anxiety?

4 25
Avatar for iamjanz
1 year ago

Mental Health - What comes to mind when you come across this topic?


I have always avoided this topic. I always thought discussing my mental health is just a sign of weakness and whatever uneasy feelings I have are just gonna vanish after taking a good rest. I keep masking my struggles with the idea that work is fulfilling and that my family is living a comfortable life. I never excelled, I never wanted to change anything in my routine. I felt comfortable inside the bubble I made for myself. I don't need a lot of friends, I can manage alone and get by as long as I pay my bills. I think that's how a typical adult functions. Until one day, I woke up and suddenly I didn't want to move. I felt so tired and unmotivated with everything. I felt something was wrong but could not point it out. There were physical issues, I felt numbness on my arms and fingers, headaches, chest pain, and tiredness even after sleeping for hours. I have asthma but this is a whole new feeling to me. 


I love the company where I am working now but suddenly the thought of resigning keeps on haunting me. It was like the answer to all my exhaustion and pain. I could not understand why I even thought of quitting in the middle of a pandemic! I am comfortably working from home and yet this feeling is nagging me. Something is not right. I keep thinking of the bad things that's going to happen when I quit and instead of working harder it makes me unproductive at work. It's now either I resign or I get terminated. So many overwhelming emotions are flooding me.


Then a friend advised me to seek help from a mental health professional. That's when I was diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. It was not easy, I have always had difficulties expressing myself. When the psychiatrist gave it a name;  it was another set of overwhelming emotions. I am kind of happy to know that what I am feeling is valid and not just a figment of my overthinking. And then I was scared again, anxious of what I am going to do next. I depended on medications to control the physical symptoms and tried therapy. I was able to function again.. so I thought.


If you're expecting a good happy ending, nah, I am far from that. Two weeks ago I had a meltdown. A very bad one. The paralysis came back, negative thoughts are haunting my sleep again, and I wanted to resign right that moment. Imagining waking up and feeling all those things at the same time. I could not even find the right words to tell my boss why I am not able to report to work. I am avoiding everything again. It's exhausting but I have to fight this one. I have to be better and I am trying to talk about it now. Maybe writing it here would make me feel better. Maybe if someone reads about this I am able to make that person that he/ she is not alone. Maybe that could make me feel better. I don't know. I am still unsure. My thoughts are all over the place. I am trying to be calm. 


If you're feeling the same way, please know you are not alone. What you are feeling right now is valid. Share your thoughts and let's talk about it. Maybe we can help each other out. 


P.S. If you know someone who is going through these things please don't tell them to just relax and rest it out. It does not work like that.


4
$ 0.49
$ 0.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.02 from @Micontingsabit
Avatar for iamjanz
1 year ago

Comments

Welcome to Read.cash @iamjanz, I wish you a happy stay and all the best in your performance. Here I have learned that the best we can do is to be constant and patient.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello sis. Madami tayo dito na nakakaranas ng depression and you know what itong platform na ito ay malaking bagay for our mental health kasi dito makakahanap ka ng taong makakausap at hindi ka ijajudge .

Ako Naman di nagpapatingin sa doctor pero last breakdown ko e nung holy week. Parang online diary ito ang account ko at nakasulat dito lahat

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

I still have this issue despite all my hard work to stop it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I labyu ate gorl! ❤️💗🤗 Join ka ng mga communities dito and interact ka dn sa mga articles na nababasa mo ha. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago