Fear Of The Unknown: I promised to help a friend....

3 34
Avatar for honeyflex360
2 years ago

“You can conquer almost any fear if you will only make up your mind to do so. For remember, fear doesn’t exist anywhere except in the mind.”

- Dale Carnegie.

Fear is an emotional reaction to a particular situation that is thought to bear any form of imminent harm. A strong, uncontrollable, unpleasant emotion or feeling caused by actual or perceived danger or threat.

Fear of the unknown can thus be progressively demystified as the act of being scared and afraid of a future situation one has little knowledge about.

Fear of the unknown

One fateful afternoon, exactly three days back, I was walking along the corridor that led to the department of biochemistry and looking up I saw a friend who sat down underneath one of the trees in the surroundings, all alone. It was quite unusual and that was how I knew something was definitely wrong. I walked up to him and muttered three times a popular nickname of his that the whole campus knew of, but got no response. I thought it was deliberate, but on walking a bit more closer, I got to know that it wasn't. He was lost in his own web of thoughts.....

We sat under a tree discussing

I then tapped him on the back and the sudden reaction of his reflexes suggested I was right. He was thinking. Asking him what the cause was he simply laughed it off. He wasn't great at pretending and his sarcasm put him off. Despite him laughing, I could see the melancholy in his eyes. After much pressure, he finally confessed he was worried about the future cos he doesn't know what it holds for him and what his fate was. He continued his seemingly unending reiteration of his worries and all I could do was fix my gaze on no particular thing on the ground.

Minutes after we departed, I tried taking a skeptical look at his situation, he was probably 19 years of age, he was in the university based on the simple fact that he wanted to. His parents had long been divorced since he was 6 and he was taken to his grandmother to live with. But shortly after he gained admission to college, she died. Since then, no one cared about how he fared or lived, he sponsored himself to school. He sometimes missed classes to go engage in menial jobs because that was the only and surest way he could get his school fees paid, get his rents paid, have something to feed on, avoid wearing untattered clothes by buying a couple of new ones, pay for the class handouts among a host of other things he did himself.

He was right to be worried, on one hand and another hand, he wasn't.

Why was he Right?

He was right to be worried because on the basis of my knowledge he was sad and felt if he could continue catering for himself all alone and besides one thing I forgot to add there was that he hadn't paid even half his school fees and it was three weeks to the exam. Now tell me. Wasn't he?. According to him, he didn't know where he would get a whopping sun like that in three weeks. Even if he did, wasn't he going to need money on other expenses. Summing everything up, I can't help but reach the conclusion that he was indeed right to worry. I can't imagine a person being three weeks away from achieving a new feat in his life, and he had an hinderance called money .

Source: Unsplash

Why wasn't he right to worry?

On another different level I termed his behavior Xenophobia, the fear of strange things or things we have no idea what it holds or might happen. Everything in life is on God's hand and all we can do as humans is to always hope for the best. We can question him, issue him a query or sack letter. It's totally impossible. We were created by him and therefore we need to make sure we don't worry too much about things cos they are in his hands and he does everything he does as he deems fit.

He needs not worry

Closing remarks

I promised my friend to help him and I hope this article bears a good fruit, if it does then I would be making it a point of duty to use the whole earnings to help a friend. He has been a friend that stood up for me in need and so I need to reciprocate the gesture by making sure he gets his school fees paid. Approximately in BCH, he needs $0.19BCH. I can't get him this but I have promised to rally round and provide something tangible. OVER TO YOU READ CASH.

I also owe my candid appreciation to the bot on this platform, it has been fantastic of late. I now believe what I was told that it rewards active users when they post interesting articles. By doing this, it has made my love for Read Cash and Bitcoin Cash a lot stronger.

Sponsors of honeyflex360
empty
empty
empty

Also to my brilliant sponsors, I say a big thank you for seeing me and my articles worthy of your sponsorship. My sincere prayers are that you will forever be progressing and not digressing. I remain my able, loyal and humble self @honeyflex360

Note, dear users that this article is 💯 free from plagiarism cos it has underground a thorough test. Once again, thank you folks. Love ya❣️❣️

All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording means without the prior written permission of the copyright owner and/or author.

.

10
$ 1.82
$ 1.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Captainkay
$ 0.05 from @Shohana
+ 5
Sponsors of honeyflex360
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for honeyflex360
2 years ago

Comments

The issues of life sometimes hit us hard and we have no option than to ponder on how to solve. Although life is completely on God's hand, hence we don't need to think much and kill ourselves with thoughts, but sometimes it can't just help itself. It's well with your friend. If you can introduce him to Readcash too, it'll go a long way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well these days having such kind of phobia is very natural because corrupt people mostly found everywhere and its hard to trust anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right shohana. But most times we don't have to be scared of things we have no idea what it holds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago