Blessed & grateful @ 54

2 22
Avatar for heidz
Written by
2 years ago

Today marks my 54th year of existence. I am so grateful and blessed that is the reason why I am writing my first article here at read.cash. Thru this article, I would like to share my life journey that led me to being blessed.

Childhood

I was born to a simple and happy family. My dad was a soldier and my mom was a beautician. I am the eldest and I have 3 siblings (2 girls and 1 boy). We enjoyed domestic travels because we need to go with our dad wherever he was assigned. But all these good memories crashed when my dad left us to live with her mistress. I was 10 years old then and was forced to work to help my mom earn a living. It was very challenging for me and mom as we need to make both ends meet. Glad that we had our grandparents and an aunt living with us who also lend a helping hand at times when we got nothing for food. Daily expenses were supported by mom through her home servicing as a beautician and my weekly allowance as a nanny to my younger cousins.

Education

The very challenging life gave me that desire to be better so I always prayed hard and concentrated in my studies. I was able to graduate from elementary emerging as the class Valedictorian. I was really blessed because after my graduation, I passed the City Mayor's full scholarship for secondary schools and graduated With Honors.

As a child, I've always dreamed of becoming a doctor so I asked my mom to bring me to Manila for my college degree. Since we do not have enough funds for our trip to Manila, my mom requested that we hitched with her friend's truck delivering vegetables to the city. We have to stay at the back together with the vegetables and some fruits until we reach our destination. Though it was difficult, we have reached the city for free. Really a big help for us to save the transportation cost.

I passed the College Entrance Examination but I landed taking up BS in Chemical Engineering because if I pursue the medical profession, my mom needed to cash out a big amount of money to serve as cash bond which we really cannot afford. As I was left with no other choice, I had to study Chemical Engineering. Blessings also came along as I was able to pass the full scholarship under the Department of Science & Technology, a government institution. Tuition fees, books and monthly allowance were provided by the institution but still not enough to continue.

To support me with my daily expenses, I had to live with my mom's cousin. During the day I am at school studying and when I go back home, I had to do the house errands. It was tiring but I always had that drive to endure every difficulties. I had to wake up very early to cook breakfast and clean the whole house. Always tired, drained and sometimes missed lunch due to insufficient funds but these things did not stop me. My efforts were also rewarded as I was always a dean's lister during my college days. Finally, my college days came to an end and I was able to finish my course. Then I continued to have my review before the Chemical Engineering board exam and thank God, I was able to pass. With this result, I went home fulfilled and ready to face another phase of my life.

Career & family life

I was able to have several jobs but I had to change in a span of 6 months or 1 year as I was looking for a challenging one. I am not actually into the routine office work. I wanted to have more challenges for career growth. It was in 1992 that I was hired as a Chemical Engineer at a shoe manufacturing company. The daily issues I faced really challenged me a lot and I enjoyed it. As a matter of fact, I changed to two other companies but the same nature of business. I met several colleagues who introduced me to my new employer here in Vietnam where I am currently working. Now is my 29th year in the shoe manufacturing industry and currently the Group Quality & Chemical Manager with 4 factories under my supervision. I got to travel a lot since our factories were located in Vietnam, Indonesia, Myanmar and our headquarters is in Taiwan. I had the opportunity to visit Korea, India, Hongkong, Singapore, Germany and other countries because I was sent as representative for conventions, trainings & workshops.

I am happily married and with 2 beautiful kids. I faced lots of challenges through the years but I am taking these positively to strengthen and bring out the best in me. My dad passed away after we met again. My mom got Alzheimer's disease 4 years ago. My son had autism. My daughter got married but up to now still did not get pregnant. My husband had diabetes since Year 2009 and now is already on dialysis and many more. But I still considered myself blessed despite those challenges.

Finale

My life journey is not to brag but to inspire. POVERTY must not be an excuse to not pursue your goals in life. Dream big and work for it. Do not let those obstacles bring you down. We have to face it with courage. Always have that drive to win over any challenges. Determination, strength, focus and positivity must be your weapons to succeed. NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE WITH GOD.

Lastly, I am very thankful to @MarcDeMesel for giving us this opportunity to earn thru Noise.cash and read.cash. I will have all these earnings to start next year my mission to sponsor poor but deserving students to pursue their studies. This is my way of giving back all the blessings from our beloved Creator. God bless us all!!!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for heidz
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations 👏👏👏👏👏 Many more years to come

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I am very grateful for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago