Why do I think that grammar is important in read.cash community.

19 31
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary online, one of the definitions of grammar is...

the study of the classes of words, their inflections and their functions and relations in the sentence

I believe that not everyone in the Read.cash.com platform uses English as their primary language. My primary language is Bahasa Melayu. If I do not write properly in Bahasa Melayu, you will not be able to understand the topics I am writing on because the translator might not be able to translate it for you.

For example, ( I am using google translate for Bahasa Melayu translation below)

In the other part of the articles, I wrote on my own with the help of auto-correction tools that I just found. I will share the links at the end of my article.

  • sia belum lagi puas mau main tu game. (If you are someone from Sabah, Malaysia you will understand this.)

not yet satisfied anymore want to play tu game. ( This does not sound right)

  • Saya belum lagi puas main itu permainan.(This is a bit better written in Bahasa Melayu)

I am not satisfied playing the game yet. (How does this sound like? even though it still has grammatically error.)

From the above example...

Both sentences written in Bahasa Melayu will be directly understood by someone from Sabah, Malaysia but the English translation using google translator will make someone else confused and probably will not be continuing reading my articles because they cannot understand.

That is the reason I am a bit strict in moderating Share Some Thoughts and share your talents community. I can read but I also want to understand.

How about leaving a comment?

How am I going to reply to you if I cannot understand well?

We will be like humans and aliens. Won't it be nice if we can comment and replies or perhaps chat because of an article? We will have the chance to gain more points.

Isn't that the reason we are all here? To earn money?

To tell you the truth, I am also not good at my use of grammar but I am open to any comments that will help me improve.


Well, this is only my own personal thoughts.

How about you?

What do you think?


I am using these tools for grammar checking. Check it using the link below. 

https://app.grammarly.com/ddocs/804244112

4
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @Cain
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

Comments

friend , r u Kadazan from Sabah? :p I didnt know sia is saya in Sabah....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I am and English is actually my third language. Some use "sia" and some will use "sa" which both mean "saya". I in English 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Grammar plays a significant role in an article. English is not my primary language, and I believe I have a lot to learn but we can all help each other here. If you want some guide, there is a community for this, named English Grammar. I also post some contents regarding common grammatical errors and commonly confused words. We can all exchange knowledge about it:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is great that you have the community. How does it work? Is it a community that will be accepting every article or is it a channel for sharing the knowledge on how to use proper grammar?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not the admin of the community but I got several articles submitted there. It will accept all articles on how to improve grammar. Anything about English grammar, may it be your knowledge or some short quiz to try.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Thank you for sharing. Can you give me the link to the community? I cannot find it in all the other flooding community.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Got it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This a good thougy about writing articles in read.cash. thaks for sharing such mice advice to everyone

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grammar is not important only on read.cash but it is important everywhere. People can always realise where are you from based on your grammar.

I am trying my best since english is my second language...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it is easier to recognize those with bad grammar. Another reason for learning how to use grammar properly. Can't let our bad grammar be the trademark of our origin. It will affect all of the citizens.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yaap..having a good knowledge about grammer is very helpful to writing article in english.using proper grammer also makes your article more attractive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with you on this completely. Sometimes even if the message in article is really good but there are grammatical mistakes, it ruins the whole reading experience

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True. It does ruin the reading experience. I prefer for others to write in their own language if they cannot write in English well enough because in that way I can use a translator and it might be better except the language that is not included in google translator.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

[Removed comment]

$ 0.00
3 years ago