Please read our communities rules.

3 32
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

As I have promised, I have updated the rules for Share Your Talents (f01d) and Share some thoughts (SST) (89db) communities.

For we are doing the moderating manually, I had made the rules more strict than before. Our communities have been flooded with a lot of articles and some submitted multiple articles in just 15 minutes or an hour. While moderating, we will see the same name over and over again.

If I am not mistaken, to gain more points for an article, we must at least write a minimum of 500 words. Therefore, these communities will be only accepting articles written of more than 500 words. If you are willing to write and spent some time to it, 500 words will be achieved easily. As I am writing right now, I am seeing how many words I currently have using a word counter online.

That means I do not have to count each of the words I am using one by one. I also attach Grammarly to my laptop and phone to help me with my grammar. To tell you the truth I do not have proper use of grammar and punctuation on my own. I use tools that are free to help me with it. If I can and my other moderators also can do it, why can't you? I think it is easy enough.

I did ask for these platforms to be better and they did with the strict way of giving points and all the updates that I need to read over again so I can understand more, therefore I am willing to work hard to earn what they are willing to give. If you have read the rules I just updated, you might think that I am too strict or maybe you will not like it but I will stick to the rules because I want to read good things like the one @Koush submitted in Share Your Talents (f01d) community. His writing made me able to communicate with him and so is @Wakeupkitty. These are the few writers that I get to know form these platforms. I did know @wakeupkitty from before and I know she always leaves comments after she reads, which means she reads, she really reads even though she usually has problems with her internet connection. I just got to know @mgf2394 4 here in this platform and she gave me full support in moderating these two communities. Both of them, sharing their ideas and thoughts with me. That is how we support each other.

One more thing, I do not speak their language and they do not speak mine, without the translator we hardly communicate, which is why I included grammar as one of the important issues in these two communities. Plus, any articles will look better with proper grammar use and will sound better with proper punctuation use.

I also add on some secret ingredients in the new rules but I will not be telling it here because It is secret. I am just joking but there are some secrets in the rules but you have to read all of it to find out.

Our motto: Quality over Quantity

Together we will achieve excellence.

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for heartbeat1515
3 years ago

Comments

I think it's 500 characters not 500 words. But for your community you can definitely make it whatever rules you want.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

After having a discussion with one of my moderators, I change it again to more than 200 words at least. I think we will be updating this step by step until we are comfortable moderating it following what the platforms needs. It seems that getting points is really hard now even after writing or commenting but if it is for a greater cause, I will not give up on writing and moderating. After the new rules, My own articles hardly gets any points. I wonder if I miss any updates regarding these issues.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it's good to keep working on the rules and see what works.

I read more tweets here than on Twitter and feel it only becomes worse. Each time again I advise how or what but only a few accept it. The rest ignores it, hates me but clearly sees it as my task to advise and support every lazy user here. I wonder why they don't do this job. It's easier to let others be the mean person and tell them me I discriminate so you look like a good person?

There are over 300 communities here and there are who are copies of these. For sure those who are not approved in these two already are elsewhere. It doesn't harm any user to set rules since there is plenty of choices and there are communities who can give you all the thumbs-up you need.

If I remember it well word counter.net has Grammarly involved.

Good luck with the rules and moderating.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am using wordcounter.net along with Grammarly to write and read including my comments and replies. I also notice that some of the articles that are detected as original content by @read.cash are detected as plagiarism by Grammarly tools. I rejected the articles at first but then I read an article by one writer that I believe is an original contents writer and found out that the part detected as plagiarized sentences are actually sentences that does not have a proper citation. That is why I included citation issues as one of the rules. Someone comment on my earlier articles regarding citation and I agree with what he said, "Copying sentences from others are still considered as plagiarism even if it is only a sentence". I can't remember who he is. That is why a proper citation is important too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe if it is more than a few words it might be seen as plagiarism but many if we have the same expressions, way if writing and you can not call that plagiarism. If people say Wikipedia says... or the dictionary... It's good enough for me. For sure there is way more plagiarism that cannot be found. This is only an online checker. I didn't read every book in the world. You cannot do more than your best and some will only commit plagiarism and these are the ones who should not be approved.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree with this. I think moderators should not be very lenient in approving articles. It will be unfair to other writers that really writes good content. But there is already an option to write a short post or question so maybe they can use that as long as it is posted to the correct communities.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We are still updating our communities rules through time until we have the suitable ones for our communities. I do hope when others are submitting articles into our communities they read the rules first. If the article is good but not fit into our community, we do suggest other communities that we know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is one of the reasons. Good writers, those who do invest time, are not recognized at all. This besides of the fact - my opinion - a community should stand for something. We no longer have the topics we once had. How to find a good read or something of your interest if each community accepts every line written?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know why people find it difficult to submit articles to the right communities. In a recent article from @read.cash, it is clearly said that your article can only get 20 points from the first community that approves it. So, submitting the same article to multiple communities is pure waste of time as there are no extra points for them. Thanks for those rules on ground.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe because it is easier to simply submit it to all and wait for them to accept. I am glad @read.cash is working hard to solve this problem too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no idea why people find it that hard. So many communities are a problem because you need to visit each of them to read your comments. With me, on my cellphone, I can see three at most but only click on the first two. This means I miss all the other comments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Uuugh at laaaaast, a community that cares about quality of spammed quantity! A big thanks to the moderators for doing this! Still, I'd probably do an article regarding my insights about communities here on read.cash!

qualityoverquantity 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do not worry. I have encountered a few more communities that are fighting for the same course as ours. Communities are still new and upgrades are still under progression, someday things would be much better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For many people, it is difficult to follow rules, these make things easier for you, because it is what is allowed in this case in communities, outside of it it is out of context, users must read the rules that does not take even five minutes , they send a number of articles that do not fit the communities, because they do not read, and these have to be rejected ..., keep writing, your publication is interesting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I myself are having difficulty to follow rules sometimes. Well, rules are not exactly easy things to follows because rules are actually restrictions or limitations. Nobody likes being restricted but if we think about rules again, it is also the things that keep us safe and give standard into our article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bravo! All communities need to be stricter with their rules and I wish authors were as well, before submitting their material.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is hard work and because we chose to do all manually since before the updates, we have a lot of unmoderated articles in our communities. We will catch up soon. Thank God for the OC detector from @read.cash moderating got easier but still, there are some author who wrote only a few lines and submitted their articles repetitively.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A few lines and repeated submissions, yes, I recognise that. It is also coming too much material that is out-of-topic. Only on that ground, I reject about 80%. It can come articles about business strategy to my community about Japanese Art and Culture. It seems many authors submit whatever to any community they can find.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I believe that it is only the first communities that accept will have the points but what will it give to the authors? Will they get extra points for submitting it like that? I believe that most will be rejected if they are out of topics. It will only create a big mess inside the communities.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They will not get extra points, but I'm not sure they understand that. I have discovered that many members have a pretty vague idea about what's giving them points and not. Why otherwise are there so many articles being too short for points, not to mention comments? Many spam comments are less than 60 characters. I don't think they have a clue about those limits, they think everything gives them points.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is the problem with spammers. They do not even read until they notice that their points are not increasing. After noticing, some of them keep on writing about not having any points for their efforts. I find that it is not easy to simply comment on one article because I have to read it properly and sometimes twice before I can comment. Sometimes I misunderstood the articles written and some authors are kind and explain it back to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good move! there are just too many "useless" articles submitted to the group last time when I still can view, some just posted question , some post in language that others dont know and they claim it's share a thought... Rejected quite a lot of these.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought I lost you. How are your communities going? Have you found any other Chinese or Malay writers in this platform? A bit hard to keep up with the submission lately but with our new improved rules, it becomes a bit easier.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha not really found any, in fact also quite shun away from here, less interaction (maybe me myself also lack of commenting others haha). But with the new rules, will still kiv this site :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too. The new rules are challenging but one of your community is in the featured one if I am not mistaken. You'll be busier now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago