Come hike with me to Usa'y lubi!

33 103
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Hiking, Memories, My day

Who's up for another uphill hike? Let me take you with me as I show you one of our hiking destinations in town. Perhaps my camera/photos won't be able to give the true vibrance of the place but still, you can search for it online to see clear and wider view of the ocean while you are at the top of the mountain. You can also watch the video below I provided.

Hiking is one of the most loved hobbies not only of the people here but also those sport's enthusiast or even the common ones who want to enjoy the nature's view and be one with it. This pandemic let us feel boredom everywhere and those who have mental health conditions find it hard to cope with it. As what I observed from last year and until now, people do search for a place where they can hike and relax. Some would even bring tent with them just to spend the night and rest after the hike. That's the reason why hiking destinations here in our area were popping. I never knew they existed if not because of this pandemic.

One potential hiking destination in our town is the Usa'y lubi which means a single coconut or just one coconut. Why do we call it that way? It's because there's only one coconut tree that can be found in the place/in the destination above the mountain. This coconut tree serves as the signature of the destination.

If you need an overlooking view, then Usa'y lubi is what you are looking for.

The town that you can see there below is the the town of Sogod. This is one of the town centers here in the province of Southern Leyte. The rest of the areas that you can see below are the neighboring municipalites within the Sogod Bay. So now, how to get to Usa'y lubi?

First, you need to go to Brgy. Milagroso, one of the barangays found in Sogod for it is the jump-off point. Since Brgy. Milagroso is quite far from the town, you can ride a motorcycle or habal-habal. I am not sure how much the fare was because I used my own motorbike to get there but I am certain it's just below $1.00. So when you are there at the Brgy. Milagroso and you see its barangay hall, then the hike to Usa'y lubi starts.

Our place to Usa'y lubi

As for me, I drove my motorbike from our home, in Paku, Bontoc to Usa'y Lubi. I did not spent for the fare but I spent for the gas which I think is cheaper.

Most of the people who come prefer to hike/walk but I prefer to go there with my bike though the road is kind of rough and stiff. I want to challenge myself if I can really get through it despite how bumpy the road was. Although I used my motorbike to get there, I would recommend if you will just go there through hiking or walking so that you can enjoy the whole destination.

Along the way, you can see vegetation and cogon grass cultivated by the locals there. The cogon grass can be made as roofing material. How amazing that is. Our ancestors used this before the new era came. The cogon grass protects the home from the rain and sun's heat. Well today, there are also families who still use cogon grass for the roofing because it gives them cool air unlike those galvanized iron sheets that are used today. Alright enough with the cogon leaves. Lol.

As I went through it, the road is intensely going up and I feel like the tires in my motorbike find it hard to get through the rough road. But, I am still persistent so I continue and just maintain my balance and focus.

Please don't forget to bring water or food with you for you might get tired and a little bit hungry along the way. For the normal hike, usually it took them 1-2 hours to reach the summit. It depends on your speed anyway. I reached the summit in less than one hour since I used my motorbike.

When I was at the summit, I felt the fresh air around me like embracing my whole body and congratulating me for making it. I also saw the entire view of Sogod bay and the mountain ranges. You can also see there the island of Limasawa. I can't literally tell everything but I can assure that the view is breath-taking. The cogon grass are present again around the summit and there are perfects spots for your tents. I can assure you that this place is perfect especially during night time when you can see night lights from the town while you are above together with your friends enjoying your drinks.

I and my friends did not stay there longer because we have another place to go. We just let ourselves get satisfied with the view while enjoying every smoke of our vapes.

What can you say about the place?

Tell me what places you have hiked into.



Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Hello everyone! If you have some useful tips or guide which can help me improve, you can let me know in the comment section. I may not know all about you now but I am eager to know you deeper. I will work hard so I can be like the amazing writers here. I have talked to some people and they are all amazing.

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and kind sponsors. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Let's get connected!

Photos are mine

|10112021|

@gwapojohn

13
$ 8.97
$ 6.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @Chelle18
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 10
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago
Topics: Blog, Hiking, Memories, My day

Comments

Ganda ng view kahit na nga-iisa lamg ang coconut tree. Hehe. Kung hindi mo sinabing vape yun, pwede siyang akalain na ulap tapos pumose ka lang na kunwari nabuga. Hehe. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome place! I would like to hike there too and see that view for myself. Looks a nice spot for sunset/sunrise.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, who knows one time. ๐Ÿ˜ Indeed, perfect bro. Kaya lang di na kami nag wait ng sunset. Maybe next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh, ang ganda jan oii lalo na yong nasa video, kuhang kuha talaga ang ganda nnong lugar ๐Ÿคฉ. Bat di kau nag overnight sayang naman. Sana na witness nyo din ang sunrise.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes diba? Ganda ๐Ÿ˜‚ beke nemen may entry kayo dyan. Di na po kasi may pinuntahan kami after. Another hiking ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems a cool place to hike, and with great views! Caracas, where I live, is a valley and there are many places to go hiking, however, I haven't done it in a long time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Such a nice place, Caracas. The name speaks for itself. Oh, maybe you can do it one of these days, ma'am when you are not busy. May I ask again where you from? Because I have questions ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from Venezuela, you can ask :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What are the cute names for girls there? Lol. Just want to know because my friend is pregnant and she's asking me for a name suggestion. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In Spanish, there are many beautiful names. But right now I can think of Sofia, Lucia, and my name lol. I like my name, Eliana ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I like Eliana too among the list. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maju man kay laag-laag ra man Manoy.. Sanaol! Daghan man pud untang ka-hike.kan diri, wa lang jud ko'y kauban kay ahung loveydove, busy pa man sa iyang work. Pujo sa laman ko's bay.. HAHA..

Naintriga c.e ko anang Usa'y Lubi.. Ma.search ko nga yan..๐Ÿ˜…โ˜บ๏ธ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mga barkada diay ms. Ren? ๐Ÿ˜ Hahaha e search ms. Ren nindot jod pero lge kapoy pod maong nag motor jod ko oy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nahh, tua na's layong dapit ahung mga barkada Manoy..

Maghuwat na laman ko ug kanus.a magka.time ahung pares para naa ko'y kauban. Masuko pa laman hinuon to.. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paaso man. Daghang lamok?๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

O dghan kaajo kay kabukiran bja hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakamiss tuloy mag hiking hehe ... Ako po laging nag hhiking dahil bundok din po ang aming linalakad bago maka hanap ng cignal๐Ÿ˜‚pero ngayong dito na po kami nag aaral sa maynila,no more hiking na๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, hiking ka pala ng hiking eh haha! Ganyan din samen wala rin signal kaya pisowifi nalang. Aww ganun, oo nga no. Less hiking na jan sa manila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kelan kya ako mkakahik ulit ๐Ÿ˜ try ko next month

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yay! For sure magaganda po hiking spots dyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also think hiking is best done early in the morning. Not too dark, but not to hot naman.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I think of that way too. I like to hike during morning so I can still bear the sun's heat. Come on, let's go!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe that was a cool vape pic, so I want to see the downhill hikes ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Do you vape too sir? Hehe okay, next time I will do the downhill hike. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ka nice ba diha john anang lugara oy๐Ÿ˜Yay!nalipat kog upvote dong๐Ÿคฃokay lang ,sagdi ra๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala ka diha! Sure ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sagdi na oy ,worth it man pud tagaan og 2 ,bitaw nalibat kos .20 na 2 man diay ๐Ÿคฃfamiliar kajo nko ni nahitabo kay naay ouy nalipat sa ako og karon ako napud๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha! Sure ba? Pwede raman i balik ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anay,imo pajung gibalik ,sagdi ra oy๐Ÿ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to go for walks in the countryside. But the sun is so inclement that you have to carry a lot of water. You get dehydrated on the way. What a great bike ride. I like the coconut tree.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, it's so nice to have a walk but the heat these days are unbearable. And you are right, ma'am. Water is needed thus we need to carry everytime we go somewhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not trying to do hiking ever since but it's not too late maybe if I have some time I would like to experience it to spare time with my family or a friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No one's too late for hiking as long as your body can still handle. Hello there! Yes, and you can write the experience here too when you are able to hike with and friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago