What does it mean?

31 59
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

It was difficult for me to say what happiness means. Over time things change according to the way we look at them, the material things that once gave me happiness were ephemeral. The joy I held in them was not in them, happiness was within me and I didn’t know it.

In my youth I was a very independent young woman, a fighter, tenacious and whatever I set my mind to, I tried so hard to the point of physical and mental exhaustion, but after I achieved the things that cost me so much sacrifice, I already had my next project in mind. I did not stop to enjoy what I already had.

From unsplash

Because in my mind I saw everything as already accomplished. I celebrated before I even had it, but there was also the detail that this achievement had to do with the next level of effort.

I know I tried too hard. I learned to be me alone in the world. I learned to be the only person I had to accomplish my goals, I set so many responsibilities for myself that life became so difficult.

But everything has its end, just as I learned to be dependent only on me. I realized that life was going too fast. Just as my careers made me take on too many responsibilities, so life went by too fast and became too short.

Over the years I learned to let go of my careers. To let go, my feeling of belonging and attachment were very strong. I was forced to let go, to release.

I don't know, I think it has to do with the maturity of the years, I stopped running and tried to live a little slower. Enjoying the simple things, not worrying about the things I can't fix, letting the world turn in its own way.

I think all the struggles in life for a goal can be achieved at a good pace and with discipline, but it should not mean sacrificing so much of a person. Just now after so many accomplishments I can realize that I have had a lifetime of work.

I have traveled so much and I have seen so much of my country but it was always while doing something else. I realize that I never had a vacation without having to work, because even on my vacations, I kept working.

But I can say with peace of mind today that many of my efforts were always motivated by my interest in advancing my son's future along with my own. My life became a fight to improve my son's life but at the same time I was very unfair because I always demanded a lot from him.

He doesn’t have my character, he’s not made for strong challenges. But even so, I always encouraged him to keep going, to not stop in the face of adversity. To let him know that I was always there with him.

I did what they didn't do with me, I demanded a lot from him, while they never demanded much from me. I demanded of myself of my own free will. I wanted to have and I got, I wanted to live well and I did.

But I was not happy, not as I would have wanted. I thought happiness was to always have a smile on my face and my happiness changed shape. Happiness was not outside me, it is inside me and I had to look for it and find it.

Today I know that for me happiness is to do what I like and enjoy doing it. It doesn't matter if I am alone or accompanied, my happiness is to feel good without hurting myself or others. My happiness is to be at peace, to be faithful to my beliefs, to live according to my possibilities, without desiring the good of others.

To be happy is to sit in my rocking chair and evoke the moments of joy that I lived with my entire family. To remember my deceased siblings, my old friends who have passed away, to live the days we enjoyed together.

Happiness is not the material good I got, but the friend I managed to keep over the years. My happiness is to be able to have my plants with me, to be able to sow, to be able to give life to new plants and see them bloom. My happiness is now to see my son as he tries to be independent in his decisions.

My happiness is to be able to attend to those who come to me and to be able to give them the knowledge of their diagnoses with the recommendation of the best solution to their illness.

My happiness now is to write the things I want, the things that come from my heart, regardless of whether people like it or not.

My happiness is to be able to help people without asking for anything in return. It’s giving and letting go.

My happiness is the conviction of knowing that I have my God on my side. That while I do not leave Him, He does not leave me. It’s knowing that I will never be alone, even though I am no longer with you, but I am still with Him.

I know that now for me happiness is not buying a house, it’s not buying a car, it’s not having too much money. It’s to feel comfortable with what I have.

And today, although I do not stop having difficulties, although I do not stop facing adversity because everything is still part of life. I can say that I am happy with what I have and who I am.




Thanks to all my reader friends and my sponsors. A very special greeting to my new sponsor @PrincessMae

20
$ 9.37
$ 8.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 15
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

What an inspiring write, friend. And there is nothing like the happiness of being comfortable with who we are. Cheers!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you friend. It is true. The peace of tranquility with ourselves no matter what.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How good that after so many struggles in life you now enjoy your quiet moments with serenity and spirituality. I congratulate you, life is beautiful in spite of all circumstances and should be lived with peace in the heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right sister. There is nothing better than to live... and in peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being satisfied makes us happy in life and until we realize that, we can't be happy. Happiness is a choice and you are the one who thinks happiness is meant for you or not. Doing things we love doing, sharing the best moment and not dwelling much on challenges are ways to be happy. I am glad for all you have today.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The only thing I have today is the love of my family and friends. Nothing material is important anymore. My greatest happiness is to be alive because I was about to lose it. That's why nothing else matters. Thank you for stopping by dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiness is the best medicine for the soul. Now I see that I have repeated my sponsorship with you ahaah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I am renewed with you. Yes, happiness is within us, we should not look for it outside.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a powerful article you have right here, my friend. Happiness comes with contentment also. No matter how challenged you are in any aspect of life, you still manage to look on the brighter side. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best thing for you is you are satisfied. I think nothing is left behind after this nor even anything matters. I have the same thoughts, happiness doesn't mean a luxurious life, happiness is when you are satisfied with whatever you are doing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

How nice. Then it means that you've accepted the things that happen to you every day and that they don't bother you anymore. You accept them as something that had to happen and yet they don't bother you. Move on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As we age, we begin to realize that happiness - I prefer to think of it as joy - is not due to things that are grand, but the very simple things that warms our heart as we do them or experience things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel a lot of happiness, not just joy. In the mornings I wake up grateful. Happy to be alive. And when I go out my door after thanking God I find my little Meme waiting to show me his love. And from here on my heart continues with the happiness of going to my garden and seeing how many flowers my plants have given me. This reminds me of when I was young in body and felt in love. Nothing troubles me, nothing frightens me, only God is enough.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What a beautiful sentiment...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A greatest happiness in life. We have a lot of different things that we can define that give us an endless happiness. The things that purely give a smile in our heart.

The things that bring us to have a joyful moments. You're right maam, happiness is not based on the things which is expensive but the things that make us comfortable. We can say this is it, the greatest joy I have.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is good to enjoy day by day all the things we have. From the simplicity of the moment we will obtain the greatest happiness in our heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you're absolutely right maam gertu. Simple things give us greatest happiness in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our meaning and interepretation of happiness changes over time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agreed. And with the circumstances of each of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gratitude always soothes the soul, my friend!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is always refreshing for the soul.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting article loves it, for me, I don't run to do something like that, I love to exercise patience a lot in the process, look at the outcome of the results. I believe satisfy myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is the most important thing. What makes you happy yourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whatever the result will be, we still have to be grateful and blessed whether it is a success or not. I also think of the result of my plan sometimes in advance and I always keep pushing myself to my limits where in fact I can slow down and take my time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. I learned that over the many years of life. I am pleased that you already have it in your heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suddenly remember this quote I posted on noisecash before.

Let's count our smiles, not tears. And blessings, not difficulties 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. I like that. Before I only counted my triumphs, but over time I learned to count my failures. And to feel good about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this one. I'm also the type of person who already think the outcome of something and I will do everything just to make it true and satisfy myself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all think differently but sometimes there are people who think some things the same way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pure happiness is when you are satisfy whatever outcomes happened to my life. That's for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am pleased that this is the case. To always be joyful and grateful. I am glad that you have understood. It took me a long time to understand it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago