The memory of a yesterday.

41 65
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Greetings friends of this great family, I'll you something that I just remembered and it is from my real life. It happened that when I was a little girl of about 8 or 9 years old. I was a terrible child, I would get into so much mischief at home that my mother would be tormented by it and when my dad would come home my mom would tell him the whole story and I would end up getting beaten by his belt, the one my dad wore on his pants.

As time went by I remember how he would take off his leash so quickly.  I remember later, as an adult, that he resembled a TV cartoon called Sinbad the Sailor. This was a young man who was very thin, a typical teenager and when there were obstacles on his ship he pulled his belt and became a big strong man and managed to end all the injustices around him. Hahaha, only in my case it was the other way around.

From unsplash

My father wanted to finish me off by giving me so many blows on my legs that they were bruised. You know what? The physical wounds he left on my body were not as much as the wounds he left on my heart. I hated him, I hated him so much. You can't imagine what it's like to hate a father, for all the beatings he gave me. All that was for my correction as they believed, my parents, but it was not so.

He could only traumatize me with so many blows, I learned nothing, he only intimidated me, and I lost respect for him forever. I grew up hating my father.

It was much later over the years that I myself felt that the hatred was killing my life and I started to forgive myself, and then I went to forgive him and he forgave me.

You know what? It was the best thing I ever did in my whole life. From there I learned to forgive everyone. I don't forget, no, I can't forget but the thought doesn't hurt me anymore. I forgave from the bottom of my heart and I freed myself.

That is why I always tell you that you can forgive those who hurt us, from the depths of our heart and release the mental burden that you carry inside and that weighs so much. Remembering is another thing, like forgetting what hurt you so much and traumatized you for almost half of your life, it is impossible to forget.

So, I was telling you that I was very terrible, you know? I used to climb the fruit trees of my house. I taught my two younger brothers to climb, I always went ahead to make sure that the branches would hold my body and their bodies too.

Little by little I was training them and teaching them the things of life because I was the oldest, but you know something, the time came when I could not continue with the task of being a big brother and I had to take care of being a big sister, a woman. I hated that moment and the changes it brought about in me. I could no longer climb trees, jump rocks, fight with my brothers until we rolled on the ground. No more, never again.

My characters as a woman began to develop very quickly and my younger brother took over doing the things I did, now he was in charge. This was a change for me that also bothered me because I wanted to continue being the boss and I couldn't. Hehehe, things of life.

My dear friends, the things one remembers as time goes by. I am laughing and enjoying my memories as I share this with you.

Part of my life from my past has been forever reflected in these pages of this community.

Thank you for your comments my dear readers.

I'm @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

25
$ 4.80
$ 3.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.06 from @Mohsin-786
+ 21
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Beating is not the only act of discipline. Though I envy you for forgiving him even with the trauma you had. Forgiveness truly sets the heart free and I hope one day I'll also be free and reminisce on those moment without tears filled heart

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are only two outcomes of disciplining a child, either the child will grow with respect or the child will grow with so much hatred. But we all know that it depends on how the parents discipline their children. But too much aggressive kind of discipline can leave a huge truama to a child that will forever hunt them as they grow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At times, as grown ups, we have a reflection and miss those times, the past, sadly is the past, bruises might not last, even some pains do leave, but at the most unexpected of times, our memories reminds us. We never can forget, but at least we can forgive, forgive those that hurt us, and put our memories of yesterday behind us, and most importantly move on with our lives. That's just the actual logic of life... Nice write-up momma

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was something that I really wanted to hear I too am carrying a burden in my heart that weighs me down. I want to get rid of it but everytime I try to do it, people start annoying me again. I don't know what to do. By the way i feel so bad for you. I am happy that you forgave your father. We must learn from these things and should never treat our kids the way we were treated

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Once we learn to forgive, nothing weighs us down. I hope you can resolve this conflict and remember that the solution lies in yourself, not in others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you I will

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yupp!!! I am also beaten much by my uncle. But my dad was very kind on us. Unfortunately we can't live much with him because he died when I was just 7 years old

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm sorry , heartache for the losses of our loved ones are hard to overcome .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's just a part of growing up. Kids love adventures you know and it doesn't always translate to mischief. It's great you forgive him and how that thought you a lesson to forgive everyone. I bet that's one of the best lessons you've ever learnt.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is the best lesson of my life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The most important thing is to forgive ourselves first to drop the burdens and then we can forgive to anyone. My father was strict to us, but never hit us. That would have been drove us God knows where as children.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, violence only generates violence.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are always experiences in the past or in our childhood that makes us laugh when we remember them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's very true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol,I was just like you too in my childhood. I and my brothers used to mimick WWE superstars. I was the undertaker back then while the other two were Shawn Michaels and triple H 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

hahaha you made me laugh, how happy we were in spite of the mistreatment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. Triple H got seriously hurt one day amd cried till day returned in the evening and the undertaker (me) was punished 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😆😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's just all about our histories and past memories as toddlers when we were formally with our parents and all they taught us during those periods down to the time we've become adult. Most times, it's just all about the learning process that never seem to end at all

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It's true, the whole of life is just a school where we go through and never graduate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think most of us have been hit by our fathers, well, mothers as well. But, growing up I realize that is their way of parenting and disciplining us. However, I would not do that to my children, if I am given a chance to have. Forgiveness is a crucial key for inner and outer peace.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

One cannot live with the weight of hatred.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our childhood memories can be worst but moments with parents are most remindful. You did great job to decide forgiveness for your father. Sometimes father punish us so that world not punish you on same mistake. Wao you are giving training to your brothers for climbing on tree.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I trained them for that and much more. hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear sister @gertu13 you did a great job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel blessed to have a dad who love me more than his life and always take care of me Try to forgive you dad but don't trust him again and don't think to with him again but at least forgive me :-)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Good thing you have a loving father, enjoy it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have been wonderful still even while reading your memories. You wanted to make your siblings stronger by leading the front and I remembered too my Dad uses belt or wire to beat the hell out of us, but I learned though because when he finish beating, he will ask us, "why do you think I beat you?" When we say it, he will embrace us and warn us not to repeat it and that was all.

In everything we try to adjust in our lives, forgiveness is so important. Thank you ma

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is the big difference between hitting to educate and hitting for stupidity. Not speaking up and saying things teaches nothing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You took the right step in your life, there are much more better ways to correct a child over their mistakes and not by inflicting injuries on them all in the name of telling them what's right. I am so happy that you got to realize that keeping your father in your heart will only worsen the situation. Just forgiving him has brought a great healing on you. Hope you don't treat your kids the way he did.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I have only one son, he is already 21 years old and the only thing he reproaches me for is that when I get upset with him I talk too much.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Take it easy with him. He's growing into a man gradually, so you should find more better ways to correct him when he does anything wrong. Talking too much will only get him more angry.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehehe, no, I don't think so. He already has a joke for that. "Mom, don't chain yourself up please." He's already a man and I'm proud of what he is. I can never stop stretching, I can't, it's me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha.... Mom and son thing, no one can actually come in between them. Happy family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a wonderful God we have. He blessed us with a sharp mind to recollect the memories we shared with our loved ones.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

yes it is rigth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At all you enjoyed very muche yesterday with father and you visiting some wonderful clicks of the natural beauty and he's always attract me best wishes for you sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago