My story of freedom.

23 41
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

I have been invited to write about freedom. Should I write about my life? All my young adult years I decided to live it freely. I grew up in a family where the prevailing regime was military style, and not because my father was a military man but because rules and discipline of the household was very strict.

In a way I don't think anything he did was with evil intentions, he just liked to feel the power and that we all obeyed him, including my mother. He was a protective father but didn't want to have too much responsibility and left it all to my mother.

But I have to thank God that he allowed me to have this kind of upbringing, with my personality still not very well defined and until I was liberated. So let me tell you about this thing that happened to me just when I finished my nursing career.

From unsplash.

I went to work in another state. The health authorities of another state paid us graduates who accepted half a normal salary so that when we finished our studies we would fulfill a 1 year health contract. I accepted it, first because they paid me and second because I would be going away from home to be free.

I left and then I started working, earning my money, making my own decisions, paying my expenses, buying my food, washing, ironing and all that living away from home entails.

I liked it. I didn't want to live as a slave to other people's thoughts anymore and of course everything came at a price.

After living 18 months alone without family I had to return home for things and events that required me to come back. But I was no longer the same, what had to happen happened, I could no longer be the same and blindly abide by my father's impositions and life became different.

My father no longer had power over me. I worked, I supported my home, and I had to work as much as I needed to meet all my needs. After a few months I bought my first car and remained free.

I no longer cared whether my father liked my life or not. He decided to buy a house in the country and wanted to take my mother with him and she did not accept. She stayed with us and, in her own way, she also got to know a little bit of life without my father's authority.

From unsplash

Just when I turned 18 years old I felt that now I could start to be a free woman and since then I lived as many adventures as I could. I made as many decisions as roads I had to cross.

I traveled many roads, the ones I never knew, towns and cities. I learned to relate to many people, it cost me, because in most of my life I was a very introverted girl. How else was I supposed to act? My father taught me not to have friends, while he had all the friends in the world. He taught me not to talk to anyone while he talked to everyone wherever he went. He taught me not to lie while he lied to everyone in front of his children.

All of this was in my head like a volcano wanting to erupt. It was impossible for friendship not to exist if I met good people, and I still keep them as my family of life.

It was very, very hard for me to talk to people outside the hospital, outside the patients. And this was one of the things that taught me to engage in conversation with strangers. Yes, working with patients helped me to have confidence in myself, to have confidence in others. To have a lot of friends, but I still lacked the ability to release the pressure I feel when I'm in crowds. I isolate myself, I feel trapped among people who are like monsters, but even that I was learning to control.

My life was full of bad decisions, worse decisions and good and extraordinary decisions. I learned not to complain about what I did wrong. I learned to move forward even when mistakes told me I was going wrong, but I had to assume my responsibilities for what I had done and moving forward was the right thing to do.

I learned that life is full of challenges and that, depending on our vision of the future, I would take my own path to follow.

All my good, bad and regular decisions led me to be who I am today. An extremely strong woman, with a new passion which is to write everything that comes out of my mind. I became a woman who learned to be free with responsibilities and open to changes, I learned to be grateful for everything, every episode I lived, I learned to be happy in my own way.

I learned to be free under many terms and also under many restrictions. Because freedom also has its limits, there are barriers to bear, but in freedom you can live better with yourself and with others.

That's why I love free writing. I can write and put down on paper my life and then go back to read and find part of my thoughts and part of my life written on paper.

I was invited to write about freedom by @heartbeat1515 and participate in the @JonicaBradley challenge and here I am with part of my life, free for everyone to read.

13
$ 29.15
$ 28.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 9
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

Glad that you are able to join in. I can understand the feelings of wanting to be able to make your own decisions. I also meet people that action is different from what they say. It is indeed a good experience for me too and it made me who I am today.

The only freedom that I do not have now is financial and transportation. Once this is solved in few more years then I will be totally free.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Freedom is a feeling, if the writing is full the writer can achieve his freedom in his lines. Great publication. Regards friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your comment but I'm not sure I understand what you meant. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you've learned to fly on your own and left your nest from the tyrant father. Now you are absolutely on your own. I am proud of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lived with my mother for many years. She died and then my father, now very old, came to live alone here in my mother's house and I had to come back to look for him again. Here he died of old age and with his illnesses, but all his children always looked after him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good way of showing love and respect to a father no matter how strict he was or how rude he was to you during your childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really true. No matter what they do they are our parents and they deserve that we forgive them and ourselves, otherwise we will never have peace in our hearts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you. ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Freedom comes with great responsibility. That's where we learned who we are and who we want to be. I don't know if I fully achieved freedom in my life, maybe of few aspects. I guess because I am leaving with parents in the same roof. Someday I will, just like you, acquire my freedom and speaks for it. For now I will keep your words in mind. Thank you so much for sharing and taking the challenge. I already read I guess 6 or 7 articles about this challenge, maybe I should take this challenge too. 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It would be great if you could join the challenge. It's nice to read the stories we've been through and grown in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have taken the challenge tonight and got published. I hope you'll visit and leave few words for me. I will be looking forward to it. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will, I will read you. I am starting to read the posts and comments all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much I really appreciate it. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is humbling to read stories like yours because I was privileged enough not to have gone through what you did, to fight for what you have. Please accept my deep admiration and gratitude for you and the openness to share your journey to achieving freedom.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Each person has his or her own lot in life. God does not give burdens to any human being that a person cannot bear. We must only have the strength to discern and dare to do things, learning from the failures and proudly carrying the triumphs. I am not writing this so that no one will feel bad, it is so that people will feel a stimulus to move forward. I am sorry if I made you feel bad, my apologies for that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I totally agree that we are never given burdens that we cannot bear. And no, this post did not make feel bad, in that sense, so no need to apologize. What it made me feel was grateful because sharing your experience made me appreciate the life I've had to live so far, even with my share of challenges. Your fortitude is inspiring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much for your words. I will also read your article and leave my comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was a wonderful depiction of freedom. Yes, freedom to do what you want, but that it also comes with responsibilities, and mistakes along the way.

It is a good thing to recognize that all of the decisions, good, bad, and regular add up to the woman you are today.

I'm glad you're here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to meet you, we are women fighters, entrepreneurs and overcoming childhood traumas. Success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I'm very pleased to have met you as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was nice to know a bit more about you and to know how you became free. There is nothing better, than make your own decisions, your own money and live the way you want as long as you are responsible. I am sure you are. Nice read.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Join the challenge and write about your freedom. I would like to read what you think and write about freedom. Go to @jonicabradley 's post and I will read you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already have an article about freedom. Titled "Freedom And Love"

$ 0.00
2 years ago