My rational fears

6 33
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

You ask me about my fears and I tell you that my fears throughout my life have been changing. I remember when I was an infant I was afraid of many insects and domestic animals. I learned to fear everything for no reason.

It wasn't until I became an adult that I left many fears behind as I learned to face them and stop being afraid of them. But exactly I learned more to stop fearing insects and animals when I started writing on the platforms.

When I got closer to the spiders and took pictures of their legs, their eyes, and their beauty, in macro photography, and tried to know more about them by reading about the peculiar characteristics of each species I met. Then I began to respect and love them, which allowed me not to be afraid of them anymore.

I hated toads to the point that I was terrified of them and could not see them because I would call someone to get rid of the toads and frogs.

The photograph is from unsplash

Once I had a kind of snail plague in my garden that was killing all my plants and luckily I read something about toads. I learned that they eat snails and because of my need to kill the snails. I read a lot about frogs and toads. Today they are my friends and I am no longer afraid of them, they live in my garden in harmony with my plants. I must say that they put an end to the snail plague.

I must say that I had a family of toads but during the rainy season the toads disappeared, and I no longer have them in my garden.

Over the years I am no longer afraid of insects or animals, my greatest fear is heights, enclosed spaces, and the immensity of the sea. I can't stand airplanes, the thought of having my feet on a false floor makes me panic, I immediately sweat, and tachycardias affect me.

I like to see the sea and its beauty but when I go to try to swim I am overcome by a feeling of ignorance of what is happening under the water and I panic, I go back to the shore, my thoughts are my worst enemies.

Claustrophobia invades me when I have an MRI for my health check-ups.

I can no longer control these fears the way I want to. During the MRI when they put me in the tunnel with the noise that the equipment makes, I try to think of beautiful things to endure the study time but it is a nightmare to stay there for such a long time.

These three fears I still can't channel these to leave behind the effect they have on my mind and body. This time reading about those subjects makes me much more afraid. If you know of any methods that will help me eliminate these fears I will gladly practice them.

Today I wrote about my fears thanks to @Coolmidwestguy invitation, if you want you can do the same and write about her fears reading in the publication... https://read.cash/@Coolmidwestguy/am-i-scared-of-anything-312b0c69#comment-470a0ed6

Thank you friend @Telesfor for your continued support.

3
$ 0.39
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 1
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

I wish I had the answers to help you with your fears. Thanks for taking these on.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you 😊 the intention counts with wanting to help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'll share another fear of mine that was induced, let me explain. When I was much younger and needed money to go out and party I would donate my plasma for cash. One time they stuck me wrong and I ended up with a long bruise up and down my arm. It hurt a little bit to. After that incident I feared needles that drew blood. I get sweaty and nervous and have almost passed out giving blood. I always tell them and they usually accommodate me by having me laying back. I can't watch either. Also the tape and cotton ball will stay on my arm until it falls off.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is a common fear in many patients. There are those who faint but it is all mental because the needle does not give unbearable pain. I was pricked as many times as they could to the point that my veins were no longer useful. They collapsed for a while. Since I received treatment for cancer. That didn't scare me. My veins healed over the weeks. I could take my veins myself to administer a medication. I used to. What scares you scares me nothing and vice versa. I am sorry for your fears.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm good with my fears I don't live with them everyday. Tell me you are better now, cancer free.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I already have 12 years of that. I got healed from that colon cancer but now I have them on my skin. In spite of all that I am not afraid hehe I'm glad you can live in peace with those fears.

$ 0.00
1 year ago