My opinion as a doctor

21 55
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Greetings friends all, I hope you are having a better day today. Today I want to tell you about a case that has worried me a lot about a patient to whom I performed an ultrasound study. I do not know how it’s in your countries but here the patients were treated with much nobility and love. I have and keep memories of when I trained as a doctor because I had a group of professors who were concerned that the mystique of the doctor should not be lost.

Of course, there are all kinds in the Lord's vineyard. There are good and bad people everywhere. I cannot say that it should not be like that just because we are physicians, no, I cannot say it because we are human beings first and foremost and anyone can sin.

If a human being has no feelings or empathy for the pain of others, he can never be a human being and as a complement a medic and human being with a good heart.

From unsplash

I have been very lucky because the times I have needed a colleague to take care of me, he has done it very well and I have improved one hundred percent. I can't say for some of the patients I have referred for hospital care. I can't say that they have been cared for properly and were fortunate enough to encounter good treatment.

Almost a week ago I was able to treat a patient and I indicated to the relatives that she should be treated and hospitalized, but they were unlucky enough to encounter the precarious situation that my country is going through. The doctors they went to did not hospitalize her and sent her home with a diet as if she were suffering from an inflammation of the stomach or colon.

My diagnosis as an ultrasound doctor was of no use to them, they took her back several times and today the patient has not been hospitalized yet and they only treat her for the emergency.

Do you know what it is to feel pity? When someone commits a fault and the other person feels pity or pain because that person made a grotesque mistake… That is what I feel today.

I feel a terrible pain in my heart because it’s impossible by medical ethics for a patient to go to a hospital for help and for more than 4 times they send her back home because they say whatever they want and do nothing.

I know that the patient had been suffering from pain for a long time but that is no reason to keep leaving her in pain, in an endless back and forth and not give her a definitive diagnosis to help her get better. Many of you will feel reflected in what I am saying, but I cannot say that this is the way it was before, the way being treated here was.

I believe that the pandemic, instead of bringing out the best in people, has allowed the worst to come out. My country is falling apart, little by little from the bottom, undermining the foundations and reaching the top to end a health system that I was proud to belong to. With all that is happening now, know that I feel very hurt in my heart and my hands are tied.

Why? Because while I strive to do what is humanly possible and find a good diagnosis to help my fellow man, others who are on the other side of the health care system are allowing everything to go down the drain.

Friends, excuse me but I had to drain myself by writing what my heart feels. Knowing that my patient has not yet been cared for as God's law and the law of medical practice commands. I feel helpless and sad that I did the best I could to diagnose and the others in several of the larger hospitals in my city still have not agreed to help this lady who could be anyone's mother, sister, aunt.

I feel that we are very far from healing as a country, that my land is becoming more and more a place without repair, with dehumanized people without feelings.

I only ask God to touch the heart of someone who is an authority in a hospital center and save the life of this lady who needs it today.

Thank you, my dear ones, for reading and leaving your comments. I love you all.

I'm @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

12
$ 3.34
$ 2.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 10
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Woah, what kind if hospital is that? it's their duties to take care of the patient yet they let them back home?? That was so.sad..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for your visit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes.. always 💚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is very sad to read this friend, but the situations of the country have changed a lot, some things for good and others for bad, but it seems that the most abundant are bad things. With the pandemic there have also been more cases of malpractice not only in hospitals, but also in the world of music, there are many people who continue to teach but they do not do it for love or do not treat their students well, but they treat them badly and it hurts me to know this.

I have always thought that the health part is important, because it is what helps us to stay alive, if we feel bad, if something hurts us or if we have an accident we go to a doctor, to have a pain and not know how to treat it and go to the doctor to be treated badly is horrible.

Some time ago Luis had tripped over a buried sod that we hadn't seen, it bent and swelled his foot. We waited for hours at his house to see if the swelling would go down but nothing happened, then I got a strange pain that I could not move one arm, so after thinking about it a lot we went to the doctor, they left us waiting for a long time even though there were no people there and then when they attended us, they did not even take 5 minutes with us, nor did they check us well, Luis was told to put his foot in cold water and then in hot water, and I was told that in a while what I had would go away. Without touching us or giving us any description of anything.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That is the exercise that grieves me. What is happening is a total degeneration of the guild and its praxis. God help us in this beautiful country of ours in decline.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is quite shocking and unpleasant to read of... Could it be the woman can't afford the healthcare she deserves or there is no issue on her part? Did you give her the results to take to the doctor so she's admitted in the hospital or the doctor(s) ignored that still and still decided she should go home?

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Today, with the pandemic, we are seeing these cases of despotism and dehumanization.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Instances like this are quite common in my country. The nurses are mostly the culprits. Sometimes the doctors are always disgruntled that they are not adequately renumerated compared to other professionals and workers in government, this would mean not raking their job seriously,. The truth is that most of them studied medicine just as an escape route out if poverty, but when they realised that there's not much money in the professional due to the corruption of the government. They'd lost the passion for the noble course in the long run, making their patients suffer. Some doctors transfer the aggression on the nurse by talking to them anyhow as if they were their slaves. And the nurses in turn lash out on the sick.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

This situation is very saddening.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is one of the major issues we are having in this our country Nigeria where many patients die everyday with regard to not having ant Monet to afford their medical bills and as such end up on the wrong side of life which is death due to lack of money to get proper medical care. I guess these whole thing should be put to a stop at all cost so we can save more lives period!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I have no words to express my frustration about this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope that all medical workers will have a big heart to help those people who needs special care to their health by not after the money they will received but they will after the good service to his/her fellowmen.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

May it be so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A doctor is not good for sure. But yeah they should use each and every skills in diagnosis and understanding of patient health. I am happy you will attached with medical professors and also observed things as care taker. I also hurt to hear when a patient is in pain and doctor sent her to home without any solution.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

It is worrisome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First I am happy to know you are okay now Gertu🙂. If I were you I would feel the same too. That feeling that you are trying your best to help yet other are opposite.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get you. Your profession is all about helping people, so it will hurt to see people of the same cloth standing by to watch patients suffer when they could help

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for your comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Praying that all tge medical workers will do their job well.Im sad of what happend to that lady ,hopefully no one will experienced that thing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago