My friend Maria.

35 72
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

She and I met when we were studying in school to become nurses. We were very excited about the future we would have, everyone who studied with me wanted to have prominent futures, some wanted to continue studying and others wanted to get married and have a family with a husband and children. This was what my friend Maria wanted for her future.

Although I can't lie, at one time I also wanted to have my own family and children, but then other interests came my way and I changed my mind. I decided to go the long way, but this is another story for now we’ll continue with my friend.

We were very young when we graduated. We went with a scholarship given to us by another state, for 6 months of half pay and then we went to work for them for a year contract.

From unsplash

There my friend fell in love and there she also had her first disappointment in love. We went through many exciting situations, work, friendship, dating and fond memories, but after 18 months I decided to return home again.

And my friend Maria did too, she came here eventually and she found another love. They got married but she couldn't have children. She had two abortions and then nothing, so the next thing she decided to do was to adopt a child and so she did. She was very happy raising this child who for her, he is her treasure.

But then came the hard times, the husband was living a double life, with a pregnant woman in another place. My friend found out about it and that's how long their marriage lasted. They separated and since the son they had was adopted, my friend was left to take care of him, while her adoptive father was left taking care of the other couple she had with her own son.

My friend was always an enterprising woman and was able to support herself and her son very well... until one day she confessed to him that she was not his biological mother.

What could have gone through this sweet boy's brain at this moment? To then become a terrible boy at the age of 10?

His demeanor changed, he became rude, started to hang out with bad boys, he stopped being at home and just wanted to be on the streets, eventually became a drug dealer at the age of 15, he drank and went out wherever he wanted and didn't even take his mother's advice into account.

He became a different person, rebellious, rude, despot. He paid with his mother, the one who adopted him since he was a baby, for his biological mother's bad deed of throwing him away.

My friend went through such difficult situations because the young man even stole from her belongings. My friend decided to put him in jail, the police came to her apartment and she turned him in. She told him that there was nothing more she could do and she gave him all of heis own belongings to take with him.

She tells me that one day, as the years went by, she was walking through the center of the city, where the area of legal businesses and street vendors is... and there she saw him. He had a small table with small things for sale on it.  His mother came up to him and said... "This is what you wanted to do with your life? You had everything I could give you, private schools, clothes, food, toys, all my love and you decided to do what you are doing now"

They made peace and she invited him home for a visit, but she no longer wants him back because she knows how far he can go to make her life miserable.

He is now 25 years old and tells her he wants to leave the country. My friend helps him to go to Peru. He wants to develop himself somewhere else and my friend supports his decision. She sells some important machinery from her house and gives him the money to leave.

He has been out of his country for more than a year. He tells his mother that he is sorry for all the wrong he did to her, he doesn't want to go back to his country because he doesn't want to look for anything her, but he remembers his mother's love as the most important thing in his life.

My friend is alone in her house, no husband, no children, she still works but not as a nurse. She has already retired, but the money paid by the ministry to retirees and pensioners is not even enough to buy food for a week so my friend works as an independent businesswoman and gets paid in US dollars.

The question comes to my mind... what makes a child change his behavior from adorable to rebellious after such a revelation from their adoptive parents? Why did he decide to forget all the love he was treated with all his life and treat badly the only being who was faithful, honest and gave him all her motherly love?

You have to put yourself in that young man's place and try to understand what went through his brain when he went from being a beloved son to being an adopted and loved son.

I believe that the thought of his adoption carried more weight than the love that my friend gave to him.

Now my friend is alone, we get together to talk from time to time, but she has her siblings who adore her, her nieces and nephews and her still productive life.

But I am sad to no longer see the son she cared for all her life as a baby, infant and teenager.

These are things that happen in life that we never imagined would happen. When two 16-year-old girls entered that school to make their destiny, they never imagined that behind a life of commitment, of work, of giving so much love, we would have lives with different stories to tell, she alone as a mother and wife and I with the company of my beloved son, both with many anecdotes to tell.

Thanks to all of you my dear readers and sponsors, for always being there.

22
$ 10.59
$ 9.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 13
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

When you have adopted children, the question always arises whether or not to tell the truth. There are many factors in favour of remaining reserved about telling the truth. In a 10 year old child you have to take into consideration that stage where there is no emotional maturity yet, and then the approaching adolescence without a father, it is difficult to cope without the professional help of a family psychologist. Interesting content to reflect on the subject.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The worst part of the case is that he had professional help but he gave in to rebellion. I think the child should grow up knowing that he is adopted but is still loved by his adoptive mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only thing I think you can do is to be careful and watchful friends do stab from the back least when not expected to after the trust and all they can rebellious against you for me i would say you can only trust yourself and your money...✅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder why some people turns rebellious when they know they were adopted like why? If foster parents love and cared for them why would they rebel instead of being grateful? I cannot grasp it, indeed people has different way of approach into certain situations..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think it's something deeper than those of us who haven't been through it can understand. It is the feeling of belonging that is one of those that is immediately broken. And something stronger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a shame that the boy got lost moved by who knows what feelings. But it has always seemed to me that adoption shouldn't be hidden from children. It's better if they know the truth when a little child. I'm very sorry for your friend because from what you say she was a good mother. Maybe in the future, they can reunite.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think the very intention to adopt already says all the love she had to give as a mother. I too hope that in time he will decide to reunite with her.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To understand more, boys are more furious and I think I understand the boy why. I don't know but I felt the guilt inside telling him that he was adopted, things become miserable because of hatred. He thinks he was already been abandoned and the world hates him for being who he was. So he find his way to the hell side.

Young man are very secretive by the way. I was one so I knew. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He couldn't stand the idea of not knowing this information from a young age. I think these things are very sensitive and should be told as a baby. He should know that he is adopted but that he was chosen to give him love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was very upset for your friend, how much she has been bothered all these years and finally she is alone, me and my husband are also planning to adopt a child in the future and your article was very useful, I think with these interpretations, mother and father should tell the child from childhood that he isn't their biological son. thank you 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also believe the same. The child should know that he/she was chosen out of love to be your child but that his/her biological parents are others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe he might have a second thought on these whole events and how everything turned out really amazed me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. I believe that only he has in his heart the answer to all this that he himself did.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think to my own opinion, your friend shouldn't have revealed that to him. Probably allowing him to become grown up and be independent on his own, then she can now explain it to him. I don't think he would want to misbehave in such a way especially when he has a good job with him. When your friend explained that she wasn't the biological mother, he must have had different thought that since he doesn't have a family, he should be on his own and live his life in such bad ways My own opinion though.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

People are sometimes bad. My friend's neighbors knew he was adopted. She was afraid someone else would break the news before she did. It just all went wrong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad that your friend has a happy ending without economic needs for her enterprise and with all the affection of her family, siblings and nephews.

I think the bad seed is always there, it just needs a small event to bring out the fruit it carries inside, that child was a bad thankful and your friend perhaps did not know how to raise because she gave him many things to fill her own emptiness. All the adoption cases I know and have heard about almost always follow the same pattern.

Life of many twists and turns that surprise us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

But my friend is still convinced that he is going through a stage of immaturity. She says he was always a great guy until he was traumatized by the information his mom gave him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's unfortunate how things turned out. Maybe someday he will think twice about what he did and will reconcile with his mother. I just hope that it's not too late for both of them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He reconciled. He asked for forgiveness. But he tells her that he will never return to this country. He has not yet reconciled with himself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think he changed after realizing that she isn't his biological mom so he can live his life anyhow he wants but he shouldn't have done that rather he should have made plans to help the woman.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is difficult to understand what was behind that mind troubled by the pain of knowing that his birth mother gave him away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it would be difficult for him to understand but he should have at least think that someone brought him up in a good way and loved him so he should just stick to that person and continue his life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I respect your opinion but I cannot judge so lightly. Because first I am a scientist and I think something happened to his mind that he could not handle that information. My friend loves her son just the way he is and I can't help but support him even though he was wrong. Someday he will get that trauma out of his mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice read. Sorry to hear about your friend but then she must be lucky to have you as her friend as you both are still in touch. The boy got to know that he is adopted at a very young age, at 10, may be that's why he became repulsive.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We have a lot of being friends. I think he should have known about it long before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a sad story 😢 the adopted son should even be grateful that he was raised well by his foster parent. But it's not too late yet to become a son to her . what will happen to your friend if she gets sick? No one will take care of her 😢

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He decided to make his life in another country. She has siblings who look out for her and also many friends. She was already in very bad health several years ago and everyone helped her to save herself. I didn't know until now that she got sick many years ago.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a sad story. Makes one wonder whether it pays to be good. The people that were closest to her heart caused her the most pain

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If we care about people, they will cause us harm, but if we do not care about them, nothing they do will cause us harm. We must always act in good faith.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope he reunites with her mom as she's getting older. It would be better if he spends his life with his mom as a sign of gratitude or giving back for taking care of him when he was still an infant. I hope he realizes that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pray to God for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friend, so the pc is fully recovered?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, my friend. Totally useful. I have been publishing from there ever since. Thanks for asking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not easy to let go of a kid you have sent your time to raise, even though it's adoptive. The son should have not left like that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

She never cared that he was adopted. She loves him as much today as she did when she adopted him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago