Misunderstandings

31 66
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Greetings to all of my dear readers.

Have you ever misunderstood the words that other people have said to you? I hope not... it happens to me very often, whether reading messages in another language or speaking in my mother tongue which is Spanish.

It is common in my life that people want to say something that I interpret in my own way. I have a very volatile mentality, I go very fast to the future. Many times my thoughts are not the most accurate and I conclude with a wrong idea.

Recently a person wanted to help me and left a comment on one of my posts about my little cat. I misunderstood his message, after I was translated with my “trusty” online translator, once the message was translated the sentences had a bad wording, as a result I misunderstood and I ended up feeling offended. I immediately replied, not in a rude way because I always try to not be rude, and I just ended explained in a very harsh way my point of understanding... and it was all wrong.

Then I involved a third person who also wrote something that was mistranslated. I also replied inadequately, until I understood... I was very sad about what happened thinking that I had been treated badly in the comments and I told my son, who knows English, he immediately read the comments and told me that they had been translated badly.

At that point I just became much sadder, because I wrote my point of view to people who just wanted to help me and I was just misinterpreting everything…

You can't imagine how much I cried when I felt I was treated badly and then I cried even more when I realized, thanks to my son, that I had misunderstood everything. I cried until my nose was stuffed up and as red as Santa's reindeer nose.

Then I went back to my post and apologized one by one to the two people who want to help me. I had no words to apologize.

See? I made a whole movie out of thinking beyond what I should have.

From Unsplash

But the wrong was done, the words were written. The answers were given. Now what should I do with my shame? I have no choice but to move on, to learn from this, think well what I am going to say after reading something I don't like.

From this I have concluded that... the tools we use online and serve as translators don't always get it right.

It’s not always the best decision to answer immediately when I feel aggrieved.

It’s always good to think coldly about the situation and then yes, pick up with a more focused head and respond.

I don't like confrontations, but sometimes I myself bring them about, with my misunderstandings. It is one of the things that over the years I have not been able to overcome.

Maybe this way of understanding some things that people say, apart from the bad translation, is because of my mind. I have always been a realist but my mind is very fanciful, hence my stories. My mind can recreate many situations in a single story I tell.

And to think that I am not one of those who watch novels on TV but it must be my subconscious from when I was very young. I keep in my mind the novel formats and from time to time I create things that are not.

But I ask myself now and I ask you the question... have you ever misinterpreted the spoken or written words that someone has said to you? Anyone, be it a friend, family or a public servant.

Because it happens to me all the time to the point that I think I think I'm strange to the rest of the world. So this is a good opportunity to find out if there are other people near me who know that they have misunderstood others, that they have realized it and have had to apologize…

Thanks to all my dear followers and to my sponsors.


My apologies to all of my readers, currently I’m experiencing technical difficulties and am unable to use the site, but I can at least post this…

20
$ 11.38
$ 10.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @leejhen
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 14
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

It happens to me all the time too but I don't easily react. If I feel offended I keep it all to myself. But don't worry, what you have experienced is normal and it happens to a lot of people. What is important is that you have cleared things out and reconciled with the other party.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your advise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear I feel you. But mine happened face to face. And just like you I felt so bad only to realize the person not really offending me just a language barrier. That happens in Thailand. I apologise after but I already give her a dirty look and cold treatment that made me feel terrible.

Dear, sometimes we have to forgive ourselves as well as long as we admit that we are at fault. That teaches us anyway.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are absolutely right. They apologized for my mistake but I continue to be unapologetic. But even they continue to support me and I continue to support them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, friend, that is very easy to happen if you only depend on the translator. Because it's enough that what is written doesn't have the punctuation marks to be translated differently and change the meaning. And misunderstanding someone happens to everyone sometimes. Don't feel bad. You apologized, and as the saying, to mistake is of human and rectify is of wise.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's how it is, my friend. I was excused for my mistake but I was still sorry. Thanks for your support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Misunderstandings have existed since the world began. First of all, every mind is a world, with its own particular ways of communicating. And when we meet someone who does not handle the same communicational code as we do, then misunderstandings begin. Second, even speaking the same language, in different cultures, there are different terms, it is not the same to communicate in Mexico, Venezuela or Argentina (and they all speak Spanish). Third, automatic translators ALWAYS fail: languages are not only made of literal phrases and sentences, but of figurative expressions that are only understood among the community that speaks that language and dialect. I loved your article. Thank you for writing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I loved your response. Thanks for reading. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Translators sometimes are really not accurate.

But no worries sis, I guess we all experienced was not able to understand and misunderstood and that what makes us a human. What's good about what happened is that you were able to learn from it and you chose to move forward. 💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you sister. You are right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess all of us experienced this, but what matters most is how you handle the situations. Sometimes we misunderstood things because we don't want to understand it, or maybe we don't want to get involved. But overall I, inorder for us to avoid misunderstanding we should be open minded.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is very logical what you say. Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a victim of this, since there are times that my head would dig deeper with some words that were said to me. But now I try to be more open and considerate since some people might not be good in English.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, my friend. I'm bad at English.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I also experience thus before. But, I don't take it to heart and just ignore it. I don't know I'm good at ignoring things. I just don't want to make it a big deal and to my mind maybe I am just misinterpreting it and it is not really the message that they want to convey. So I'd rather not speak about it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good. Turning around is a good way not to intervene.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess it happened to all of us, we misunderstood the things said to us because we weren't able to dig deeper into what they are trying to say to us. But we should know when to apologise if we know we did something not good. It's okay cheer up at least now you know that online translators sometimes gives us wrong information. We should be cautious.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. You are right. Thanks for the advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such is the case with some persons who only come online to insult and reddicle others but all thanks to God that you were able to maintain your cool

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. It is true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not know what had happened. Online translators are reliable up to a point, but you always need to first review what is automatically translated, give it a touch of "humanity", put it into practice, in the everyday. I'm sure he understood the situation that led you to respond in that way. It can happen to all of us. Don't worry, an apology is always welcome. Write when you can, you are missed around here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have so many messages to answer that I didn't see yours. I'm catching up now. Thanks for writing my friend. Yes. They have excused me and we are posting and commenting again. Always elbows to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened to me too. Even it can happen in our own language. We reply in our understanding and it could hurt other people even though we have no intention to hurt at all. It is best to clarify as you did and apologize.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I clarified everything quickly. I apologized. We kept publishing and they still supported me. Thanks for stopping by and giving advice. I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to hear that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone misunderstands all the time, but often we won't even notice it. However, misunderstanding is not dangerous as long you are aware that you can possibly have misunderstood. It becomes more serious when you don't realise that, but take for granted that you have indeed understood something correctly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We clarify everything. Only because my son helped me by reading it directly. Thank you for your words, I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Translations can be quite frustrating sometimes. And it is those times when I wish I am multilingual, or have the ability to be a translator for whatever language I encounter. Sadly, I know how online translators can be so inadequate, especially when it comes to idiomatic expressions, so I have to make allowances.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks my friend for the support.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually We should not be reactionary instantly. You are right we should show a bit cold behaviour. Also the people who were hurt awe an apology. If you apologize to them then it will all set. Keep yourself calm.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. Everything is now settled. Thanks for the advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago