Healthy changes in eating habits

9 48
Avatar for gertu13
9 months ago

I don't usually criticize what others consume or drink. We are in a world where everyone chooses the life they want to lead and many times they take advice as insults or criticisms. Today I have come to tell you that now that I am 62 years old I have decided to modify some habits I had.

I am not usually a person who takes medicines, I only take an analgesic once in a while when the pain is very strong or some other treatment of some sudden onset disease such as neuralgia, otitis, lumbago, flu, and others.

Since my body is getting exhausted from the system of life that I have given it, I decided to consume some different things and stop consuming others forever. Let me tell you.

I used to drink green juices on an empty stomach, this consists of passing through the juice extractor green vegetables such as cucumber, spinach, broccoli, green pepper, prickly pear, lemon, ginger, and other greens. Not all together but some days I would take some and other days I would take different vegetables. This is how I provided myself with magnesium, potassium, salts, vitamins, and others.

At present, since vegetables have become somewhat expensive, I am taking magnesium capsules. This helps my body to avoid insulin resistance among other things. In addition, magnesium is involved in more than 600 organic processes that need magnesium to function. If the body does not find it, it stops processing some functions to be able to perform other more important ones.

Magnesium intervenes in all the cells of the organism where there are mitochondria because it is there where the exchange of the sodium and potassium pump takes place. Magnesium is what allows the process to take place. Of course, it does not do it alone, it is a cooperator with potassium. It allows potassium to go out and sodium to come into the cell.

Having said that I want to tell you that I have been a sugar addict all my life I would always eat dessert in the afternoon. I managed to beat this addiction as easily as possible. I was eating small amounts of protein in the afternoons when I felt like eating sweets a piece of meat, chicken, or fish, This way I managed to confuse my brain for a few days and after three days of doing it, my body started to get used to not consuming sugars in my diet.

I have been drinking coffee without sugar since I was 11 years old, I have never liked coffee with sugar. I am addicted to good coffee without sweeteners, artificial sugars, or honey. I drink green tea in the afternoons when it provokes me, many of you know that I have countless plants in my small nursery. I can drink ginger tea, turmeric tea, yerba buena tea, anise, clove, cinnamon, Santa Maria, citronella, etc...

Now I do not eat pasta or spaghetti of any kind and rice is only consumed sporadically in my house. The best way is to wash the rice and then cook it with little water. Leave it at room temperature and then store it in the refrigerator until the next day when it has formed a resistant starch that prevents the formation and drastic elevation of blood sugar.

 Why do I do this?

Because it has been studied and demonstrated how rice immediately after cooking releases arsenic in large quantities and sugars in such quantities that it resembles eating a very sweet cake. So I don't eat rice unless it is in this way and as an accompaniment to my meals once or twice a month.

The rest of my meals are only proteins such as beef, red meat, pork, poultry, or fish, accompanied by salads, either raw or cooked salads. Occasionally a little banana or green banana that already contains sugar is also a healthier food.

All with a little ingenuity and without oil. Or sprinkle the pan with just a little oil.It is necessary to drink water before eating, after eating food leave for half an hour to drink water and then start again to drink more than a liter of water a day.

Fruits are not consumed in juices because the amount of sugar it contains as fructose is immense. You should eat a medium fruit or two small fruits or a large portion.

It is not a diet, it is just learning to eat healthier and my body is thanking me because I have been losing weight little by little and I feel that my legs and my spine are thanking me for overcoming my excess weight.

I have never in my life read so much about learning to eat as I do now that my body does not go with my mental age. I am young in spirit but my body is no longer young and I gave it a lot of bad life. So now after my tests started to come out altered I decide to change of my own free will.

I don't want to take medicine and be a slave of hours to take one pill and the other. I prefer to change my way and wrong habits of food consumption and learn to leave the toxic so that my glycemia does not rise, my cholesterol does not make me dizzy, or my weight makes me fall because of the loss of balance.

Everything is going well and I like my new lifestyle, not letting canned, bottled, sugary, artificially flavored, and other carcinogenic products into my mouth.

This is something I have been taking care of these last few months. I am now being responsible for my body and whatever happens to me, unless God wills otherwise I am eating to live and not living to eat.

Thank you reader friends for sticking with me this far, Until my next update.

All images are my own taken with the redmi note 9.

4
$ 0.50
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 1
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
9 months ago

Comments

We need to more conscious with our food intake today and I am happy that you share your healthy living with us in that way we are gathering more informations on how to balance our intake.

Thank you amd have a nice day/night.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Yes, someday we have to start regaining awareness for our healthy life.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Indeed and what you started is a good start for healthy living

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Thank you for your nice comment.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Your always welcome

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Quite informative. But why dont u try brown rice rather than white rice or millets against rice. Here the doctors prescribe that for diabetic patients. As you said fruits I too consume by eating and not making juice.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

I just don't like the taste of whole foods. Fruits are better eaten than juiced, you're right. I feel good eating this style now and I'm slowly getting my wardrobe back.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

This is wow. Eating well especially at this age is very very important. I wish you good health

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Yes, it is very important to maintain good eating habits at this age. Thank you for your good wishes.

$ 0.00
9 months ago