Fig jam!

22 22

I really like fig jam. I have a fig plant that I planted a few years ago, now it grows figs! ...Not as much as I would like but at least I can get some. As long as I come before the birds once the figs ripen that is.

To make this jam we only need a few ingredients...

1.- Approximately 20 ripe figs.

2.- 1 cup of sugar.

3.- 1 lemon.

4,. 1 tablespoon of vanilla essence.

For preparation:

Clean and cut the figs into very small pieces and then add 1/2 cup of sugar. Add the tablespoon of vanilla. Take the juice out of the lemon and put everything in a bowl.

After letting it all "rest" for two hours with the ingredients place a pot on the fire and add 5 tablespoons of water and the rest of the sugar.

Over moderate heat, taking care that the liquid does not dry out completely, we mix it very often and after 30 minutes of cooking, mash the figs in the cauldron with a potato masher. Finally, wait 5 more minutes and remove from heat if the preparation is thick.

Boil some glass containers with lids and once they have cooled place the jam in these jars, this while the jam is still hot but not boiling. You can then keep it in the fridge for as long as you like.

If you want to put this on some cookies it's also a good option.

Thank you for your visit and your comment.

All photographs are my property. Taken with my Samsung Mini S3 phone.

5
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @marblely
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty

Comments

So that's how to make jam. Does that apply to berries too? But then... there aren't really berries in my country ;-; but I'd still love to taste jam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think this type of ingredient applies to fruit without acidity. That is why a little acid is placed in the preparation.

For other small fruits that are acidic, only the rest should be added.

This is very tasty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh so that explains the lemon. Then i guess the same thing would apply to berries if they wwre made into jams?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are no berries in my country. I couldn't tell you how to make the jam. I think the principle would be the same.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oohh i thought there would be berries there too. Maybe when the berry import come, I'll try making ham with it using this recipe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, I wish you much success with your ham and the recipe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

subscribe done back plz

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love jams (but can't eat too much because of its sweetness) but I have never tried figs before. I wonder what it tastes like. Does it taste like strawberry? Apricot? Pineapple? Or a mix of taste? Very pretty close-up photos :) Thank you for the recipe too. Does it work with other fruits?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now that you ask ... I really don't know what it tastes like. I can say that it has a smooth texture, with explosive aggregates when chewing, because the seeds are tiny and crunchy. It is very sweet, so you should not add too much sugar. The lemon juice gives it a certain very pleasant acidity so as not to make so much sweetness disgusting.

The recipe works with small and sweet fruits.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder if you like the seeds in the marmalade because they are crunchy why not in combination with cake or cookies? Cookies are crunchy and there are several cake recipes where seeds are added to it.

Personally, I am not a fan of sweet neither are my children. The reason why most of the marmalade and syrup are still there. ☹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Everything is a matter of taste. The sensation of fig seeds in a cookie is pleasant for me. But the feeling of the seeds in a soft and very soft cake and finding it filled like sand, I don't like it. I prefer to add walnuts, almonds, and other larger seeds to my cake. If my son and I visited you we would help you finish all that jam. Hee hee

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pity I can't give the jam and marmalade and syrup to you. I bought some almonds. Very expensive but they were tasty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The seeds or nuts here in my country are very expensive. I will try to buy a hundred grams of walnuts and some dried fruit for this Christmas.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So are they here. It's the first time in my life I bought almonds. Pity I couldn't just buy 5 or so. 100 grams is aboutb3-4 euros.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is similar to the price here. they are 3 or 4 $ the cost of 100 grams.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You cook those fix or just the water with the rest of the sugar for 30 minutes and the figs mix is added to it later? I wonder why the marmalade needs to be stored in the fridge. If the jar is closed well it must be possible to store outside a fridge. That's the whole idea of using jars, cans, vacuum wrapped. No fridge needed or due your recipe misses an ingredient. I never ate figs and am not sure, if I can buy them here at all, if they are fresh or dried. I wonder how you use it with cookies. I do not see gelatine in your recipe. How about cake?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Totally according to @ gertu13, the fig jam and any other that is made, without chemical preservatives must be stored in the refrigerator so that it does not damage, previously the containers where the jam is to be placed, also the jam must be sterilized It can be eaten with bread, cookies ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sorry, but that does not make sense. My granny, her mother, and great grandmother already made jams, marmalades, applesauce, syrups, fruit in jars and it was never with chemicals. Only sugar and if it comes to some fruits you need an acid which is lemon. They didn't use chemicals, had no fridge. Food only gets spoiled if your jars are not clean and the lid doesn't close well (that's why you fill them with hot stuff although it's not necessary if you make pickles, sauerkraut et cetera. I have my food stored in jars here and some are years old still good. Had from a friend marmalade over 12 years old (cherries) still good. If I buy applesauce in the supermarket the only ingredients are: apples, sugar and lemon. 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When cooking, place all the ingredients on the stove.

The temperature here is very hot. If you do not have chemical preservatives, it is better to store in the refrigerator, since the heat is responsible for damaging even if they are vacuum sealed. Although I will tell you that I did not try to keep the jam on the shelf, but I do not want to take the risk, everything is very expensive and if it is not favorable, I lose everything.

I have taken the fig juice and it is pleasant, because I strain it and the seeds are removed. But I have not made cake or jelly with figs. I would have to remove the seeds in the gelatin, because it would be unpleasant to find seeds for me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps it depends on a max of temperature it is stored. I learned light is the main problem although the food isn't spoiled or taste bad it just looks different (color change). My jars and bottle stay in the dark. I have no fridge and the temp here is around 34°C outside if not more. Inside I don't know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The environmental temperature has dropped in these days due to the presence of storms. We have temperatures of 32 ° c. But that is not normal these days. For these months the temperature is much higher. We got to have 37 ° c and more. The heat together with our humidity allows mold to grow in food and animals in the grains. I usually keep all grains in the fridge. Along with other vegetables and tubers.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You need a huge fridge for it. Even with a temp of over 40°C my house will never be warmer than 20°C it so. I do wrap or save food in plastic bags or containers because if the humid air. The house is old and mold is for sure in it. Ventilating and heating up is the only way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago