Do you feel compassion?

19 32
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

In my home we have two cats at the moment. My cat Copito that many of you already know was brought to my home by his own mother since about 7 years ago that mother adopted me. Yes, as you read, that cat came to my garden and she watched me water my plants every day.

He watched me from the street sitting on her two hind legs. At that time I had no intention of having a cat at home, my work and being constantly busy all day long prevented me from wanting to have a cat and not taking care of it.

That's how this stray cat got into my heart. I started to give her some food when she would come and stay a little longer in the garden with me. I would go into my house and she would go into hers.

From unsplash.

But then she was getting very fat, that's what I thought at first but… she wasn't, she was pregnant. So I would leave more food on her plate in the garden and she kept staying here longer and longer.

Until she eventually had her children somewhere else and brought them here, there were 5 kittens of which only one stayed with me, my Copito, while the others left as they became older.

That's how we were left with a cat that we never wanted to have but their mother decided to leave them in my care, she died. I saw her dead in the street with a disease on her beautiful face.

Copito stayed to live here but he had his mother's habits, he was still in the street during the nights and during the day he spent it here.

And so this cat has remained free since his birth. He stays here because he wants to stay with us.

4 days ago another little kitten arrived at my house. We think it’s a tabby. He was in my garden and my son heard him, he loves animals and felt love at first sight. He called me to let me see the little cat and let him come into our living room.

The kitten came in and stayed. We are still afraid that he wants to leave but he is also free to do so. The kitten stays all day playing with whatever he can get his hands on… He climbs trees in the garden, picks a fight with Copito, climbs all the furniture in my house.

By the way, Copito is not very pleased with the presence of this cat. I think it's his feeling of belonging. He thinks he is our owner and everything in this house belongs to him too and now the new kitty must tolerate our old cat's acts of intolerance and hope that at some point he will show signs of acceptance.

This is not the first time I have had cats thrown into my yard from the street, but the kitties never stayed. My son would lovingly try to get them to stay but at night the cats would disappear. In the morning they were never here, in the living room.

My son opted to leave this cat inside the house. He put a box of litter in it. Sweet Meme we call it, which is the name I gave him, because of that letter “M” that forms on his forehead, while my son decided to call him Coco. He immediately recognized the litter box as his own and he goes there and does his business, so it turns out we adopted a cute little kitten who is very well-behaved.

He is very playful. He jumps up and down all over the house, he runs so fast that he is even hard to catch if we try to catch him running. 

He eats anything that is put in his plate! The bad thing that needs to change is that he begs a lot… He brought this habit that hopefully will change seeing our Copito.

The neighbors here have the habit of keeping their cats at home without sterilizing them, then they get pregnant and when they have the kittens the owners take them away from them and throw them away because they can't keep other cats.

As I said before, kittens have always arrived here but they never wanted to stay. Some of them were even fierce because they would make hiss with their mouths when we tried to approach us, but when we left them alone they would go away.

But this kitten has caught our attention because he is a loving kitten, very nervous. He is afraid of anything that moves and he also seems to have a defect in his right hind leg that causes his knee to fold inward into his abdomen when he walks, but that hasn't stopped him from running and climbing like he does.

My son and I feel compassion for this lonely little cat who has come to our home. Maybe he wants to adopt us. If so, he will be welcome in this house, but we don't want to curtail his freedom anyway. If he prefers he can leave whenever he wants but if he wants to stay, here he will have peace, love, company and food.

Thank you for reading and commenting on this post that has been made for your entertainment.

From @gertu13 in Venezuela.

10
$ 8.26
$ 8.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 2
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

What a coincidence. Our cat had been missing for almost a week now, but then she just showed herself a while ago. We really thought that she's already dead. She was so weak and can't even walk properly. I almost cried when I saw her situation. I cleaned her and force feed, since she wasn't eating. She's sound alseep now. I hope that will get better tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad you got her back. These kitties become very important in our family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She just died yesterday 😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kittens are cute but kitten doesn't like me..they would go and bite me when I go near them they bite my hands.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They must be brave cats because cats generally love to be petted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cats are so cute to behold but not my thing. I love my dogs(I have two)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe me, I didn't like cats either until this cat came into my life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A very moving story of compassion. That reminds me that soon, God willing, we will have two cats at home.

Yesterday my daughter told me the story of adoption with her cats. I wonder, who adopted whom? I think that the relationship of humans with other animals contains mysteries that are difficult to explain.

I really liked the relationship of freedom that they established with the cats. On the other hand, I was saddened by the death of the cat.

Thanks for sharing this nice story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what happens when cats are from the street. Anyone can harm them. It's good that two kittens will be adopted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a fan of cats but I don't dislike them either. I also feel pitied to them whenever I see cats on the street. If I had food with me I always give some if I had the chance. Especially when I am in restaurants. We have cat in the house but I don't play with him. Whenever mom would decide to put him away because he doesn't do his job, I would always defend him and let him stay because I couldn't imagine what would happen to him or what would he feel if we did put him away.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think migato is jealous of the kitten. He's been gone since yesterday and hasn't come home yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe. It so sad to think that jealousy would make him prefer become away from suppose to be his home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope Copito gets used to his new friend soon. It often happens to house cats that when they have been living alone in a house for a long time they do not like to be invaded their territory. The same thing happened to my aunt's cat. It had been with her for years. A friend gave her a kitten that she had found abandoned in the park. And my aunt's cat was very stressed and angry for days until it got used to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, my Copito has been gone since yesterday and has not yet returned home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope he returns soon!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All animals also have feelings too, your old cat who named Copito wanted that she is the only one for you to get along, while the another kitten wanted you to sheltered him also, but your cat don't want the idea and it's sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's very sad. He left yesterday and was very upset. He hasn't come home yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also have cats at home but I am more fond of dogs.. i guess someone purposely left the kitty at your garden because he/she knows that your family love cats 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not that I love them. I never liked them before. Until Copito's mama cat came along. But this little kitty is so adorable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago