A walk in the garden.

27 44
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

I like my garden, after going through the morning chores in the afternoon I suddenly decided to take a walk through my garden.

This plant you see here is a spinach plant, it was given to me by a friend when she was barely about 20 cm tall and she has taken to my garden very well.

I let her come tangling up to the railings in my living room. There, as you can see, she's burrowing all over the fence and is trying to keep growing towards the other fence.

The more I cut off its leaves the more it sprouts new ones. It even has flowers! I have already taken about 6 seeds, which are small black spheres, I put them to dry and soon I will have them in a pot to reproduce them.

They are delicious, in my breakfast with scrambled eggs and arepa they are an infallible and very succulent duo. A little bit of spices like small leaf oregano and some salt and they go directly from the plate to the mouth.

Following my tour, we have these chili red plants, it’s a hot chili bell pepper with a very peculiar flavor that enhances the taste of my foods. They are two beautiful plants that have not stopped producing their fruits throughout the year and they give their spicy touch to my meals as a good complement.

This little plant is peppermint, I don't know what name it may have in other latitudes. Here we use it for meals. This plant has a slight minty flavor, it’s a bit similar to the “spearmint” plant but its flavor is more intense than peppermint.

For this reason spearmint is used a lot to make infusions and some drinks like mojito or cocktails with liquor, while peppermint is used for food, especially for stews and chicken soups.

The lechoza plant, although it has been flowering since it was very small, does not finish its growth process and drops the small fruits very early. So I won't be able to eat papaya fruit yet, but I am patient and at some point she will produce her fruits in good condition.

Continuing my tour, you can see the fig plant with its green fruits, but let me tell you that every day I harvest the sweet figs that ripen before the morning fight with the birds that want to take my ripe fruits.

Then there are my cacti and succulents that have been rained on from heaven and are growing most beautifully… But there is my succulent Morganianum that after two years of taking care of it since it was a little leaf, one of its branches rotted.

The larger branch, when I noticed it, was rotten. I was able to remove some of its upper leaves and placed them in a pot and they are trying to be reborn as a new plant. Again I have to wait a few months to see this little plant as an adult.

Graptopétalum and graptoveria look beautiful when they get water on their leaves but I have to watch their water intake from the rain, because they keep a reserve of water in their leaves and when it rains, the amount of water they absorb is so great that their leaves rot.

I transplanted some fig branches from some branches that I cut. I am waiting for their response to the transplant and they look great so far.

I also transplanted ginger saplings. My cats (or the outdoor cats) got mad at my beautiful leafy ginger plant and tore it apart. I was able to rescue some plants with their rhizomes and they have been planted for over two weeks now. They look good when transplanted. I now have more than 5 new ginger plants.

And if you like roses this is one of my aromatic roses with its pleasant vanilla scent in the air, but sadly, I can't pass that smell on to you from here. Just look at this beautiful red and think of a very soft and fragrant vanilla scent and you can find yourself in the presence of roses from my garden.

So much for the tour of my plants, I have many, many more beautiful plants of variegated colors and beautiful greens, but that part I will show you another time, when I come back again to walk through my beautiful garden.

Thank you to all my dear readers and to my kind sponsors.

All images are my property. Taken with my Redmi note 9 phone.

 

11
$ 9.70
$ 9.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 10
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

You really had amazing grden there gertu. I wanted to have a yard full of plants but I don't have a green thumb 😫

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your plants are all well grown! You belong to those people who have magic hands when it comes to taking care of plants. My mother also has her garden. She planted eggplants, papaya, okra, tomatoes and banana trees. We really benefited from it since the pandemic. Also, having a garden makes your surroundings more peaceful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's very nice to eat from our crops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The spinach plant? We have that, too! Here it is called alugbati. There are two varieties - one is similar to what you have, and the second has red stalks instead of just green. Since it doesn't have a distinct taste, it goes well with a lot of dishes. Save for the fig and spearmint, we have much the same plants in our garden, too! They are my mother's mostly, because it is her hobby. I do like the fruit-bearing ones, and the chilis, I really watch over to collect, dry, then flake.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Here we also have red spinach but I have not grown it yet. I like to eat all my produce.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wonderful! Life is more vibrant with plants like those you have, ma'am 😁 If only I am there and ask for some pots hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

But you live in a house. You can plant whatever you want and have your own container garden. Like I do, lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I do. My mom has plants but she doesn't take care of them much. Hahha maybe one of these days I will have my own little garden

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you've got a big and beautiful garden there. I like to have that chili bell pepper 🤩💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Is quite spicy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just reading through your post has made me want to visit your garden. How I wish I could visit your garden. Such a wonderful serene environment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you live in a house you can plant in your own pots and have as many plants as you want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you got a lot of plants and even fruit bearing trees! i hope your papaya will bear fruit soon. we got a lot of papaya trees at our backyard, my father just sprinkles those seeds from the fruit that we eat and they grow and give us a lot of fruits..we still have a couple of unripe ones too and will be ready soon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it's great what happens with seeds. We throw them into the good soil and they alone are born and bear fruit. I hope all my papaya plants produce their fruits.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

produce their fruits.

lets hope for the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have such a lovely garden, my dear friend. I'm craving your spinach. I love them with scrambled eggs as well and some mozzarella cheese.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes, even the empanadas with mozzarella cheese and spinach are so delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice tour among plants from vegge to rose. Just a tour among this greenery will refresh our mind.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! An awesome garden ma'am. The first one we called that "Alugbati" here in our country. That's one of my favorite too. I cooked it always when I'm in province. ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Spinach is very nutritious and tasty.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes maam. That's why I like it..🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What is the name of the first plant? Because we have that too before. And it's yummy for me too

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the green spinach. I've been told that you also have it and I'm even told it's called alugbati.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh ya alugbati..I suddenly forgot the name 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[deleted]

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry it does not translate in Filipino, it only translates English.

$ 0.00
2 years ago