My Orchids Philippines

2 30
Avatar for francyrios75
3 years ago

Today, I come to share with you images of other orchids that I have in my small garden. In this case I present my orchids Spathoglottis Plicata, that is the name by which it is known scientifically. However, colloquially it is also known as Philippine orchid, terrestrial orchid or garden orchid. This type of orchids are native to the Asian continent, unlike other types of orchids, these have a peculiar behavior. It turns out that they are terrestrial orchids, that is to say, they can develop perfectly in a pot or in the ground directly, to this peculiarity it owes its names of terrestrial orchid or garden orchid.

They are very easy to cultivate, because they are not very demanding and do not require much care. It adapts very well to direct sunlight, however, it develops better in a place where during the day it receives between light shade to partial sun. As for watering, they should be watered daily, but... it is important to make sure that the soil is well drained. If they do not have a good drainage, with time their roots tend to rot, which causes them to die irremediably. I tell you from experience, I learned the hard way and I already went through that unfortunate experience.

I highly recommend you to have them in your garden, because if they are in the right conditions, they turn out to be very generous and bloom all year round. Its beautiful and delicate flowers are usually purple, pink, white, and there are even some yellow variations. Unfortunately, as you can see in the pictures in my small garden, I only have purple and pink.

Now I will tell you how the 5 plants of this type that I have in my garden came to be, first I will tell you that they were all given to me as a gift. Three of them, which are pink, were the first to arrive and were given to me by my daddy. He loves plants, he has a lot of them, so he transplanted me some of the plants he has in his garden. And one time when he came to visit from Carúpano, my hometown, he brought them to me as a gift.

The other two, purple, have a peculiar story, one day I went out to the garden and found on one of the railings overlooking the street, two tiny pots each with a tiny little plant. I had no idea what kind of plants they were, I even thought they were small palm trees. It turns out that coincidentally the leaves of this type of orchid resemble those of baby palms, they are elongated and pleated leaves. In fact, the shape of its leaves is what gives rise to its name, since Plicatus in Latin means pleated.

But... back to the story, I took the plants and placed them in the garden where everyone who passed by could see them, waiting for their owner to appear. A few weeks later, I heard a knock at the door and when I went out, I found a little old lady, whom I had never seen before in my life. And... surprise!.... It turns out that this lady was the one who had left the plants there as a gift. According to what she told me, she was passing by frequently, on her way to visit a friend, and the orchids in my garden caught her attention. As she realized that I didn't have any of that kind, she very kindly decided to bring me some from her house. Unfortunately, however, on the day she came by, no one was home and so as not to take them back, she put them through the gate.

Of course, I thanked her very much for her nice and curious gift, and from that day on, she often left us a new plant in the garden. On several occasions I also shared with her some plants that she did not have in her garden. The truth is that with that experience I understood that the "Fan Club" of my garden was not only formed by my family and the birds, butterflies, bees, cigarrones, etc., it seemed that my neighbors also enjoyed it very much

References

http://jardineropaisajista.com/orquidea-spathoglottis-plicata/

Content and photographs of my intellectual property

Technical information

Camera: Pentax * istDL

Lens: * Pentax 18-55

Lighting: Natural Light

Location: Barcelona, Anzoátegui State, Venezuela

4
$ 1.87
$ 1.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @MyMindSpeaks
Sponsors of francyrios75
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for francyrios75
3 years ago

Comments

I am very happy that you liked the publication @MyMindSpeaks and I hope you are encouraged to plant it is a very rewarding activity. Good day.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not into planting but I enjoyed how you shared your experience with the said flower. I hope one day, I can plant my orchids. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago