Nerium Oleander, the most poisonous plant in the world

0 21
Avatar for francyrios75
3 years ago

Greetings, welcome everyone to my little corner of peace on the day, my name is Francy Rios and I am Venezuelan. Although I work professionally as a University Teacher, in the career of Systems Engineering, I am passionate about photography. So in this blog I will share with you my work in the photographic field.

I will begin by sharing with you a very beautiful flower that I have known since I was a child, although I mistakenly called it by the name of Queen Flower. Of course when I looked for it on the web, I could not find it by that name. After an exhaustive search on the net, I discovered that it is commonly known as, Neriun, Oleander, flowering laurel, laurel rose, baladre or trinitaria.

The Adelfa, at a scientific level was identified as Nerium oleander, being the only species so far included within the genus Nerium, belonging to the family of the Apocynaceae.

The Mediterranean origin of this bush, has given it the peculiarity of being very resistant to drought and coupled with its large and beautiful flowers, makes it very attractive at the ornamental level. This fact has helped it to spread widely in several countries with a tropical climate, such as Venezuela, Colombia, Panama and Honduras.

There are several uses for this plant besides the ornamental one, for example previously the ash that is obtained from its wood was used in the manufacture of gunpowder. On a cosmetological level, its macerated leaves are used to deal with dandruff and hair loss.

Finally, it is necessary to emphasize, that one must be very careful with this plant, because it is as beautiful as it is dangerous. It is considered to be the most poisonous plant in the world, because each part of this bush is highly toxic, to the point that it can kill a person in case of being consumed by mistake.

References

https://www.guiaverde.com/guia-de-plantas/nerium-oleander--hardy-pink--2247/
https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nerium_oleander

Content and photographs of my intellectual property

Technical information

Camera Pentax * istDL

Lens * Pentax 18-55

Lighting Natural Light

Location Barcelona, AnzoƔtegui State, Venezuela

4
$ 0.19
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of francyrios75
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for francyrios75
3 years ago

Comments