El Guamo reservoir, a town under water || Embalse El Guamo, un pueblo bajo las aguas

3 50
Avatar for francyrios75
3 years ago

Today I want to share with you some beautiful images that I can capture through the lens of my camera and that bring me nice and pleasant memories. On that occasion we were heading to the beautiful town of Caripe, I have already told you about it on other occasions, and what I love about it. It is a wonderful place nestled in the mountainous area of the state of Monagas.

Hoy les quiero compartir unas imágenes hermosísimas que puede captar a través del lente de mi cámara y que me traen lindos y agradables recuerdo. En esa oportunidad nos dirigíamos al hermoso pueblo de Caripe, ya en otras oportunidades les he hablado de él, y de lo que me encanta. Es un lugar maravilloso enclavado en la zona montañosa del estado Monagas.

I remember that day, we had breakfast at the hotel and left very early from the city of Maturin, heading to Caripe. By that time we had already covered a long stretch of the road and we needed to stretch our legs a bit, so we stopped. When I got out of the car I was impressed by the beautiful view, so I immediately ran to the car to get my camera.

Recuerdo que ese día, desayunamos en el hotel y salimos muy temprano de la ciudad de Maturín, rumbo a Caripe. Para ese momento ya habíamos recorrido un largo trecho del camino y necesitábamos estirar un poco las piernas, así que nos detuvimos. Al bajarme del auto quedé impresionada por la hermosa vista, por lo que corrí de inmediato a buscar mi cámara al auto.

To get to the place from where I took the shots, I had to go down a path that went a little away from the road. I had not walked very far when I realized that there was a paved road and I decided to take it because it was safer to walk, since the road was quite uneven. After a few minutes of walking, to my surprise I had to stop because the road came to an end at the shore of the lake. You will say, and what's the problem with that, well the surprising thing is that the path continued, but it was submerged in the water. But that's not all, it turns out that when I looked ahead, it turned out that the road came out, on the opposite shore of the lake, which I found extremely strange.

Para llegar al lugar desde donde realice las tomas, se debía bajar por un camino que se alejaba un poco de la carretera. No había caminado mucho cuando me percaté, que había un camino pavimentado y decidí tomarlo ya que era más seguro caminar, ya que, por donde venia el caminando era bastante irregular. Después, de unos minutos de caminata, para mi sorpresa me tuve que detener porque el camino llegaba a su fin, a orillas del lago. Ustedes dirán, y ¿cuál es el problema en eso?, bueno lo sorprendente es, que el camino seguía, pero se sumergía en el agua. Pero eso no es todo, resulta que cuando levante la mirada al frente, resulto que el camino salía, en la orilla opuesta del lago, lo cual me pareció sumamente extraño.

I was curious and asked a friend who was with us if he had any idea where we were. He told me that he thought we were at the El Guamo reservoir. When I told him about my strange discovery, he told me that the reservoir was said to have been built over a town. For that reason, the road I had traveled dipped into the water and came out at the opposite end of the lake.

Me carcomía la curiosidad y le pregunte a un amigo que nos acompañaba, si tenía idea de donde nos encontrábamos. Me indico que creía que nos encontrábamos en el embalse El Guamo, al comentarle sobre mi extraño descubrimiento, me comentó que se decía que el embalse había sido construido sobre un pueblo. Por esa razón, el camino que había recorrido se hundía en el agua y salía en el extremo opuesto del lago.

It turns out that my friend was right. Upon inquiring, I discovered that the reservoir was formed when a dam was built on the Guarapiche River, specifically in an area called El Guamo, hence its name. The purpose of this dam was to prevent possible floods caused by the flooding of the Guarapiche, Colorado, Cocollar and Cerro Negro rivers. For its construction, the valley between the area called San Antonio de Maturín and a town called San Francisco had to be flooded. Yes, all the inhabitants of San Francisco had to be displaced to other nearby towns in order to flood the entire area. The whole town was under water and I understand that the only thing that was not swallowed by the waters was the church, since it was located on a hill. The small church, of colonial aspect, remains as a palpable memory of the sacrifice of a town, in order to avoid possible disasters due to floods.

Resulto que mi amigo estaba en lo cierto, al indagar descubrí que el embalse se formó al construir una represa sobre el río Guarapiche, específicamente en un área denominada EL Guamo, por eso su nombre. Dicha represa, tenía el objetivo de prevenir posibles inundaciones, causadas por las crecidas de los ríos Guarapiche, Colorado, Cocollar, y Cerro Negro. Para su construcción se debió inundar el valle que se extiende entre la zona denominada San Antonio de Maturín y un pueblo que se llamaba San Francisco. Pues sí, debieron desplazar a todos los pobladores de San Francisco, hacia otras poblaciones aledañas, para poder inundar toda esa zona. Todo el pueblo quedo bajo las aguas y tengo entendido, que lo único que no fue tragado por las aguas, fue su iglesia, ya que se encontraba ubicada en una colina. La pequeña iglesia, de aspecto colonial, quedando como recuerdo palpable del sacrificio de un pueblo, en pro, evitar posibles desastres a causa de inundaciones.

Sources / Referencias

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/El_Guamo_(embalse)

Content and photographs of my intellectual property

Technical information

Camera: Pentax * istDL

Lens: Pentax 18-55

Lighting: Natural Light

Location: El Guamo Reservoir, Monagas State, Venezuela

Contenido y fotografías de mi propiedad intelectual

Información Técnica

Cámara: Pentax * istDL

Lente: Pentax 18-55

Iluminación: Luz Natural

Locación: Embalse El Guamo, Estado Monaga, Venezuela

8
$ 10.95
$ 10.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of francyrios75
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for francyrios75
3 years ago

Comments

Hi francyrios75,

What beautiful pictures you take! I would like to visit there someday! Thank you for sharing this story.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi mizuo, I'm glad you liked my work. Yes it is a very nice place and I hope you can visit it. Greetings and blessings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hola amiga, me alegra poder leerte, es una manifestación de mejoría y de ganas de luchar. Debes pagar al Boots para que de mas impulso a la publicación!

$ 0.00
3 years ago