Went Home Like a Defeated Sumo Wrestler

13 35
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Mail
Image from Unsplash

I went to check on my visa again yesterday as it was being delivered to my previous accommodation. I really cannot stress my disappointment to the Home Office for getting the address wrong after making me wait 4 months for it. Here's my earlier post about my struggle waiting for this visa.

My heart did a back flip as I peeked on the pigeon hole saw my name on the envelope. Yesterday was the 4th day I have been coming to visit my old accommodation to check if there are any mails for me. Unfortunately, Guernsey Fedex are notoriously known for never following protocols. And as predicted they did not even email or text me to inform me of the delivery so that I could at least intercept them. It was supposed to be a signed package and the immigration told me I should be expecting Fedex to contact me when they are delivering it. Tsk, tsk.

Anyhow as much as I wanted to just fish it out of the pigeon hole it looks a bit too secure and too challenging. So I decided to buzz my old room. But no answer. I think we buzzed 3 times for it. My boyfriend and I decided to retreat for the day as I thought that maybe the new owner of the room was on a long day at work and isn't home. He did receive my letter the previous days, I assume, as it is gone from the pigeon hole. Unfortunately he didn't contact me to acknowledge if he's received it so that makes me anxious. I asked my friend who still works at the hospital to check on my mail again when she clocks off work but she had no luck as well.

I decided to visit again early this morning because I was worried the new owner of my room would put it in the return to sender pile. I got there around 7:30 before the post office comes. My mail was not on the return to sender box it was still on the pigeon hole. I was trying to be considerate so I waited till it was 9:00 before I start buzzing my old room again. No answer at all. At this point, I really just want to cry 😭. I am so frustrated. It is so close to me yet so far.

Anyhow, some of the old tenants I know from there told me to try asking the Porter's Lodge for help as they may have access for it. So I walked to the hospital to ask for assistance. Unfortunately they only have access to the rooms but not the personal letter boxes. He recommended I call the accommodations department of the hospital and a nice lady named Janet reassured me she will contact the maintenance to retrieve my mail for me and leave it at the porters' lodge. She asked for my contact number so she can inform me once this is done.

I went back again to my old accommodation for the last time to buzz the owner again. Still no luck. At this point I felt really dejected and I felt like a stalker too. I decided to walk home defeated and exhausted. The only thing I can do now is rely on the goodness of other people to get my visa. Now just staring at my phone waiting for a call. Maybe later I would try my luck again and walk back there.


9
$ 0.17
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.02 from @DocLayla
$ 0.02 from @Nanaado
+ 3
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Mail

Comments

I hope you would get call soon, I know how it feels Don't be dejected God surely has some plans for you, I will pray everything gonna be alright soon

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I got the call and now on my second walk towards the hospital porter's lodge apparently they sent it there so it is easier for me to collect.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry to hear that sis. It's really frustrating. I hope everything goes well but don't worry sis everything will be fine. 🙏

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you sis. I got a call saying the maintenance got my mail and is sending it to the porters. I will walk back after I finish eating.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

You're welcome sis. That's a good news sis. Thanks God. 🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is so frustrating when you can see what you has always wanted but you still can't get a hold on it. Just relax baby girl, they will get back to you and you will get your visa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

After I posted my rant I got a call from Janet saying they are delivering my mail to the porter's lodge now. I am relieved and surprised at its promptness. I will walk back there after lunch. Praise God!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks to God. The long wait is finally over

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh what a nightmare you have had. I hope you receive that call or meet the new owner and they have it. We all await good news from you.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I really can't believe my luck sir. But I do hope this chapter can be concluded soon. I feel like I have developed quite a mistrust in the government system after this experience.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I use to work in a travel office recently and ever since the pandemic passports and visa have been a nightmare. Many times I had to make reservations over and over again because the were not getting their paper work in time. It has never been so bad as it is now.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Now it is even worst as the Ukranian crisis caused more delays. They do need to prioritise the refugees I do understand but the lack of communication is appalling.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes I certainly can understand that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago