Visiting Colourful Brighton Part II

11 52
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Good day beautiful readers and as promised, here is part II of my Brighton Chronicles. Today I will be focusing on the art and graffiti culture of Brighton. Art, murals, and graffitis is a topic I do love so much as I am a collector of murals and graffiti photos. It is one of the things I look for when I travel and I have heaps of photo galleries dedicated for them.

Help Jennifer's got bit by a croc! Somewhere near the skate park by the sea.

Brighton is teeming with art. One of the reason for that is it's relaxed lovely seaside atmosphere and its free thinking and inclusive culture. Another reason would be the presence of two popular universities, the University of Sussex and the University of Brighton, both with great art program. It is also home to the Brighton Institute of Modern Music, as well as, a lot of foreign language schools which brings in more diversity. These and a few other reasons, draw more creative workers and businesses to the city.

I am truly sorry I do not know where I found this cute crow pecking on someone's heart. But it's one of the walls in Brighton.

So let's jump on to the artworks that caught my eye during my visits there. Please forgive me in advance, if some of them I cannot give a more in-depth description of, as I am not a very good map and also I usually just wander around places and find random things.

The Prince Albert

A couple of steps from Brighton train station, in Trafalgar Street, is the legendary pub called The Prince Albert. This pub used to be a three-storey town house erected in the late 1840s and was later on converted into a pub and music gig venue in the 1860s. This pub became really famous for its mural wall comprising of over 20 famous people, mostly of deceased musicians.

This photo was taken back during my visit year 2020 so it may have changed to this day. Can you recognise some of the famous people on the wall?

It is also known for its Banksy stencil artwork called "Kissing Coppers" depicting two British Policemen kissing. This art piece caused so much stir that the original was vandalised several times making the owner finally sell it for almost 600,000 $. To this day, a replica stands in its lieu. Bansky, is a very well known activist and provocative street artist all over the world, this piece sure measured up to public expectations .

My friend Jennifer. The Banksy artwork is by the door on the lower right of this photo.

ALICE

I stumbled across this massive mural whilst walking by the 17_grams coffee shop at Hanningtons Lane and I fell in love with it like a proper fan-girl. I grew up watching and reading Alice in The Wonderland by Lewis Carroll and this just brings back a lot of childhood memories. Apparently the famous author enjoyed spending summers in Brighton.

This beautiful work was created by an artist called Eelus.

Alice by Eelus at Hanningtons Lane

The Orangutans

If you walk around Brighton you will see a lot of orangutan murals. These are done by artist, Amy Kelly-Miller for the International Animal Rescue in support to their feat to raise awareness of orangutan's diminishing numbers and loss of habitat. These murals are really a great way to advertise a cause as it is very eye catching and also adorable it really does pull the heart strings.

Adding a little bit of nature to the city! ❤️

These murals are in the walls of Middle Street Primary School, which is a good spot as children tend to be curious creatures and also quite good promoters and advocate for nature and wildlife. It sparks environmental discussions in the classrooms and also at home.

Baby Orangutans at Middle Street Primary School.

There may be some orangutans I didn't catch but I hope these ones made you smile and also made you think of them more and the perilous situation they are in. And hopefully we can advocate for them too.

This is found in Bond Street. I felt quite lucky to have captured the artist in action. 

Unfortunately, I am rambling on too much again and have to end our little art tour. There are more amazing artworks to see in Brighton and hence I do encourage art lovers to visit this city. I truly hope you enjoyed this one as much as I enjoyed writing this. I may have a follow-up post as I realised my graffiti album is quite overflowing. 😂

I am not depressed per se but I can truly relate to when you just suddenly feel sad sometimes. Moody as what others used to say.

9
$ 0.09
$ 0.05 from @Ayukyukyu2
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @Sashaa
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Those art works are so lovely! I haven't been opportuned to see many murals because I seldom tour around 🤭. Brighton is blessed with those art works 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

your article is very interesting.You have added pictures of a very lovely place. I liked it very much .God bless you my sweet and lovely friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am glad you enjoyed this article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much .I pray you make more progress go too far .keep writing articles my dear lovely friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a lovely place where you enjoy have you notice in the above of your picture what a wonderful line it is "please excuse my depression it has a mind of its own"

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah I think it is just reminding us to be more understanding of people who are depressed as it is not something they can control.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wowwww.... Another round!!!.. meeting an artist in action is one thing i want to experience 🥰🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well it was truly amazing I didn't even know she was famous back then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow I love the place my friend. 🥰 It's very unique. You can feel the enjoyment there. A lovely walking.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is really a special place for me since I am a graffiti lover.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend that's why I was really amazed. So beautiful. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago