My Moroccan Stray Cats Gallery

12 55
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Travel, Travel blog, Stray, Cats, ...

Good day everyone! Today I will write about a topic I am very passionate about and one that is very close to my heart, stray cats! Growing up, I have been known to bring stray cats home. And I remember my brother shaking his head as we already have too many cats and we are all so severely allergic to fluffy things, pollens, and dust. Don't get me wrong, he loves them too, he is quite a softie with animals so as the rest of the family.

This little one approaching me for a greeting. It is such a great feeling to be sniffed by a cat. ❤️

When I was traveling in Morocco, I noticed a lot of these poor creatures in the desert. It is said that there are roughly as many street cats in Morocco as there are humans. I initially remembered, after the third cat photo I took, I said to myself, "I will have an album full of MoroCATS". Which to me was short for Moroccan street cats. Surprisingly as I am writing this article I learned that I am not the only tourist who thought of this. I found a lot of articles and photography of Moroccan street cats. Wow the world is full of cat lovers I would say!

The life of a stray cat is rough, and I could only imagine even more so in the desert where the weather conditions are severe and where water is scarce. But luckily God adores cats and has made them hardy creatures and has given them 9 lives to compensate for their tiny size and dangerous tendencies.

Also Moroccans are known to be very kind to their strays, especially cats. Despite the poverty, Moroccans still manage to share food scraps and water to their street wanderers. Apparently in the Muslim culture, one can execute pre-prayer ablutions with a bowl of water from which cats have drunk. In that respect, these gatos have actually been ensured survival in a Muslim country.

Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
These ones even found their box. I wonder if the black kitty wants to share it with miss orange.

Although this may seem like a sob story it isn't. It is actually the opposite. It is a story of awe! These creatures have been surviving the desert for the most of their lives. And this makes me believe that someone is silently looking after them. As my dad used to say to me, God looks after even the tiniest of creatures. I would like to believe that he is right!

He's sexy and he knows it.
She too is sexy 😂❤️

If only I can take them on a flight and give them all homes, but I cannot. It is hard to make cats travel as the paperworks can be both tasking and expensive. But I trust they will continue to thrive so long as there are little mercies bestowed to them by nature and human kind. So I hope the next time you see a stray cat, if you cannot feed them, please be kind and do not hurt them. They already have enough struggles to worry about than your flying pans and pots. And please do not feed them poison that is just inhumane.

This one was begging me food while I was eating at a restaurant.
This one I nicknamed as Sylvester.

My sister told me our adopted cat Dapnu has been missing for days now. We are worried someone has decided to get rid of him. But we are praying he has found little mercies along the way and hopefully just got re-homed. Anyway that's it for now I hope you enjoy the photos! Cheers!

This one I called Chippy because she's got chipped ears.


6
$ 0.30
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.01 from @GelayyLumiere
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Travel, Travel blog, Stray, Cats, ...

Comments

That's a lot of cats. My favorite is the one in the second picture. I love the spots. I have thought about getting a car. I live near a corn field and mice always figure out how to get in. Our dog just growls at them. Haha I think he may even be afraid of them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a good choice as she's like a painting. A cat which gets along with your dog would be good. Now that the autumn has come we also have a mouse problem in the house.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cats are very beautiful creatures. I love them but I don't move close to them because I am scared of them. But you said cats have nine lives. Is that true?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well it is just a common expression to define their high survival skills and death defying stunts. They don't die easy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a big softie din po but with dogs naman whenever I see one I pet them kasi kahit konting warth manlang yung maibigay ko parang ang laking comfort na para sa kanilang mga nasa streets lang and walang family

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww bless your heart. Exactly po. I mean as long as they are not aggressive isn't it. A little bit of kindess.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, they are kind naman talaga they just ended up being aggressive because its their instinct to protect themselves but once they learn to trust you its just amazing that the gave you an unconditional love

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang cute naman ng mga cats sis. Sobrang hilig ko talaga sa mga cats sis. 🥰 Dami ko ng naalagaan na mga cats sis. Nagbibigay sila ng saya sakin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Gusto ko sana silang i-uwi sis kaso mahal man. They are quite a source of comfort aren't they!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes that's true sis. One of our comforts. Magkano isa sis?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko alam specifically pero I heard that vaccines, paperworks, and airfare for animals are costly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis yan mga binanggit totoong costly talaga sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago