First Emergency Visit of the Year

14 57
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Blog, Life

Hello guys. I am really sorry for quite an absence. A lot of you know I have been suffering from C7 Spine injury and it has really been getting worst lately. Saturday last week, I finally gave in and went to my doctor to ask for some proper pain relief for nerve pain as I desperately needed my sleep. I have been sleep deprived for weeks it was affecting my work performance. I tried chiropractic interventions and physiotherapy but only had minimal relief.

She kindly prescribed me some Amitriptyline which is majorly an antidepressant but on low doses causes relief of nerve pain and can make me drowsy for sleep. I was really hopeful about it but at 2 AM Sunday last week the pain woke me up again and this time it was not pins and needles but more of an electric shock. I waited for it to go away as it usually does when I stand up and get out of bed but after 4 hours it was still there. So I woke Andrea up and called 111 because I wanted to go to the hospital.

On 111 assessment they classified me as an ambulance emergency but said the waiting time was 3 hours. I declined it and asked if I can go via taxi instead as I know 3 hours is an optimistic prediction. My boyfriend and I headed to the hospital and I was really dreading it as horror stories been told of how busy the emergency department is. Luckily I picked a none busy day to be sick. The wait was only an hour.

The ED Doctor assessed me and said to me what I am feeling is basically like sciatica but on the upper extremities. She was concerned as it has been going on for quite a while and I am starting to lose some function on my hands. She prescribed me a stronger nerve medication called Gabapentin and asked me to see my GP again to ask for a referral for an MRI. I breathed a sign of relief as I have been wanting an MRI for a long time but the GPs usually try to leave it as last option due to its expensiveness.

Andrea and I went to the pharmacy and got the new medication and had breakfast and headed back home for some snooze. The medication is proving to be quite effective and I haven't slept so well in ages. I decided to call in sick the next day to recuperate and to visit my GP. My GP has been marvelous and referred me for urgent MRI.

After 3 days I had it scheduled and now just awaiting for the results which will be in 3 weeks time. Part of me is wishing it is nothing sinister and can be fixed without surgery but part of me just wants it to be fixable instantly by surgery as I do not want to rely on medication all my life.

Despite this ordeal, I am still pretty thankful for having such a supportive and kind boyfriend who was with me through it all. And for God for putting me in a country where healthcare is free. Hoping that the rest of my 2023 would be healthier and more pain free. Hope you guys have been on a better state health-wise this year. ❀️

5
$ 0.63
$ 0.50 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.08 from @Porwest
$ 0.03 from @Unity
+ 1
Sponsors of flapiz
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for flapiz
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: My Story, Blog, Life

Comments

Your still so blessed despite of your physical situation because your healthcare is free, unlike in our country where we need to spend to much before we get healed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes some positive and light in this painful situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very sorry to hear this. Pain is never any fun and I hope you get feeling better and get some relief very soon.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much. The waiting is killing me. Another week before my results and the medications are starting to not work.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Oh I didn't know!! I was just thinking recently where have you gone. I sure hope everything turns back to normal for you soonπŸ™ I'm glad you got some relief from medicine and got some rest. It can't be easy waiting three weeks for results.

May your journey be quick and pain free. Oh give Andrea a fist pump from me πŸ‘Š for his concern and caring for you. Take care and I hope the best results for you.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you so much Mr. Cool. I feel like I missed out on a lot. I have been trying not to bother the emergency department as I know they are busy and I wasn't dying but I think I waited too long in suffering. Andrea has been awesome. I will relay your virtual fist pump. I am praying the result day comes quicker.

How's life on your side of the world though?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I've been pretty busy working like crazy trying to retract a busy month of spending in December. I won't say how many hours I worked this week 🀫 I did crash one night early but now I'm up late after waking up and not able to fall asleep

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I need to recover from December too. Such a difficult time for me as salary was a week early last month. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hey friend how are you doing now?

$ 0.00
11 months ago

May you get a healthy and peaceful life in 2023.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you my friend and you as well. Health is the greatest wealth.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoping 2023 relieves you from all pain a. s you have a supportive partner . Let Almighty give you a have a healthy year ahead

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much Sashaa. How's your new year been?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So far good dear. Lets pray for a better tomorrow for all of us in read.cash.

$ 0.00
1 year ago