Day 2 - Member.Cash theme dev

1 279
Avatar for feels
Written by
3 years ago

Wow,

I did not realise how popular my first post would be. Just under 200 views - I guess this is the theme a number of people are waiting on now... so no pressure 🙃

Toady has been very productive and rather than waffle on I want to dive right in...

Organisation

SCSS project setup

As I this is the first SCSS theme for member.cash that I can tell. I have created a style hierarchy starting the with any plugins, then moving to core base items, components come next and finally the page styles.

This allows for granular control over the theme development.

Custom HTML

Through the magic of the internet I have spoken with FreeTrade and when asked about adding/modifying html elements has stated

Yes I think we'll need to balance the improvements your theme brings with the impact on existing themes, but generally if it's an improvement to the HTML and keeps or increases the content/style separation, I'm happy to make it.

This is super useful as the current layout does not easily accommodate for a mobile hamburger menu, which was one of the goals setting out on the project

Twitter Meets Reddit

Member.cash takes the best bits of reddit and twitter, allowing you to post short content or post full articles. Toady I finalised (90%) the styles for both types of post and comments

Simple "Tweet"

Full fat post with formatting

Create "tweets" and "posts"

I spent a lot of time today wrestling with the styles on the "new post" page.

First load
With all the content

Whats next?

  • Settings page

  • Sticky footer

  • Mobile navigation

  • Tools page.

  • Map page,

  • Many many more things...

  • Cleanup

If your interested in this project please follow me on read.cash.

Sponsors of feels
empty
empty
empty

18
$ 3.18
$ 2.00 from @jimtendo
$ 0.50 from @mtrycz
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 4
Sponsors of feels
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for feels
Written by
3 years ago