‘What is success other than a state of mind?’

25 79
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Saturday, 27th of November 2021

I started writing about success months ago, but I guess I got side-tracked and did other things instead. The fact that I am now writing is a success on its own. It's actually Day 6 of daily writing and posting an article here. This is even more success that I probably wouldn't be able to explain if I tried. @Olasquare knows!

The title of this article is all that has been rambling in my head for weeks. I started reading the scrolls from ‘The greatest salesman in the world’ by Og Mandino again in June, after a good few years of break. The way to read the scrolls is to read each one of them 3 times daily for a month. Since I did it already in this manner once, this time I decided I will be doing it twice - morning and evening. Most of what’s written in these scrolls is still very vivid in my memory, so all I need is a little refresher. 

I would say doing it consistently the first time round was another huge success if I can remember it so well.

The sentence which I used for the title is a quote from Scroll I: 

‘The greatest salesman in the world’ by Og Mandino

It is not that different from what @CoquiCoin defined as success - it varies from one person to another.

What is a success for me?

Well, I guess it is whatever makes me happy and that changes too, with time. When I was a young girl I though that finding someone I love and they would love me back would be a success. Then this happened and it did make me happy, but I realised that my definition of happiness/success was incomplete.

Next I thought if only I can get a good education, then I can get a good job and be able to afford things I wasn't able to afford earlier and that would be a success. I did that too and sure it was a great success, because nobody really bet on me that I would be able to do it, so it was even more satisfying. Did it really make me happy though? I little, at the beginning, but I really disliked getting up early in the morning.

'If only I could buy my own house and a better car, I would be really happy' I thought to myself next. Of course I did that too and again - great success and I was happy too, but I continued to search.

With time I realised that success has many faces and happiness can be found in the journey to that next big goal. It lays in between the lines and can surprise us at any given moment. It is not constant, it comes and goes and we get better at catching it when we appreciate little things in life.

These days I am generally happy most of the time. I consider it a great success too! Celebrating every little success on a daily basis sure helps me too:

  • Having amazing, supportive friends is a success.

  • Getting up earlier than usual, because I'm excited about what the day can bring is a success.

  • Arriving safely at my parents house and spending lovely 2 weeks with them is a success.

  • Being consistent at writing and posting articles is a success.

  • Learning a new thing is a success.

  • Getting my bum of the sofa and going for a walk is a success.

  • Making a good investment is a success.

  • Finding a good car mechanic is a success.

  • Having an appointment cancelled and then rescheduled for half an hour later is a success.

  • Loosing my wallet and finding it on the street market full of people is a success.

  • Growing a plant from the seed is a success.

  • Making an orchid bloom is a success.

  • Getting a tip from Rusty is a success.

  • Winning an arena battle in Axie Infinity is a success.

  • Having a fun evening with friends is a success.

  • Making someone smile is a success.

  • Passing an application to become a foster carer is a success.

  • Helping someone else solving a problem is a success.

  • Restoring a relationship you counted as lost is a

So you see, I consider myself a very successful person, even though if someone else looked at my life they might not agree. Does it matter though? Not really. Living a life being true to yourself without worrying about what other people might think is also a great success.

This post is written for the Writing Prompt #9: Success by @JonicaBradley . You can pick any topic from the list and join this challenge too.

The rules are simple.

  1. Join the Promptly Jonica community here

  2. Write anything about success

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Submit your article to PromptlyJonica

  5. Have fun!

That's it for today.

Until next time 💙

17
$ 10.59
$ 10.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
+ 11
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

Success is also in the little things we accomplish every day. And I agree that success is a state of mind, but as I wrote at the time is not a final state. It's always changing and we look for more and that's the good thing, we keep looking to achieve success in something different every time. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very true Eliana. How are you doing? Still busy with Hive? 💙

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was also misled by the definition of success coming from most of the people where we need to get a good job, house, income, etc. But doing what we love and enjoy is a great success already and it can only be defined by ourselves.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm super happy that you realised all this so early Bry 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in college -my mindset about success is: having the highest position of work, getting more money, and spent it all, having a handsome boyfriend -lol, having a luxurious life, etc., But now my success definition has changed. Instead, I appreciate the simple life more and even the little things I have now are success to me. I feel happy and relaxed. ^_^

Grateful that I came to read. cash today and read your article. I get motivated after reading. God bless you, ma'am. Take care on your life's journey. Continue inspiring people with your writing. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Ann. Looks like our journey and approach to life is in fact very similar. Thank you for reading and leaving this insightful comment too 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am inspired and we need to understand what success is actually. Success is when we feel happy when we accomplish something in our lives. When we eat good food, it's a success. When we sleep and wake up, it's a success. I love this

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Princess. You’ve got it girl 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success is in fact sleeping and waking up the next day

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is true. Thank you for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we can achieve something by working hard, it is called real success. The definition of success is a little different to me. When I want something different and I get it, I think it is success. good writing mate.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Of course, we are all different and that’s the beauty of it all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are smart my friend smart = success success = smart clever + success = successful.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success to me is when I achieved something different through my own little effort 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That’s true Jane 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Success! 6 days in a row and that's success... Oh yes, I know... And I am proud of you. How was your touch down in the Netherlands? I need the juicy details, Mo.

No doubt, success is relative and each person would find its own.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for always being here for me Ola. I’m still in NL, so not much time for details now, but we’ll sure catch up when I’m back home 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely... I trust we will. Take care and have fun... I can't waitttttt 😍😍😍😍🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Managed to write today too! 7 days streak is long enough. Time to rest now :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha no rest... the month is almost over so let's finish it till the end of the month, Mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't. It's intense here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand and glad you did 😍🥰❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I skipped yesterday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's forgiven hahaha...this is way better than previous months, so I'd take this haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago