Summary of my first month’s crypto journey

68 124
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Yesterday was a beautiful day, weather wise, but also emotionally very taxing. My past has come back to bite me in the ass and brought a lot of tears with it. I was so tired that I went to sleep before I managed to finish this report, but a good side to it is that now I have all the data, including the last day of May.

Technically speaking it is more than a month since I joined these 2 awesome platforms. My first day on both of them was 13/04, but it took me a while to get my head around how they operate.

Knowing nothing about how the crypto world works I wanted a quick and easy solution. Using my read.cash integrated wallet for noise.cash seemed like a great idea, although later on it turned out to be quite the opposite. For the longest time I was not able to upvote any articles here, even though I had more than enough in my wallet. I would just see an error message whenever I tried. I imported my wallet into Bitcoin.com wallet and it was great to see the cents adding up there, but I still couldn’t tip other users. I tend to get rather stressed when I can’t understand the issue I’m facing or the reason for it. It put me off writing here for a couple of weeks, until I realised that I am using this as an excuse not to write!


Later I found out that my integrated wallet couldn’t handle many micro tips from noise.cash. This technically changed nothing, but now at least I knew what was causing the problem. A little later I had an inspired idea in the middle of the night and imported my seed phrase from newly opened wallet into my account here and even though it was showing a balance of 0.00 which was not true, as soon as I got a few cents in it from generosity of other users, I tested it and... it worked! Finally I was able to give tips to other users and I was over the moon!

Not the clearest picture of the moon, but you get the idea.

I had not a scooby-doo about how I will integrate it all, as the way crypto works is still kinda black magic for me. I am a mathematician and an engineer and I am used to making sense of things easily, but the truth is that I haven’t done all that much to actually educate myself about it all. I read a couple of articles here and some half posts on noise and I’m expecting to know it all.

Time for reality check Monika!

From the snippets of knowledge I gathered during this month and a half I understood some basic things:

  • As long as I have my seed phrase in a safe place, my hard earned crypto is safe and there is a way to get it into my wallet. I might not fully understand how, but this information helps me sleep at night ; )

  • When my desired crypto is down 50% from what it was a day or week before and everyone is lamenting, it’s not a time to join them in their laments, it is a time to work as hard as I can, because every cent I earn now is worth 2 cents. It’s like double pay for working on Sunday, except that it can be any day of the week.

  • It’s really not all that important which wallet I go for. I can have many of them and move my assets quite easily once I get my head around how it works.

Right now I have 4 wallets attached to my read.cash account and 8 different places that I keep my Bitcoin Cash and a few other coins. Some of them are wallets, others are exchanges and part of the reason why I have so many is because I couldn’t quite get the difference between the two. I thought they were all wallets and it confused the shit out of me that some have seed phrases, while others don’t, some can be attached to your bank account and for others you can even order a physical paying card.

As confusing as it might sound for someone else, having so many wallets, websites and apps helps me understand how these things work, because one of my favourite ways of learning is by working it all out for myself.

I have so many wallets - I am rich!

There is also something magical about this many walletness* mess. It makes me feel rich! You might laugh, but to me it feels like I have many streams of income. So many in fact that I can get lost counting how much money I have!

I won’t even pretend to understand the whole crypto world (yet), but on some level it all makes sense and I am confident that cryptocurrency is the way forward and it is my long awaited way into financial freedom.

One reason which made me jump from one job to another in the past was boredom. I love the learning curve in every new work place - new systems, products, part numbers, most often occurring issues and obviously the people, their habits and their names! A few months in I would grasp it all and see everyone’s patterns and behaviours and my frustration would reach the peak. I could solve a lot of the issues the companies were facing and give them some easy solutions, but that’s really not what people want. They love the routine and they love moaning about their job and their co-workers.

Before I go on a tangent about workplaces, which could be yet another topic for an article I retract to where I actually was going with it. There is no boredom in the cryptocurrency world and there is almost an unlimited learning curve. I dig that.

May 2021 summary in numbers

Anyway, let’s get some numbers going here. After collecting data from all my 8 storage places I worked out that I have amassed approximately 0.164 BCH which in the current price of Bitcoin Cash equals to $111.36 or in my preferred currency - £78.61. That doesn’t involve my ‘tipping wallet’ which currently has $12.93 in it and what I already spent on tipping and sponsorship of other writers here on read.cash. It just feels really good that I can pay some of my earnings forward.

Fun fact - I just realised I am exactly No 100 on the list of tippers on this platform!

0.164 BCH - is this a lot or is it little? It is a lot less than some other users got and a lot more than others. I don’t really like playing comparison games unless it is with myself.
It really doesn’t matter all that much. It is infinitely more than I ever got from Facebook or WordPress combined in all the years I've been using these platforms and it is money that I received for basically having fun and doing things I enjoy doing.

The growth and learning I experienced during my short time here is priceless.

My first article Getting paid for playing games earned me 4 cents, but over 1 month after I published it.

My second and most viewed one (329 views) My 'love-hate' relationship with snails was already $1.77.

My last one in May The River of Change was already $18.66 and I am so very happy with this progress.

I wrote a total of 10 articles, some better than others and I have made a few lovely connections here and many more on sister platform.

I know I mentioned it in my last article, but I found myself a writing buddy @Judith1969 and we both set ourselves a target of $100 just here on read.cash for the month of June. I stopped setting targets and goals for myself a long time ago, because not achieving them and things not going to the plan would often make me feel disappointed. It is however time to set myself something to work towards and have a reason to celebrate once I achieve it. I feel that I really need this in my life right now.

Is $100 in June a realistic goal?

One could say it isn’t, considering that I 'only' earned $59.64 in roughly 1.5 month until now. Looking at the growth I experienced in that time however and my birthday task of writing for a minimum of 1 hr 20 minutes daily I reckon it is more than achievable. Writing prompts from @JonicaBradley also help on this journey. I feel this article could actually fit well into the Motivation topic for this week, but I actually want to stretch myself some more, so I will write about it separately.

I don’t set any targets for noise.cash however, because I want to retain the feeling of fun and I simply love how things constantly change and flow there. Being part of the noisy community is exciting and full of surprises. I love this. The only thing I will do differently is that I emptied the wallet I am currently using for noise.cash yesterday and at the end of June I will have a clear number on how much noisy dollars I have earned in a month.

So here it is. My May 2021 report and my June 2021 goal. If you managed to read until now, I congratulate you and I am also very grateful for your time. Please leave a comment below, so I can get excited by seeing the red bell in my read.cash account and also check out your profile.

Ohh.. I almost forgot. I also have 22 potential readers. Last time I remember it being 7 on the 1st of May, when I was writing my article for @Panky and his website https://cashreview.co.uk/

I don't find this number overly important, but it is good to know that more and more people enjoy reading what I write.

Until next time 💙

****************************************************************

* Don't try looking it up in the dictionary. It's not there yet, because I only just created it!

18
$ 8.62
$ 7.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @BSzandra
$ 0.10 from @Panky
+ 5
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

I would love to read her posts as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woooww! You motivated me even more. Thank you for sharing your experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so nice to hear! Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good article. Thanks for sharing it with us too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. What a choice of nickname!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excelente y muy interesante esta publicacion !!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As you yourself have said, there are still many things to learn in the world of cryptocurrencies, because that world is just growing. Good article, I really enjoyed reading your experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no doubt! There is always room for growth in everything we do, but even more so cryptocurrency world. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done, it's a very good experience. I REALLY LIKED YOUR ARTICLE

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Ricardo, I am happy to hear you enjoyed reading about my experiences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to read her posts as well and I love you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Devourer. Click on their nicknames and you can read more for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a very good article. There should definitely be more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I am writing more for sure :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

muy bien excelente me gusto te apoyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

muy bien es agradable te apoyo excelente

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apenas comienzo a interesarme por las Cristo, consideró que sus comentario al respecto son interesantes. Quiero alcanzar el éxito en este mundo y me gustaría seguir leyendo sus comentarios.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind words. I’d love to see more of you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You wrote a very good article Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I loved it fantastic.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m glad you enjoyed reading it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing Article. Great Help! Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much fantagira for such interesting recommendations, they will help us a lot so as not to have problems with our bitcoin account

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I though so too that it will be of help to someone if I share my experiences. Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love read this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to read her posts as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just click the nickname you want to read more from and it will take you to their articles. Enjoy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep it up, it's nice

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you for sharing your success story with the site, it will be sure inspiring for others to try their best

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Omar, I appreciate you reading it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

keep it up fantagira . The way you learned about crypto is very appreciable. excellent article

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for stopping by and reading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! You're doing awesome, Fanta!!! I think you have more wallets than I do hehe. I have been into crypto since 2014! Keep it up, my beautiful friend! You gonna be rich someday, that's for sure ;)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Cheryl. I first started some time in 2017, I was mining for a little while, then got bored. This year I found out the platform I was using no longer exist, so starting again :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really stopped setting goals for my noise.cash too because I just want to have fun and interact more with people there and I would say for a month plus, you did so well. I would be thrilled to get half of that, haha but it is a show of your patience, hard work, resilience and desire to learn so there is so much to learn from you on those.

Yes, the seed phrase is important and you can keep as many wallets as you can as long as you have access to your seed phrase.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Aww, thank you so much. What is your actual name if I may ask?

Yes, noise.cash is such a great and friendly place for this. I love nature and taking pictures of it and talking/writing about it comes naturally to me. I think part of the success is authenticity and a genuine interaction.

How long have you been on both of these platforms?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My actual name is Olawale Oladoja. Thank you so much, I just saw your support. It means a whole lot to me.

I have been on noise cash for a while now since inception. I had been on read cash for a while and I had issue with my account back then. I just left it. I wrote a poem and submitted it into a channel, I wrote it in italics and bold prints. Someone took offence and told me to stop writing poems in bold prints. That was the last of it. I noticed no one was seeing my comments anymore. It was painful because I was just getting noticed by Rusty back then.

I was so pained and had to just stick to my noise.cash until I decided to start all over again here. Even on the old account, I wasn't noticed that much until Rusty came before the unfortunate event.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww, that is very sad story. Did you try maybe deleting the poem in bold? Wouldn't it improve a situation maybe?

I have couple friends here who either haven't been noticed by Rusty at all or one who wrote 1 small article that 2 people downvoted and now he's marked as spam and his comments also don't show under my posts. It is sad to see. On one side I am happy to be doing well here, on the other side I am sad for my friends who don't seem to be able to get a second chance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never even thought about deleting the poem, maybe it would have helped. I didn't even notice on time until someone messaged me and told me to stop wasting my time 🤣🤣😂 because I won't get noticed again. It hurts, so much. I was enjoying Rusty for 2 weeks then and my best moment yet as at that time.

I am glad to be back here and feel blessed for this second chance which I won't joke with. My poems are in italics and no longer in bold prints 🤣🤣😂🤣. We learn every day.

If your friends can open a new account, it might help them. It hurts because I was away too but at least it should be better for then that way to still continue on a new account.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of them in on her second account, but with not much luck either. It is very sad to see, as her writing is improving with every piece she writes. I hope she will succeed eventually.

Yes, we live and learn and I wish this account will be much more successful. Everyone should be able to get the second chance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely. Thank you so much. What's her handle? I would love to read her posts as well. I hope Rusty smiles on her. It would be helpful. It can be discouraging having to open a second one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Her second account is @BSzandra . Sure, check her out ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will definitely do that. Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Such many wallets! I only have one. I set a daily goal for noise of $2 a day. Even though noise is just for fun but earning while having fun is a bonus. Good luck to both of us! I hope there will be others to join us in our $100 journey. 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, that would be great, although a few of my friends here are struggling with no attention from Rusty. I hope soon they can enjoy the full benefits of it too. For now I am happy to have you as my motivational buddy. Together is easier 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Want to make a 100, well get off your arse and write more, simples

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! Easier said that done 😅 You sure must know this Ed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It took me quite a long while to understand which is an exchange and which is a wallet and why some crypto can be stored here and not there. Confused the hell out of me, and especially, which exchange or wallet uses which network. Everyday is indeed still a learning process, when I am so lazy to read up dry topics like crypto and finance. I just want to cheer myself up with photos of cute dogs and beautiful flowers.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha! Totally agree. I need to find myself an entertaining Crypto educator - I am so fussy about who I want to listen to or read from. Most crypto articles I’m yawning before the introduction starts, others could just as well be written in Chinese 😅 Then come the videos and most of them have the tone for which I wanna slap them in the face before they even start explaining! What does one do? I need to search for more suitable options I guess.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck Monica! I trust you, I know that you can earn $100 very easy in Jun.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Roman. You're my faithful reader here too. Lots of love to you 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maker of new words ✔️ proud partner of a Donkey ( that loves snails) ✔️Bored to death in job after a few months✔️making me smile and even Laugh in a Daily bases ✔️ And so much more!!! You will reach your goal...or not...who cares...i mean, just keep writing because i want to keep reading and who knows...maybe you and @panky make me interested in 💰 after all 😂😂 No CoinCidences finding you in my path 🙈🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I will be honest - the happy sitting dance/song I just did after reading this comment would be difficult to describe even by the best of writers! 😅 I absolutely love that we have found each other and yes... we'll make yo fall in love with money again. It's not evil - we are! 😅🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha challenge accepted! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention. I don't necessarily understand all the ins and outs of crypto. I'm getting there. I hope I can earn enough to visit all the places on my travel list!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am sure you will Jonica. We are creating our little mastermind alliance here with a common goal of financial freedom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fantastic article! I think your goals are not unreachable! You can do it as long as you keep to your daily writing goals lol I find having so many wallets also enriching lol I went on a wallet the other week to find that the rise in btc raised my wallet to over £100 with the year I had forgotten about it! 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for your encouragement Carl. £100 surprise - I love this! It's like finding money in a jacket you haven't worn for ages, back when we all still used money 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the new word what you created 😄 you always make me smile. And i also have a lot of wallets, but honestly I don’t use all, I just searched the best. So now, I use Bitcoin.com and Binance. And StormGain but only because of the miner 😄

You will achieve your goal easily ❤️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am very happy to be able to make you smile Szandra. Btw... do you prefer to be called Szandra or Alexandra?

Many walletness is good for practice for you too then, as in to decide which one you like the most. I find bitcoin.com to have high fees for sending BCH, is it the same for you?

Thank you 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, but there was high fees because of the lot of transaction by noise.cash. Now the fee is so much less for me. But it’s expensive to buy. Buy 30$ bch 5$ fee... on Binance I bought 30$ btc with 1$ fee... and I prefer Szandra. 🙂 but I got a lot of name online like Zandra, Ale, Alex etc and I like all of it 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, that is good to know! I never knew that our fees depend on those little transactions, thank you my lovely.

Ahh, good. Szandra is easy and short. My dad’s name is Aleksander and the usual short name for it is Olek, but nobody knows him by his real name, as everyone calls him Leszek or Monkey 🐒 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago