Orchid day

17 70
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Friday, 1st of October 2021

September has ended and my notifications are flooded with September reports, but I decided to leave mine's for another day and write about something else instead. Of course I already read and will read as many of yours as I can, because I really enjoy reading about how well people did. It is always very inspiring for me and just a reminder of how grateful I am for our two amazing sister sites.

Day started early for me

Today started very early for me - 7:30am. I usually roll out of bed or sofa around 10am, because I stay up very late at night. Today was different, because I was woken up by my painful belly. Instead of swallowing pills and going back to bed, I decided to start my day early.

It didn't look like it was going to be nice day at all. The sky was dark and gloomy and intermittent rain was disturbing my morning coffee routine. In between the rain, I picked up my secateurs and trimmed a few roses and other spent flowers in my garden then went inside to play Splinterlands.

While eating my lunch I realised that the weather changed completely. The clouds and gloominess were gone and the sun was shining right in my face, inviting me to come outside. I decided to take this invitation make use of a nice weather. After all we’re in October now, so I don’t expect many more shiny days like today.

Since I dived deeply into the online world, my orchid babies were badly neglected. It was about time that they get some proper feeding session. Sunny weather is best for fertilising orchids, as they’re able to better absorb all the nutrients.

Perfect weather for fertilising orchids

Initially I was only planning to feed a few orchids from kitchen and dining room areas, but I still had plenty of already mixed fertiliser left afterwards, so the orchids from living room joined too. Soon I was not able to walk through my patio, as it was filled witch orchids.

Majority on my collection enjoying the sun

I left them in fertilised water for a bit too long than I should, but I hope my babies will forgive me for that. Feeding time is a good time to inspect my collection. I found a few with some tiny bugs, a few others needed clean up and a few others didn’t do too well in their current spot, so I had to find them a new one.

Orchids ICU in my kitchen sink

Those that needed extra attention ended up in the kitchen sink, sprayed with home made pesticides and cleaned up. A few will stay in the kitchen for longer, because I need to keep them under observation. Their pseudo bulbs were shrivelled and they will need extra spraying in between watering. I spend a lot of time in the kitchen and all the watering and spraying bottles are there too, so it is more likely that I will give them more attention if they’re here.

Crazy Cattleya roots

Some of my orchids grow crazy roots! Especially Cattleya type orchids, but not only. On the picture above you can see 2 of my Catleya’s. Their roots are very strong and attach themselves easily to any object. I accidentally broke a few of those beautiful roots while moving them out of pots after feeding. Hopefully it didn’t hurt them too badly.

My Masdevalia orchid in bloom

Before all of my babies were back in their spots it was already dark outside. It took me probably good 3-4 hours to do it all and that’s not even my whole collection. This reminded me why I’ve been postponing these feeding sessions for so long… it takes ages to do!

Big lips Phalaenopsis in bloom

Then I look at the pictures of my orchids in bloom and they remind me why I do it all - orchids are simply amazing and most of them reward me for the care I give them all year round with beautiful flowers once a year. Some flower for a few days, other for a few months, but I am happy that there is always something in bloom in my house all year round.

Oncidium Twinkle smells like cinnamon when it blooms

Thank you for reading guys. Hope your October started well and you all had a great and productive day. Check out the short post I posted earlier today for some goodies.

Until next time 💙

17
$ 8.95
$ 8.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 9
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

Big lips look like Dendrobiums or is it? I have the same orchid like that too! Pretty collections, Monika!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, no it’s not Dendrobium, it’s Phalaenopsis sis. Thank you 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have so many orchids there.. My boss loves orchids too as well as my mother

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have too many to care for 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those orchids are in good hands for they are blooming as strong as the sun. I'm not sure I've seen the Masdevalia before. It was the opposite here. The day started okay but quickly turned dark and rained a bit.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks Lee. Today it’s pissing down with rain 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your orchids, Monika. And how nice that you always have a flower blooming in your house. And how curious the Oncidium Twinkle that smells like cinnamon. I don't think I've ever seen one before.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Twinkle is one of the most adorable orchids I own and also very easy to grow. I loves to be watered often unlike other orchids. I added a new colour to my collection this year. Will post pics when the flowers open 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I look forward to seeing those pics ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your phalaenopsis orchids look great! How's the end of season rewards in Splinterlands?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Not great Bry! I missed 20 points to enter Bronze II, so I got only 5 chest, but I guess that’s good for a noob like me 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They recommend now getting into silver 3 for better rewards. Maybe you can reinvest your axie earnings soon there. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, maybe, but first I need to reach a required level in the arena 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You sure love your orchids, giving them so much attention. I am not sure i fancy anything like that

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It’s a big commitment to have so many of them, but I believe everyone can care for one or two orchids. They’re amazing plants 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Orchids gives life's this one of the reasons everyone needs to have it at home or a garden for it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, even one or two will brighter your day 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago