Mushrooms, mushrooms everywhere!

23 67
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Wednesday, 13th of October 2021

Last week we had many rainy days. I didn’t mind, as I was indoors most of the days, ideally under blankets to sweat off the nasty bug that I caught. It’s nice to have an excuse to be a bit lazy, but you know me and Ernesto. He loves to do things his way, which is always the opposite way. Tell Ernesto he can’t do something and he wants to do just that!

Luckily we have Axie Infinity now which is a nice 2 in 1 solution - work and fun together. So we played endless battles in arena and adventure and we had lots of laughter in the AxieBCH Mojo Discord group. It’s seriously my favourite place to be these days. Diving deeper and deeper into the SmartBCH sphere is also kinda 2 in 1, as I really enjoy the learning curve.

Time for an exercise!

After a week of this fun, but also very static life I wanted to swap the kitchen floor and I felt pain in my lower back and also back of my tights. Oh no! I couldn’t even touch the floor with my hands without bending my knees. That is when I knew it was time to start exercising again. Nights are rather cold already here in England, but days are rather nice and sunny, so I decided it was time to visit my beloved forest.

To be honest I kinda forgot it was Tuesday, the day I usually go to my friend’s place to have a salsa class together, so of course I overdone it and today I am painful allover my legs and bum, but it’s that nice kind of pain which tells me I did something good for myself.

Walking to the forest I was really hoping to find some Porcini mushrooms. These are my very favourite of all mushrooms. Maybe Oysters only come close to the taste of Porcini. I was dreaming about eating them fried in butter 😍



Hedgehog mushrooms

First edibles I found were of course hedgehog mushrooms. These grow abundantly in our forest.

Hedgehog mushrooms

It seems as though not many people know they’re edible, which is great, because there is more for me 😅 To be honest I also didn’t know they were edible. From the distance they reminded me of chanterelle mushrooms and I was super excited to find one last year, only to leave it where I found it after I looked underneath the hat.

Spikes underneath the hat of hedgehogs

I know Chanterelle mushrooms very well, because I’ve been picking these since I was a child. They definitely don’t have spikes underneath their hats!

But last year was kinda magical mushrooms time for me. When I introduced my ex partner to the magical world of wild mushrooms, he got pretty obsessed with them.

Last year’s monster hedgehogs

He started reading and watching YouTube videos about mushrooms and even downloaded an app for mushrooms identification. That’s how we learned that Hedgehog mushrooms are cousins of Chanterelle’s and they are also edible. The name of course come from the spikes, which are very much hedgehog like.

I personally find the taste of Hedgehog Mushrooms nice, but also very strong. I can only eat so much of them, so yesterday I didn’t pick that many. Good thing is that they freeze well. Last year I fried them in butter and stored in the freezer and every time I picked them up and made scrambled eggs with them, the taste was the same as those freshly picked.

Unknown mushroom species

Of course not all mushrooms are safe for consumption by humans. Even though I’ve been mushroom foraging since I was a child, I only know a few species of edible mushrooms.

Not sure if edible, but a nice mushroom family here

There might be more of them, but my general rule is that if I’m unsure, I leave them behind. I still like to take pictures of them, because fungi world is just so fascinating for me. Those above are a perfect example of it. I don’t know them, but they’re sure cute to capture.

Easy to spot, but not edible

There are some mushrooms that are genuinely get excited to see, even though they’re not edible. One of them is Amanita Muscaria (or Fly Agaric), a well know Super Mario mushroom as some call it.

Amanita Muscaria mushrooms

Many people think, quite rightly so that these are poisonous mushrooms. Not many know that an adult would have to eat around 15 raw caps of these. Most of their toxicity can be reduced by boiling and in some countries people actually eat these cuties. Another fun fact is that they have hallucinogenic properties, so some people use it for tis purpose too. I must say that I’ve never been brave enough to try these or any other hallucinogenic mushrooms.

There are 2 reasons why I get excited seeing these. Firstly because they are so beautiful! You can spot them from a distance thanks to its cheerful and bright colour. Secondly because they often grow in close proximity to my favourite Porcini mushrooms, as they prefer similar conditions.

Cute little Amanita mushroom

Of course this is not ALWAYS the case, but yesterday was my lucky day! When I spotted this little cutie, I started to look around more carefully and I found pieces of Porcini’s laying nearby. Squirrels also love Porcini’s and they also like to make a mess of them. They pick some pieces and discard the rest, little buggers.

Upon closer inspection I finally found these:

Tiny Porcini mushrooms

As you can see, the hat of one of them is bitten by the squirrel. I don’t mind though, as long as there is some left for me. They are a part of Boletus family and there are many edible mushrooms in this family. These can grow much much bigger and I would usually leave the little ones to grow some more, but yesterday I was just too eager to taste them fried in butter again after a year of waiting.

Another baby Porcini

The little ones are also more tasty, so I was super excited. In general it is also not advisable to pick mushrooms that are not fully grown. This is due to the fact that it is easy to make mistake and pick the wrong mushroom before it is fully developed for identification. When it comes to these, I’m 99.99% sure what they are, because I picked them from the same spot I picked them last year.

Porcini’s ready to be fried

Plus I’m still alive after I ate them last night! They were just as delicious as I remembered them.

And frying…

That will be it for today. If you guys like this little introduction to mushrooms, I might write some more about other species I find in the nearby forest. Drop me a comment below.

Until next time 💙

18
$ 5.99
$ 5.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.15 from @stevea68
+ 12
Sponsors of fantagira
empty
empty
Avatar for fantagira
2 years ago

Comments

I never knew mushroom has this much species, I have only seen one type in my life and I don't even know the name, and I don't think I want to eat it 😬😬

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, there are 1000's more different mushrooms, but I only captured a few of those I know and find in the nearby forest :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not seen a mushroom yet that I can identify as edible. I really lacked knowledge regarding them. This article is quite educational.

Though I ate mushrooms but they come from the cans. 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Edible mushrooms are not so common or easy to find. I hear you can buy mushroom grow kits though and grow them at home. I wanna try this too one day 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love mushrooms. However, there are not many varieties of mushrooms here. You took a good walk in the woods. And I hope you feel well already.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, always a great feeling walking in the forest. Last 2 days I was walking with Crystal and Kylo 💙💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mushroom cooked in butter and making it a filling for the omelette sounds so yummy. Make it crispy next time too like mushroom chips. The one that looks like a real life super mario mushroom is awesome too. It looks so attractive in real life. It would be nice if it's edible too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I had the last batch crispy, but next time I won't fry them too much. I like the taste more when they're not too crispy, but I always keep them too long on the stove 😅 Some people eat Amanitas, but I wouldn't risk it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This reminds me of when i was younger, i went ho😂me with a bag full of mushroom , happy i'm taking something home to mum. but on getting home i was told i brought the wrong one, it isn't edible.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha, that's funny. Last year we got also got some inedible ones. They were so bitter that we couldn't eat them even if we tried. They looked just like other Boletes, but after this incident we learned how to tell them apart from the edibles :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hydnum repandum, hedgehog mushroom, is a basidiomycete fungus of the family Hydnaceae. First described by Carl Linnaeus in 1753. This mushroom is so testy, I eat this mushroom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I envy you! I have always wanted to being able to recognise which mushrooms are edible and which not! Fresh mushrooms are the best :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah yes, heaven in mouth 😋 I learned when I was a child, always foraging with my family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How do you know if the mushroom is edible? It's really dangerous to just eat any kind of mushroom from the woods 😅 they can be toxic

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It sure is. I learned how to recognise them when I was a child still. My nan lives in the middle of woodlands and we were always foraging with my family. I only pick those I know 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mo everywhere... Fantagirrrrrraaaaaaaaaaaaa everywhere... Your beauty and sweetness ooze everywhere... If you were a mushroom... I would guard you jealousy 🙈

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha, you make me laugh Ola :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love making you laugh. Tomorrow is my birthday, Mo. 🥰😍❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Looks delicious Monika.🤤🥰 I want to taste your cook. I always eat a mushroom too when we are living my sisters with my grandparents at fathers side.

I remember when it was my first time to eat a mushroom. I was so wow! It's really delicious.🥰 The reason I want to taste yours Monika. I missed mushroom already it's been five years I never got a chance to eat again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So jealous! Where I live, it's very dry and not a good climate for mushrooms. I keep on thinking about buying those grow at home kits. Thanks for all the pics - I love being outdoors and wild foraging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cooking tips by Fanta! This is great and delicious! I couldn´t help think about Super Mario Bros when I saw Amanita Muscaria mushrooms LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are lots of different mushrooms there. I wonder whats the taste of it as i dont eat those.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very cool article, Fanta. I've watched some videos on mushrooms too. There's not much opportunity here to find them in the city but they're still a fun subject. Nice that you've got some experience under your belt with them.

Good luck on your Shroom Hunting! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago