New Experiences as a Delivery Gal

6 42
Avatar for esmeesmith
1 year ago

It's been a while since I have written about my experience as a delivery gal. Food delivery and the grocery delivery has been going on good. And the experience on tat has been eye opening.

I think over a period of time I learned a lot of small things. I realized that if I make few changes in my approach it would be making a lot of difference in my overall ratings and the reviews.

Obviously I can't share my ratings and reviews here but I thought why not share my personal experience here as a delivery person. It'd definitely help anyone who is going to join such services.

So in this post, I am sharing sweet and bitter experience of the delivery job.

Some people treat you like a Homeless Jobless Person

Some people have very negative impression of the delivery people. They treat those people like the people who are into the delivery work are bad. Like people view them with same filters like they are looking and treating jobless homeless person.

I think the perception of delivery work as desperate job is definitely painful. A lot of people do this because they want to earn regular income which is not easy with the jobs outside. But people who are on the customer side view it negatively.

Good experience with the aged People

They seem to have a need for the people around. And old people or you can say aged people, they want new people to talk to. And so the delivery person around can be a good thing for them to enjoy the life. So being around such people is good.

I like to be around the old people. They are good with me as a delivery gal. And they tend to be also giving advice or say good things that would cheer you up as the time goes. So the experience is fun with them.

It's not easy job for women

Though the delivery services are now making this job from 7am in the morning to the 4 pm. And that would be eliminating the safety issues for the women. But still the job can be pretty unsafe for those who choose to outside the set limits.

More experiences would be in 2023

I feel for now, I am doing this 3 days a week for making things balanced. But in near future I would be getting the experience for this job with more efforts. I hope that a lot of experiences would be different in near future.

So how was your week so far? Anything new?

8
$ 2.16
$ 1.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 4
Sponsors of esmeesmith
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esmeesmith
1 year ago

Comments

I don't understand why someone would look upon delivery work. It's a hard job. Here in our place, I have only encountered one girl who made a delivery to me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it's cool for a gal to do delivery thing..only few women do that and you are cool to do that.. some people do look down other jobs just like waiters, janitors and etc, they think those people who works on that lines are lowly which is very toxic mindset.

Every job is worth sharing as long as you enjoy what you do. Just be careful always on your delivery.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's our familiarity we have in common;)

Yes delivering to the elderly mostly always feels good. They are often sweet and chatty.

Yes some people do look onto us as like we are poor needy individuals The truth is some drivers/workers give us a bad rap too. A lot of middle class individuals do this part time here. When customers ask what the earnings are like they are usually surprised.

I definitely see the safety for women in this profession. After dark sometimes brings a different kind of customer. I myself like to stop before dark and stay away from some neighborhoods

Thanks for this Esmee I really enjoyed hearing your perspectives and experiences being a delivery gal. Maybe I return the favor and write my perspectives /experiences in the future.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Definitely write about it :) Each month new experience. this year december holidays would be my first year as a delivery person so new experience that month too. :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well done. Any job is worth it. Many of my acquaintances in our hometown are working part-time as delivery staff in various supply chain companies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my weekday job is in IT and weekend job is as delivery gal. Keeps me humble.

$ 0.00
1 year ago