A Day Without Gadgets

26 102
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago
Topics: Experience, Tips

25 hours, 41 minutes and 50 seconds.

That's exactly how long I was disconnected from the outside world lol, I mean that's how long I've been disconnected from the internet after my phone's battery was drained the previous day.

It's been almost a month since electricity was cut off in the area where I live due to the typhoons that pummeled our region for three consecutive weeks. Until now, we only depend on a generator for power supply. Unfortunately, my dad and my brother were not home yesterday so there's no one to operate the generator, and we have to endure not having a power supply for almost two days. I don't own a power bank for back up, I can't charge my phone and I'm too lazy to go to town just to recharge it. So I ended up enduring a day without using any gadget and this is how my day went:

Woke up at 5:30 am, linger in bed for about 20 minutes staring at the ceiling doing nothing. Right this moment, I usually have my phone on my hand, whether scrolling on social media or reading some articles on read.cash. But it was different this morning, my phone was dead and I can only imagine how many comments I must reply when I get back on the site. After minutes of gawking in space, I decided to just get off the bed and opened the stove to heat up some water. Prepared breakfast and made my little sister drink her meds because she's been ill since the night before (and my mom's not home to look after her). Did some household chores. At 10:30 am, we had lunch prepared, so we don't have a choice but to eat it.

Lunch ended, and we're all bored to death, so we decided to just clean up the rooms and the kitchen, folded the clothes and arranged the stuffs that aren't kept yet since the typhoon. After a short while, my mom called on my sister's phone (thankfully my sister still has a 1% battery life), and told us to dry out the palay (rice) seeds in the sun, so we did because we don't have a choice but to obey her. We simultaneously cleaned the house while looking after the rice seeds. Talked about random things just to entertain ourselves, looked back on some memories. Slept at 12, woke up at 1 pm to resume with the chores. Imagined myself holding my phone and reading articles in read.cash again (sadly, it's just an imagination).

So basically, we did a lot of chores today since there is no gadget to distract us. The house is gleaming when my parents arrived this evening, we had the rice seeds dried up. And it feels so good to be disconnected from social media for at least a day.

In this day and age where a gadget is no longer a luxury, but a need, since most people use it for work, schooling and other online transactions, it is sometimes a challenge to keep ourselves away from our phones and other gadgets.

Several years ago owning a gadget is a luxury, especially for people who live in developing countries. However, when smartphones boomed in 2012 it becomes more accessible to more people. Nowadays, people from various ages owns a gadget - be it a smartphone, a tablet or a laptop, Surprisingly, even a 5-year-old kid has its own tablet to watch his or her favorite cartoons. Owning a gadget is good because it can help us in many ways. We can use our gadget to surf the internet for a speedy research. Wherein we no longer have to go to a library and spend lots of time doing research, just go to google and you will get all the necessary information you are looking for in just one click. In addition to this, we can also use our gadgets for banking transaction, online shopping, online learning and connecting with our far-away loves ones.

Those are just few of the positive effects of owning of gadgets and there's a lot more. In spite of this, it's not all the time that using a gadget has positive effects. Though cellphones are designed to connect people it can also put emotional distance between people. Some neglects their families and friends because instead of talking to each other, they are sucked in their own world with their smartphones, tablet, or laptop. Pretty much of the time, a lot of people spends most of their time in using their gadgets. Some spends a whole day surfing the internet, reads chats and emails and checking their social media accounts.

There are some, mostly teenagers who lose all their time in playing mobile games. Indeed, mobile games are high-tech entertainment and there's a lot of cool games and apps out there that will really ease a person's boredom. Mobile games have become so popular that some people will not stop playing until they reach the level they are looking forward to achieving and even if they reach that specific level they feel like they have to play more to get the satisfaction they are looking for and not minding that they've spent so many hours and forgotten that there are a lot of more important things to do. Some even forget to eat and socialize.

When this happens, instead of people being in control of their gadgets, they are being enslave by it. Time is very precious and should not be squandered. If you feel like you are being enslaved by your gadgets here are the few things that might help you:

  • Setting a time limit. Trying to use a timer when you are using your phone for social media and entertainment. Once you hear the timer, you'll know that it's time to stop and do some other things instead.

  • Put your gadget away from your sight when doing an important task. Once your device is reached by your eyes you will only be tempted to use it so put it away from you.

  • Set your priorities. What task should you prioritize instead of using your gadget?

  • Ask for help. Sometimes it's hard when you do things alone. So try to ask a trusted family member or a close friend to help you get back in control of your gadgets.

As I mentioned earlier, it is good to use gadgets but you'll be happier and enjoy life more if you are the one in control of it. And it isn't so bad after all to have a day without gadgets. - @esciisc 💕

Lead image from istockphoto.com

21
$ 1.50
$ 1.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @z_graeden
+ 3
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago
Topics: Experience, Tips

Comments

I miss reading your articles. I checked this out and it's 2 weeks ago. Hope everything is fine and you didn't shot yourself out from readcash 😁.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Atleast you were able to do a lot of chores. You still had a very reproductive day with your sister. Sometimes because of gadgets simple conversations with our love ones e hnd na natin magawa right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You still had a bot of an eventful day though. At least there are fields around where you live ;;-;; here in the coty, when it's my day off, i don't even have anything or anywhere to go because it's nothing but houses and buildings. Unlike there where you still see a bit of nature

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yo' madam, kaya pala MIA ka, di kita naramdaman, nag disconnect ka pala sa earth. Kamusta naman ang palay na nabilad? Buti hindi umulan, ang hirap non pag nagkataon. Ang hirap din talaga mg walang gadgets ano, lalo na kung nasanay ka mg kasama mo sya, kausap bago matulog, kwentuhan, tawanan, kulitan. Yong parang di mo na kayang mabuhay my wala sya, ung naka depende kana sa kanya, ung ginigising ka nya sa umaga ng malamig nyang boses ang singkit nyang mata. Ay wait lang, gadgets nga pala ang pinag uusapan, sorry kala ko jowa mo, kaso wala ka nga pala non 😅,

Pero pwera biro, ako nga di na sanay na wala si cp ko, oarang gusto ko lagi echecheck kong may notif sa cp ko. Tapos nadagdag oa si crypto, oras oras din ang checking ng price naku naku. Awan baga, dati naman hindi ako ganon ka addict sa cp ee, kaso ngayon, hayssst. Lagi kasi akong nag iisip ng topic sa article o kaya search kaya un. Ito na nga ba ang isa sa masamang epekto ng gadgets ee. Tapos di ko pa mapigilan estalk ung bago kong kwash, ah inayyy.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ang hirap pala mag disconnect sa earth kahit one day lang 😅 No choice kundi makipag usap sa mga taong di ko kinakausap lagi haha. Wala ka fin namang jowa 😜

Mainit naman nung isang araw kaso hindi totally nagdry yung palay dahil di namin masyadong nabantayan since sobrang init nga kasi talaga.

Haha epekto yan ng readcash at crypto eh. Ako rin naman nag iisip lagi ng isusulat at nagbabantay ng price ng bch haha baka sakaling madagdagan ang aking hodl 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, mahirap nga talaga dapat may isang kang cellphone pa, para pag nalobat isa may reserba ka, di lang naman sa jowa pwdng may reserba syempre dapat sa ibang bagay din, ahahaha

Ehhhh, sayang skin care mo pag nagbilad ka din kasama ang palay. Pero pwd naman basta may payong at taga payong ma Oppah, eheee.

Aya nga ee, dami na talagang naidudulot satin si read.cash ee, ana nga tumaas ulit kahit $1000 na agad ahahahaha. Ang gana wari non haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

o di ba... kahit ung 1 day lng ay naging time machine, bumalik sa nakaraan 😁. ineentertain ang sarili at nagiging produktibo in a way na d mo nagawa for quite sometime..

time management lng tlga kelangan ntin sa paggamit ng gadgets khit ito ay part n ng daily life needs

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Taking a break from screen time is also beneficial to our eyes, and we can also be more productive throughout the day.

The only time I don't use my phone is when it's charging. I turn it off so I won't be tempted to use it while charging 😆 so roughly, my eyes are glued on my phone 12 hrs a day.

Imagine how productive I could have been for that amount of time 🥴 but it has been a routine na eeh. 🤦‍♀️😅

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Absolutely! We can really be more productive without those gadgets. But what can we do? Gadgets have been part of our daily live and just like you I also have my eyes fixed on the screen for 12 hours (or more!) each day 😅 and I even use it when I'm charging haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. I do it sometimes too but it's a great progress for me to avoid doing it. There were times kase na your mind still wants to do it but your body is already crying for a break. It came to that point. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Naexperience ko na yan.. Typhoon yolanda ilang months kmi walang electricity.. Pro buti nlng at yung ginagawang bunkhouses malapit lng samin.. Dun my generator at free to charge. Every night pupunta dun pra magamit ang phone sa umaga.. Pro minsan wala dn. Hirap mag disconnect sa technology kpg nakasanayan na.. Pro kung iisipin mo, my good effects ito satn 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang hirap kapag walang phone, 100% ang boredom level 😅 But like you said, may good effects din talaga. Ams naging productive ako eh haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mas mahirap wala na nga electricity, hirap ng signal 🤣 ang iba nun aakyat pa ng bundok makasagap lng ng signal.. Ganun dn ako.. Laba, linis, luto. Sakto tlga timing ng yolanda eh. Kakaresign ko lng sa job pra magpahinga sana...mas lalo ako nastress sa bahay. ..🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can relate too! My phone broke before and I don't have the budget yet to buy my desired phone model so I just endure not using a phone for months and the boredom nearly kills me lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh! I wonder if I can even last a week without my phone 😅 I admire you for lasting several months without it 😲

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can relate, when there's no internet in the house and phone become useless we had a quality time together! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe that's true, losing internet connection makes the phone useless, just like not having electricity. But it can bring the family's bond back. I remember about a year ago, another typhoon hit the place and we don't have electricity fro two weeks, we would usually spend the night playing board games and telling stories and tales which we can't do when we have our phones. Thanks for the sats again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel you, ganyan din kami noon ng binagyo kami ni yolanda. Quality time tlga with family.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wala kasing magawa kaya usap usap na lang and focus sa gawaing bahay 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

gadgets could pose a huge risk and danger if not properly manage I have issues also am battling presently due to too much fixation with gadgets is so painful so I have to take caution, find time to rest use drugs and use my glasses fixing eyes to the screen has been very common now adays.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being addicted to gadget could really pose a huge risk just like how being addicted to drugs could. Anything that is used without moderation is dangerous. I hope you could properly manage it soon and have a balanced view in the use of your gadgets.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Last year we were without electricity for a week in 80% of Venezuela and it was intense, leaving electronic devices aside, to keep food was a problem, to cook another, very few people knew what was happening, in short it was unusual that we as a country would be without electricity for so long having 3 hydroelectric plants and without going through a natural tragedy as it was in your case.

Since that time I am not so attached to my phone or laptop, it is important because from there you work and study, in addition to distracting you, but definitely if I run out of them nothing happens anymore, the important thing is that we have health and we are together like family to face difficulties.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Oh my! That's how intense the situation is in Venezuela? I wonder if I could last a year living there 😅 I thought you only have problems with gasoline because my friend usually sends me a photo or video of him falling in line (with their car) along with a long line of cars just to be able to buy gasoline.

That must be hard but I'm sure it's all about getting used to it. And you are right, what matters is being perfectly healthy and being with your family during hard times.

Thank you for your comment mi amiga and sorry for the late reply as I wrote and published this article late last bight and I'm too sleepy to read the comments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Here we are like in a kind of russian roulette, we do not know what the day to day will bring us, it is quite difficult but we take the strength to move forward.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At times I also wonder if I can ever live without my phone and laptop. They are my bread and butter so I don't think I could last a day without them. I think the tips provided are also something to think of and might really help.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It will be specially hard if you use your gadgets for work. And I really hope that someone will find the tips helpful. Thanks for you comment. By the way, I checked on your articles and saw that you are a newbie so welcome to the platform and your avatar looks awesome too 🤩 Sorry for asking about this, but is that really you on the photo? 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago