Your Kind of Indoor Plant: Snake Plant

19 100
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago
Topics: Tips, Plants, Garden

I'm loving plants since then, however, this platform has influenced me a lot to have my garden at home. In my four months of being here, most of my subscribers know that I love photography so much. And I often have something to capture, but it's outside our fence, commonly my photography subjects are found near the road. To refrain from going out, I decided to have my mini garden at home. I've shared here some of the plants in my garden. It's been 3 months since I started and added more plants to make my garden beautiful.

Plants are refreshing, calming, and relaxing to the mood. I have no regrets about my decision to have my plants at home.

Why would I regret it? They're beautiful and useful too, I admire them not only for the beauty they could give but for their uses too.

Take these Mayana for an instance.

🍁 My New Mayana Varieties 🍁

These are my new collections, new varieties of mayana or coleus. I planted them from cuttings and look how healthy they are now. It was satisfying to see them grow beautifully. I'm planning to transfer them in a bigger pot or wider area soon, for them to spread evenly.

Okay, they aren't my main topic in this article. We'll be knowing one of the plants people go crazy to have with. And you can buy it in the market or online.

As you noticed, people are into planting nowadays, from simple citizens to celebrities. But, why people go crazy over plants during these pandemic times?

Maybe because they have more time at home compared to usual and they've seen the importance and the positive impact of plants in our lives due to lockdowns.

To earn more ideas from the opinions of others, I asked my brother about it. He said, people are into plants because of the pandemic. He said, people, are so crazy with plants especially it is the new trend, so people are going with the latest trend.

He also added that he noticed that it started through “online barters”. Plants to be barter with goods or groceries. Many people have lost their jobs, and they don't have enough pennies to buy their needs and to get their needs they used their available resources and one of it was the plants.

Plants nowadays are in demand, some people are getting obsessed to make their home beautiful with the help of these greens. Some also have their plants indoors placed for decoration and to maintain feng shui. However, you may not know that some of it are very beneficial to us, and to our home aside from the beauty, it gives. And one of the beneficial and famous on-trend indoor plants is the Snake plant.

What is a Snake plant?

Featuring my Snake Plants at Home 🤍

A snake plant is one of the most beautiful household plants you can have. It is also called Sansevieria, its full scientific name is Sansevieria Trifasciata and commonly referred to as mother-in-law’s tongue, and is a member of the Lily Family. Of course, it should be added to my garden too. What I love about this plant are its low-maintenance upkeep and tall, vibrant leaves.

Interesting Facts about Snake Plants

Did you know? There are around 70 different species of snake plant, native to Africa, Madagascar, and southern Asia. It was originally prized for its fibers, which were used to make ropes and baskets.

The second word in its name, Trifasciata, comes from Latin. It means “marked with three bands.”

Amazing facts from : 
www.proflowers.com
www.succulentcity.com

Generally, snake plants are used as home decorative plants, it can be indoor or outdoors. This kind of plant is very easy to grow, it requires little of your attention too. What's also good about this plant is that it can withstand dry environments and require little water to survive.

So, I have here not only one but three (3) kinds of snake plants at home. I get my snake plant not only because it was on-trend, ideally because it's very beneficial to us and our environment.

If you're wondering why here's how.

Benefits of Snake Plants You may never Know

Image from Sublime Succulents

Snake Plant is a great Bedroom Companion

Snake plant is proven to help filter indoor air, just like the other household succulents. Additionally, what's extraordinary about this plant was it can convert carbon dioxide (CO2) into oxygen at night. Take note, only a few plants can do that! So, this makes as your perfect and great bedroom companion. Aside from beauty it can give to your room, it will help in filtering your indoor air even at night.

Snake Plant as your Toxic Pollutant Eliminator

Snake plant is well known for its ability in helping to remove toxic air pollutants. Snake plants can absorb cancer-causing pollutants, including CO2, benzene, formaldehyde, xylene, and toluene, though it was in small contributions only still it's a great help to clean the air you breathe. With its capacity to immerse and remove toxins it can act as a beneficial defense against airborne allergies.

As aforementioned above, there are over 70 various species of this plant. And I have here three of its common species.

Here's my planted Snake Plants at home.

Sansevieria trifasciata

When you heard the term Snake plant, the first picture to come in your mind probably was this kind of specie. It is one of the most common types of snake plants you can find online, in the market or even at your neighbors' garden. And guess what, I've got this plant for free, from my loving “kumare”, one of the godmothers of my son.

Sansevieria trifasciata “Laurentii”

Laurentii is one of the most popular Sansevieria fasciata cultivars. You can easily familiarize this specie through its golden leaf margins which make it an eye-catching choice for any garden. I don't have new pots yet, so I planted this in an empty cookies' container box.

Dwarf Sansevieria trifasciata “Laurentii”

I like this one, it was cute version of the above specie, Laurentii. It grows approximately 10 inches for a single plant. It's cute, isn't it?

No doubt, it will help your home to have cleaner and more purified air for you to breathe in.

At home, I planted my snake plants outside in my garden. To keep it away from my kiddos. At their young age, they are fond of exploring things and to prevent any accidents. Maybe you'll wonder if it is toxic and poisonous. Even I was hesitant at first if it can be harmful to my pets and my family. Let get to know more about this beautiful plant.

Is the snake plant harmful and poisonous?

Okay, let's answer this one. Snake plants are considered to be fairly safe. However, their leaves contain a poison that can cause swelling and numbness in the tongue if consumed in large doses. Also, it causes excessive salivation, pain, discomfort, nausea, vomiting, and diarrhea. So, keep this plant away from children and animals.

It is best to know your plants well (poisonous or not) and be educated about their toxicity to avoid unnecessary catastrophes.

Snake Plants Care and Tips

After reading the facts and benefits of this plant, maybe you have now an idea of how it is considered one of the most liked household plants. And if you are planning to have one, or plant your snake plants at home, please read these tips below on how to look after this remarkable plant.

Indirect sunlight is desirable for a snake plant. Partial sunlight works best for snake plants. Nonetheless, it can also grow in shaded or darker or brighter corners or window areas. But if it is completely dim and shaded, the plant can dull and its leaves may grow in an ungainly way.

Don't water it too much. Too much water is this plant’s weakness, it can easily rot so make sure the soil is well-drained. Only water the soil when it’s totally dry.

They prefer a warm temperature. Temperatures below 50℉ (10°C) can cause them harm.

Now, what are you waiting for? If you're loving plants, have a snake plant at your home. No question, it can give your home a beautiful and appealing looks. And even if you'll ignore it or you can't give too much attention and care, still it will reward your neglect with helping to clean the air in your household.

If your an amateur in gardening, just like me snake plant is perfect for you to start with. So consider to add this to your garden list.

Written by: @eommaZel ✍🏻🥀

Source:

https://www.healthline.com/health/benefits-of-snake-plant#benefits

My Own Plant Related Articles:

Beauty with Benefits

An Incredible Herb for your Garden

Surprising Health Benefits of Taro

Mayana “Coleus Blumei” Useful Benefits

Interesting Facts of Garlic

Amazing Herb: Ruellia Tuberosa

My Tiny Cactus

My own planted Flowers bloom


10
$ 2.81
$ 2.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 1
Sponsors of eommaZel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for eommaZel
3 years ago
Topics: Tips, Plants, Garden

Comments

Just recently, I got aloe vera sprouts from my mom. I have transfered them to separate pots for better breathing space to grow.. sana mabuhay sila! This is my __th attempt to grow them. I wish.. I wish.. it can survive me!😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hala amg ganda nong Mayana 🤩, kaso di naman yalaga ako mahilig sa halaman, si mother lang mahilig. Alam mo ba pag nagtatanim ako, kinabukasan or mga 2 days lang, namamatay na agad sila. Pwro pag si mami, nabubuhau nya kahit ung isa kong mama. Bat sakin ayaw 😕, kaya ako di na pinagtatanim samin ee, mamamatay halaman daw ako haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang ganda nila no? 🤍 favorite ko nga yung bagong collections ko ng mayana. Salamat talaga sa mga kaworkmates ni partner, binigyan ako ng cuttings, ayan mataba at malaki na sila. ❤️ Ay alam mo may tawag dun sa mga taong nabubuhayan ng halaman eh, yung green thumb ba yun? Parang may natural talent sa pagtanim ng halaman. Buti sakin di namamatay, at wala pang namatay maliban sa kinanin ng caterpillar. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see some of this in our place but I didn't know so much about this plant.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad that you've seen my article, now you have some ideas about this plant. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I'll try to have this plant placed near our kitchen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Snake plant also absorbs carbon monoxide.. Kya mganda sya ilagay dn sa kitchen 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay true, di ko naisip yan sa kitchen. Pwedeng pwede nga, lalo na pag malapad yung kitchen at di crowded.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pra amoy ng niluluto hndi kakapit sa wall..maabsorb nya 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Uso din dito sa amin yun barter. Halos lahat ng halaman pinapabarter na lng.

Di ako masyado mahilig sa ornamental plants, mas feel ko kasi mga flowering plants. Kaya mas bet ko kinocollect mga roses, orchids and the likes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo, kahit sa FB marketplace usong uso talaga yung barter ng halaman. Halaman to halaman, or halaman to goods. Minsan nga nakakakita pko ng nakakalulang presyo ng halaman, parang sobrang mahal na. Libo yung halaga eh. 😅 At kahit ako mahilig sa mabulaklak din, kaso wala tlaga ko mahanap eh, kaya ornamentals muna ko at succulents.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are tons of those plants on my granny's garden before. I used to pluck the leaves and play with it since I still don't know the value and importance of plants during those times 🙈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most people especially the young ones don't know its benefits. I'm happy that later on, you knew the importance of these plants to us, humans, and the environment. Loving nature and knowing more about plants satisfies and strengthens my appreciation for them. ❤️😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Plantita ka na rin pala Bhe! 🥰 Love those plants nakakawala ng stress!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes mommy, dami ko na din plants sa bahay. 😁 Pero di ako pumupurchase, puro bigay lng. ❤️ And so true, nakakawala ng stress yung mga pananim sa pligid, nakakafresh din sa pkiramdam. 🤍😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This type of houseplant is useful for escaping from everyday life and you are right to help with stressful situations due to locking up during a pandemic. As an important factor in feng shui, it affects the collection of energy and the exchange of oxygen bases in the room. it is necessary to give kind words to the flowers in order for it to prosper, and you treat it with love, and this will give it back to you. It is especially important that this species does not require much attention, but the plant is also grateful for the little effort around it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right. ❤️ Maybe that's the reason why people go crazy over plants nowadays. To remove their stresses caused by lockdowns. Sometimes I'm talking to my plants and appreciate their tiny buds too. 😅 And you are right, even though they require small from your attention, it is still best to give efforts to them. They'll reward you something refreshing inside and peacefulness too. ❤️❤️ Thank you so much for your valuable comments. I appreciate your kind thoughts. 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are always welcome! Have a nice day or night.. Cheers and keep you flowers fresh and healthy, and so yourself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have these plants around the house, here it is not known as snake plant but as "mother-in-law's tongue" because of how loooooong 🤣🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago